Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

leap broadband in Dublin West

• 11-02-2003 6:04pm
    Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭

Hello everybody,

I had a meeting with a guy from Leap Broadband and they are saying that they can provide coverage up to as far as citywest. What do you all think off this. I am living in Clondalkin on the Naas Road and they are doing a LOS test on Tuesday of next week. Any comments would be appriciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

Meant to be good. I think DeVore has it. How much are they charging these days?

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

99+vat a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

i was gonna get it but 12 month contract has made me consider my options a bit more.
    (im hoping for a new esat offer or ibb to get their act together in Dun Laoghaire)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

I live in Clondalkin as well. When the guy calls out ask hiom which base station he is testinmg to and if they are going to drop their prices given the latest revelations from eircom.

Let us know how the test went also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    i was gonna get it but 12 month contract has made me consider my options a bit more.
    (im hoping for a new esat offer or ibb to get their act together in Dun Laoghaire)

I think you will find that all these companies have a 12 month contract. The cheapest for a 512k connection at the moment are IBB and Eircom (If and when they release the RADSL product) at €40 and €45 a month respectively...

However, when Eircom finally agree on the wholesale rate for the new product, you'll see a whole spate of re-sellers etc and you might get it cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

How is their cover generally in clondalkin?

Nangor Road in particular?

i live beside the green isle hotel and just to update you they are coming tommrow to do the site survey so i will let you all know

i dont mind signing a 12 month contract but with the huge drop in prices at the time i was considering it. (drop to come :p ) i didnt wanna be locked into paying 120 a month when others were paying a lot less for similar service.

well they arrived today one man one van and no ladder and said it was to cloudy to do a test will call back tommrow and retest or so they say.

will keep you all in touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

A guy with a pair of binoculars gets up on your roof and says "No I can't see our aerial" or "Hey I can see our house from here".
    Surely to jaysus the waveband of visible light has different properties to the waveband these guys are broadcasting on. I can't see Ballsbridge or Three Rock from my house but FM104 are still happy to let me listen to their music!

(just to pre-empt the pedants among ye, I realise FM104 are broadcasting at much higher power and have a license to do so but you can hear them in Navan ferchrissakes! And they are licensed to broadcast in Dublin only)

Thats a load of b****x.

Being familiar with the technolgy of radio emmissions, the clouds don't make a difference. If the chap had a ladder and knew where the base station was all he had to do was to point some sort of reciever in the general detection and pick up the signal from the transmitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Just like to sya that leaps service is 512k up and down. And that the 99 euro inculdes vat. Yes Devore has this service, and yes its meant to be very good.

I wouldn't compare it to the likes of eircom adsl since this service is uncapped. The cheapest upcapped eircom service is far more expensive then this.

me again they did not come today and have promised at 8.30am in the morning here we go again

Boston i have the order forms right here and the 99 dont include vat, unless its changed since january. (120ish with vat)

Also on the site (when i checked in jan) it said it was 512/128.

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    Boston i have the order forms right here and the 99 dont include vat, unless its changed since january. (120ish with vat)

Also on the site (when i checked in jan) it said it was 512/128.

well their site clearly staes from 99 euro and its the residential product which means that should include vat. also thats the price i was quote about 5 months back. so you may or may not be right there

On the speed issue its clearly advertised as a symmetric service and thats how they tried to sell it to me over the phone as 512k up and down

well they arrived today supposed to be at 8.30am and arrived at 5.10pm and i failed the line of site test so no broadband for me at all.

I will have to wait for something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭CONMIKE12

What about ntl cable connection.Think its 40 euro a month for 512k

more chance of getting this on the moon then my area

Irish Broadband were looking at a site in Parkwest so maybe give them a shout and see how far they have progressed.

Dave.

As a matter of interest; which base station were you tested to?

They were testing for RTE as they say that three rock wont be working for three weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

Originally posted by TCP/IP
    They were testing for RTE as they say that three rock wont be working for three weeks

have they any others?

Originally posted by STaN
    have they any others?
    either baggot street or lesson street bridge.

