Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irelands Eurovision Song a copy?

• 10-03-2003 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭

Jaysus.. just on rte there.. does poor Mickey Joe's song sound exactly like Denmarks 2000 eurovision winning song, Fly on the Wings of Love by the Olsen Brothers? ooh ballix!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Hmmm,an Irish Eurovision act who decide to copy a tune by Scandanavians in the hope that nobody will notice before realising it is more popular than they had thought.Who does that remind me of?:D

On a related note the voting in You`re a Star was controversial throughout,with allegations of cock ups and perhaps rigging.
    So it amused me greatly last night to see some guy in the credits titled as the Rigger:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 PolkaDotti

Dont mean to be rude chief but its fairly dodgy that you know Denmarks entry from 2000. All i have to day is GO MICKEY HARTE i think he is the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

They were talking about this on rte radio today, both songs were played
    and a caller to the show (Liveline)
    sang the lyrics of one over the tune of the other - it was a nearly perfect fit!

Then Satan er Louis Walsh came on line to say it was'nt plagarism as no 4 succesive bars in the song were the same as the Danish tune....so thats alright then!.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Hmmm, I noticed this too when I was watching it over the last few weekends. It is very close.... but I do have to agree with Satan (for once!) that the song is a unique one.

I'm just glad the Walsh/Westlife/Boyzone axis of evil didnt win! :)

Go Go Mickey Joe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

Don't all the songs sound the same anyway ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

the voting was a complete bollix job, whenever the phone lines got too busy and the phone lines couldnt take any more calls, the extra calls were passed on to one of the other lines....meaning when you went to place your vote for mickey there was a good possibility that your vote was given to lisa bressnan AAAH imagine that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 birdbath

Originally posted by DMC

I'm just glad the Walsh/Westlife/Boyzone axis of evil didnt win! :)

Go Go Mickey Joe!

the axis of evil did win, because mickey joe mcwhackslapper is now one of louis' bitches. lock stock and recording contract. he owns this kid.

They might do now, but they didnt at the start. What I was getting at was they didnt half try to get their "plants" to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭william

I have to disagree with you all. I listened to the two songs as well and there is no way that they are similar. And I supported Simon Casey throughout the competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

it really is the same MUCK no matter what pretty little face sings it or which one of louie's friends wright it, i really hope people wake up and here the terrible abomination that ireland is playing for Europe.

Originally posted by Tyrrial
    it really is the same MUCK no matter what pretty little face sings it or which one of louie's friends wright it, i really hope people wake up and here the terrible abomination that ireland is playing for Europe.

yes but the problem is that this is exactly what europe wants.....only the purest tripe of the higest nature will do for the eurovision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

well if the rest of europe produce the same tripe, then maybe ireland's lack of musical talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by DMC
    They might do now, but they didnt at the start. What I was getting at was they didnt half try to get their "plants" to win.

The song was written by WestLife's songwriters...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

two words , FATHER TED!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

http://breaking.examiner.ie/text/story.asp?j=9888619&p=98887z6&n=9888826&x=
    Mickey Harte song gets Euro clearance
    20/03/2003 - 1:51:27 pm

Eurovision authorities have decided that this year's Irish song can be entered into the competition.

The reference group of the European Broadcasting Union decided today that We've Got the World (sung by Lifford's Mickey Joe Harte) is an original song and not a plagiarised version of one which won the Eurovision contest a number of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

im Glad Mickey got the go ahead i would have hated to see that Pounce Simon Casey represent us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

We could run into some trouble now-insanely popular Russian lesbians TATU are representing their country in the contest.Considering their single managed to top the UK chart for a month I think and did similiarly well throughout the rest of europe all the kids might vote for them and have them win by a landslide.

I was always under the impression that established popular acts could not enter.Sure during our recent run of bad luck why didnt we enter U2 and win by a hundred points?:D

no established artists can enter, they just dont as they know that being in or even winning the eurovision is the end of your career......no matter who you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Cant be arsed reading all these posts so i will tell you what i think.

I only saw and heard it for the first time on the final as i had not been watching it (too many westlife rejects for my taste!).

Anyway first thing i thought when i heard it was i know this..

But the tune is similar for a second or two only and the words dont come close... so no its not a copy

Anyways, tis grand...

Mickey Joe has Eurovision go-ahead

http://www.rte.ie/ace/2003/0320/youreastar.html

Mickey Joe Harte has got the green light to represent Ireland at this year's Eurovision Song Contest.

The European Broadcasting Union has decided that RTÉ's entry is not a copy of a previous Danish composition.

The EBU investigation followed complaints that 'We've Got The World' was partly a copy of the 2000 winning entry, 'Fly on the Wings of Love', by the Danish composer, Jurgen Olsen.

The EBU's Reference Group, meeting today in Latvia, confirmed that the song, written by Keith Molloy and Martin Brannigan, can represent Ireland in the contest in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2003/0320/tatu.html

Tatu sing for Russia at Eurovision
    Chart-topping duo Tatu will represent Russia at this year's Eurovision Song Contest on 24 May.

NME.COM reports that Julia Volkova and Lena Katina will sing a song called 'Ne Ver, Ne Bojsia', which means 'Do Not Be Afraid, Do Not Despair'.

Tatu's Julia has told the Sun newspaper that she believes they can be the first Russian winners of the contest.