Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Serious financial problem.

Options
  • 11-03-2003 9:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭

I'm in my final year of college, and I got a letter at the start of the acedemic year which states that I have been approved for a full grant.

This was to come in three cheques. I got the 1st one, €800. The next two were to be of similar value.

There was no sign of cheque no. 2 in january of febuary. I found out that a letter had been posted to my home (not even a letter, a "with compilments" type of receipt).

It read...
    ' J,
    2nd installment of grant has not been issued for you yet - computer error.

I'll be in touch when it's ready for collection
    Regards'

With compliments my f****ng arse. After contacting them, I found that they are only giving me €80 in my next two cheques. Apparently they misqualified me. They admit it is their mistake, but aren't going to budge.

This leaves me €1500 short on what I was expecting, and had budgeted for. Does anyone have any advice? My parents are doing the best they can since they found out, but it's not quite enough, and I don't want to ask them for more. I'm going to pay them back over the summer, but I am seriously screwed as I also have a student loan (spent).

If anyone has any ideas, I'd really like to hear them.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Jeez. I wouldn't know where to start except move this into a forum more suited for your monetary needs.

I hope you get it sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,312 ✭✭✭✭Victor