I thought ntl covered both tallaght & Clondalkin for cable connection.Tell me I,m not wrong!!I was gonna get it next month.I live down near the lough & Quay in 'dalkin.:eek:

you are all out luck mate no ntl cable in clondalkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

I was told by someone from their sales dept that there were a few estates that had 2 way network running on them, but lo and behold they couldnt tell me which estates were on the 2 way network as their system can only tell if a given address is upgraded or not!

sO IF YOU RING NTL UP AND GIVE THEM YOUR ADDRESS,THEY CAN TELL YOU IF YOU CAN GET IT OR NOT??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Originally posted by CONMIKE12
    sO IF YOU RING NTL UP AND GIVE THEM YOUR ADDRESS,THEY CAN TELL YOU IF YOU CAN GET IT OR NOT??

no, they will deny it is possible when it IS possible. They will also tel you its possible when it is not possible. It is a lottery pure and simple.

NTL do a wonderfully funky take on customer service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭talla

yeh thats true bout NTL, a saleperson was doing the rounds on my road (tallaght) bout 2 weeks ago and tried to get my mam to sign up for cable internet, she told them to call back in the evening when i was there. They never called back so I rang NTL sales and stated that a salesperson called to sell cable internet access two weeks ago and I was intrested in signing up. The minute that the person on the other side of the phone heard this, their seemed to be a change in their attitude st8 away(for the worse). Gave my address, blah de blah and was told that the service wasnt available. I turned around and said that someone across the road had the install done 2 days previously and he said he would double check and turned around and said that the other side of the road was enable, but my side wasnt(we're talking a small cul de sac here). I then asked how could someone try and sell a product that doesn't supposedly exist, they said that sales people do not have access to check who has the ability to use cable service. They are the most frustrating ppl to deal with as I honestly believe I am able to get the cable access..............but not according to their gr8 database

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

talla - did you ring the dedicated cable modem sales line or the standard customer service line?

rang the number from this link:
    1800 923 005??

http://www.ntl.com/locales/ie/en/athome/internet.html

that's strange, because anytime I've had to ring them (and it took me over 3 months to get them to admit that I can get the damn thing installed) they seemed to know what they were on about, and were very polite...

Try ringing up, say that you've previously been told that you could get the service, tell them that you believe that the database record is incorrect and that you'd like a technician to verify whether or not the service is available at your address. Then make sure they have the correct address information for your account number (this was one of the problems with my record - they thought my house was somewhere else, on a completely different cable...)

thanks max, but just tried them again, they said no, not enabled, even if my nextdoor neighbor according to them had it, doesn't mean that we can get it. they said it might be available in march/april, but im not going to hold my breath. at this stage im considering, cancelling ntl altogether, getting in sky digital and yes eircom when prices come down, even if it is capped, just to give the two fingers to them. just pisses me off big time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

as the problem is ýour side of the road could you get a neighbour to ring them, ideally 2 of them, one on each side. it could be their database sez somthing like odd numbers Ok and even Not OK so give them a choice of odd and even.

in one possible case (it works for a neighbour your side and they still wont admit you qualify) get the nigbour to install it and you fill out a direct debit for the service for your account and sling a cat 5 cable around the back .

it may seem a ridiculous solution but thats NTL for ya.

Lads, your posts have shocked me!!Sounds like ntl is doing so well that they dont need the business.I'm gonna ring them tomorrow and see what they say,but from what I've heard here,I wont be able to believe anything they tell me.What a nightmare!.Is there any other broadband providers for about 40 euro?

Ok, this is going to sound long widned, but this is how I convinced tham that I was actually upgraded:
    1. Check that you have the same type of cable and multitap (blue/green box) on the front of your house as the upgraded address
    2. Trace the cable to the end of your road, where it goes down the side of a house and disappears into the ground
    3. Nearby, look for a black ntl box embedded in the footpath, with a strip of "new" concrete leading in the direction of the house identified in step 2
    4. look up and down along the strip of new concrete going down the footpath. You may have to do a bit of walking, but look for small, medium or large metal green boxes, a bit like the tiny ESB cabinets or the boxes beside new traffic lights
    5. If you have all of this in place, ring them again, tell them what you've gone through, and ask specifically what is preventing you from getting the service.

After going through all of that, I got them to agree to send someone out to check if I could get the service. Guess what? I could...

And, the march/april thing is purely to try and get you off the phone - I wouldn't believe it if I were you...