Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nevada ( UTV ) in a spot of bother

• 04-03-2003 10:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭

according to The Register . They are restructuring you see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

What are the implications?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Originally posted by Muck
    according to The Register . They are restructuring you see!

If Nevada go belly up and i lose my UTV then i swear I'm going to go back to connectioning with two paper cups and a string.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

wet string even ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭crawler

Nevada (Energis) will not go belly up - even if they did there are plenty of players out there that can offer the same services to UTV that Energis do.

The words "telco" and "restructure" mean very little apart form job cuts and culls on capex.

This was on the cards anyway since Viridian cut from the deal with Nevada.

Energis will focus on UK and NI.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by yellum
    wet string even ...

Wet string & paper cups are only good until eircom gets word of it. Then we'll see the wet string cap and paper cup installation charges skyrocket.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

I didn't even know that they had 100+ staff in Ireland.

Does the article refer to the Republic or the North, you know how confused the English get at times?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by thegills
    I didn't even know that they had 100+ staff in Ireland.

Does the article refer to the Republic or the North, you know how confused the English get at times?

They have office's here in Grand Canal st in Dublin, and I believe a NOC in Coolock.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Hornet

Browsing through a number of discussions on the IOFFL board, I have seen this mistake before:

Why do people think that "UTV" and "Nevada Tele.com" are dependent on each other?

Nevada Tele.com is a Telecommunications Service Provider and was owned half by Viridian and half by Energis. They seem to have their strength in voice switching but compelement that with a leased line offering to businesses.

Some while ago Energis got into fiancial trouble, but Nevada declared that the Irish operation would be unaffected by this (probably because of Viridian's involvement). When Energis had recovered, Viridian had lost interest in telecommunications and sold their 50% to Energis.

Now Energis owned Nevada tele.com to 100% and decided to rename the Irish operation into Energis (approx. from the beginning of this year) . Because it is now fully owned by Energis, the mother seems to be keen to integrate Energis Ireland into the UK part of Energis. A number of people were fired before Christmas and more will go. One way of looking at it: The senior management of a reasonably small operation here, could be done from the UK or from NI and it would be cheaper fore Energis. This seems to be what they are doing.

Maybe they will even reduce the size of the operation, but let's look at UTV.

UTVip is using Nevada's/Energis' co-location facility in Clonshaugh to host their equipment. In addition there seem to be a Energis links connectiong UTVip's Irish operation with their Northern Irish operation.

So UTVip is just a customer of Energis and therefore it would be surprising if UTVip's operation would be affected by Energis' internal re-organisation or re-structuring.

(I don't work for Energis or UTVip, the information above is based on press releases, newspaper articles and industry knowledge.)

-Hornet

Hornet - you points are valid -However, UTVip are acting as a VISP ( Virtual ISP ) off the back of Energis products and services - while they could simple find an alternative provider for these services it may cause a bit of grief during the changeover.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Don't be ridiculous, Eircom would never give it's customers the kind of bandwidth that comes with paper cups and string. First of all expensive doo-hickeys like paper cups will be done away with in a cost-cutting inititive. That would leave us with just the string, wiggle your string up and down for a yes or 1 bit and wiggle it to left and right for a no or 0 bit. Eircom will install a second string so you can wiggle the two strings at once thus getting upload speeds of 2 bit's per second but at twice the cost.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭BArra

Don't be ridiculous, Eircom would never give it's customers the kind of bandwidth that comes with paper cups and string. First of all expensive doo-hickeys like paper cups will be done away with in a cost-cutting inititive. That would leave us with just the string, wiggle your string up and down for a yes or 1 bit and wiggle it to left and right for a no or 0 bit. Eircom will install a second string so you can wiggle the two strings at once thus getting upload speeds of 2 bit's per second but at twice the cost.

lol how true..

baz

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Raskolnikov
    Eircom will install a second string so you can wiggle the two strings at once thus getting upload speeds of 2 bit's per second but at twice the cost.

Due to a shortage of string in some areas, Eircom will split your existing string down the middle by adding a special box to the line in order to give your neighbour access to some string. You can continue to use your string; however as your string is now half as thick as it was so you may elect on installation to either have the ability to signal 1s or 0s, not both. Should you wish to have the option to make both signals, get annoyed with your neighbour. It's your own fault for living in the country (or guessing badly when you moved to Dublin). Eircom make no guarantees about the quality of your string - as long as you can talk to a friend using your string (supply your own cups - you can buy a wireless cup from us) we don't care about your ability to use the Intaweb on your string as we don't know anything about that (our abacus department deals with all the money we're losing by people transmitting data on their string). Also due to your string being split you may not be able to use our new product (which does support data) - we attach a tin can to each end of your line and it's suddenly 30 times faster (even if those pesky BT lads in the UK reckon it's only 12 times faster). You're lucky to have us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I herby nominate both posts for joint POTM. :D

adam

BRILLIANT :):)

What a Friday - got me tickets to Slane - Had a nice fry up and now this......Does it get much better?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Originally posted by crawler
    BRILLIANT :):)

What a Friday - got me tickets to Slane - Had a nice fry up and now this......Does it get much better?

Same here, just waiting for the Komplett offer of the week posting, to top it all off :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Sorry but you are both wrong.

Our complex marketing information (which took 3 months to research and involved asking my cat Tiddles) tells us that people do not WANT string and cups. Of course the initial setup cost for the installation of your string is not responsible for this lack of interest in Internet String Data Networking or Advanced Data String Lines. No, people simply do not WANT faster load times. Loading waits give our customers VALUABLE me-time. Time to reflect and review the bustle of fast-paced life.
    No, people are happy with smoke-signals.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭DC

Or with the year that's in it - marathon runners, just like in ancient Greece :)

As for the wet string... That would be great for 'streaming' content. Just lift up one end to serve out the streaming content and receive it at the other end (helps if string goes into the inside of the cup as opposed to the end of the cup).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Anyone got any contacts in eircom
    (with e-mail access!)? ;)
    As for the wet string... That would be great for 'streaming' content.
    Heat the string and that'll allow "steaming content". Porn is a
    driving force behind the internets growth...
    No, people are happy with smoke-signals.

Personally I think smoke won't happen due to its environmental
    impact. So raised voices maybe
    " The Internal Combustion Engine of the 21st Century"

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭MarVeL

Originally posted by mike65
    Personally I think smoke won't happen due to its environmental
    impact. So raised voices maybe
    Mike. [/B]

No raised voices are out for the same environmental reasons. that'd be noise pollution. (At least that's how eircom will explain it while they are trying to organise the only effective license in teh country for raised voices. The real reasons are twofold: firstly there is a chance some useful dialog may take place and people may actually even communicate without paying eircom for the privilege and secondly once voices are raised there is a chance that some of them would be raised about eircom and obviously that would be wrong. Just look at their stance on benchmarking for examples of this)

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Hannibal_12

Originally posted by Raskolnikov

And if you violate the number of string wiggles per minute permitted you will be summarily strangled by a giant cape wearing RAT with said string.