Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you miss GamesMaster?

• 06-02-2003 8:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭

Based on recent discussions here and elsewhere I've come to realise that there's no decent Computer Games show on TV at the moment.

There's been much discussion on Edge's forums about bringing back the show Games Master (even with Dominic Diamond as the host!)

The mad thing is, it seems likely to actually happen. One chap is running an online petition here and expects 1000+ votes may be enough to get things started.

Of course, you may have loathed Dominic and Dave 'The Animal' Perry..........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

Oh dear god some else who remembers the good old days....

Bad Influence aswell....

Lest we forget Patrick Moore.

I couldnt quite put my finger on where I remembered Dave Perry from, but I'd say his busy gettin jiggy with Enter the Matrix right about now.

oh, and it goes without saying.

LEAVE DEXTER FLETCHER AS FAR AWAY AS POSSIBLE

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 2,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoGiE

Mr Perry dug himself into a few Games programs. He also featured on Gamesworld on sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

ye id love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Wasnt he the guy that always wore a bandana ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Yus he was. Himself and Julian "Jazza" Rignall among others had regular appearances.

GamesMaster was actually fairly ****e, it's just that there was bugger all else on.

Bad Influence remains my favourite, good to see Violet Berlin is still keeping up the gaming in Game Pad on sky digi.

Dominik Diamond is a cock btw, he'll always be the geek in the red jacket to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

Hah, you beat me by about 4 seconds there NBM! www.gamescrud.com is in my clipboard as I write!

You have to check out his "The Animal with the laydeez" photographs. The way he keeps referring to himself in the third person is truly disturbing. Himself and Diamond had quite a decent bust up after the show ended by all accounts. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Ixidor

it would be interesting to finally see a good games tv show on... i remember watching that show in the mornigs before school....

good times.....

good times....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

I used to love GamesMaster. Until, that is, Dexter Fletcher came along. He just made a balls of it for me and it was never the same after that.

I thought the first two series were the best, Series 1 set in a church and Series 2 set on an oil rig..... sorry..... the Gamesrig! :D I used to love the way Dominic Diamond would totally rip the piss out of some of the contestants but did it in such a way that everybody else knew he was taking the piss out of them but the person themselves wouldn't and would actually think he was complementing them or something.

It was just never the same after that. Fletcher came along, destroyed it and then Dom came back sporting a "trendy" goatee and ditched the innocent, bespeckled geek in the garish red jacket look for the "trendy" goatee'd look. That was the nail in the coffin as far as I was concerned. I used to still watch it, mind you, but never enjoyed it as much as I did Series 1 and 2.

Speaking of Series 2, I thought it was absolutely brilliant the way they introduced the start of that series. Anyone else remember it? I have a video clip of it and looking at it reminds me of how clever it was. They started it as if they were introducing the new series but they were still based in the church. Then the picture started jumping, the sound went to hell and a caption came up at the bottom of the screen saying, "Please do not adjust your set." Then the whole thing broke down and was replaced with a picture of some sheep with some crappy music and a caption saying, "We are experiencing some technical difficulties." I remember going mad at the time as I watched this because I had been looking forward to the new series so much and now the whole thing had broken down. "Ah $hite!", I thought to myself. Then this thing came on where the old series (level 1) had expired and they had to load level 2 (series 2). A whole new title sequence started up (the helicopter flying out to sea to the Gamesrig) and Dom came out in that infamous red jacket to welcome us all to "GamesMaster Two, The Second Coming!". Or as he used to say in that Scottish accent of his, "GamesMaster Tuh, the Secand Caming!" :D It was only then that I realised how clever that whole intro was. Hard to believe that that was 11 years ago now. Where did the time go, eh?

But come on, admit it, even if you didn't like GamesMaster I bet you still would have loved to have won a GameMaster Golden Joystick. I know I did.

I used to love Bad Influence as well but that guy in the shed who used to do the cheats used to annoy me. Remember him? He used to stick bits of cardboard to his baldy head with the cheats written on it. What the hell was his name? :confused:

Never liked the show that was on Sky, though. Gamesworld, was it? All these different "characters" that used to come on to play against the contestants. Never did it for me, I'm afraid. And, if I remember correctly, didn't the presenter have the worst possible lisp you could imagine? Half the time I couldn't understand a word he was saying it was that bad. I know Violet Berlin had a lisp too but, God, the one the guy on Gamesworld had was just terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

One other thing. Who could ever forget Bad Influence's "Datablast." "Set your videos to record..... NOW!"

Ah, the days of BIG BOY BARRY and the like.

Remember the guy on Gamesworld who would never be defeated, and then one a day some guy did.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

I was only watching Band of brothers the other day and looking at Dexter Fletcher with a new york accent and thiking of games world! Back when Sonic 2 was the best thing going!

You know i baught this house im living in 3 years ago and in one of the presses there are some very old sitckers from CnVG from games master with patcick Moore and dexter! Also some old amiga and gega mega drive game stickers!

I would love to see this show some back but it wouldent be the same as in the 'ol 16 bit days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

heheheh big boy barry, what was that sky 1 show called ? and the other one on utv that wasn't gamesmaster
    man we had it good ...kinda

computer games & your best friend ...happy days :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    I used to love Bad Influence as well but that guy in the shed who used to do the cheats used to annoy me. Remember him? He used to stick bits of cardboard to his baldy head with the cheats written on it. What the hell was his name?

Nam Rood.

I remember the start of GamesMaster series two well (I even remember the 'technical difficulties' screen with the sheep vividly) - feckin class way to start the second series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Gamesmaster had a couple of things going for it. The sets were really atmospheric and the the presenters were really funny. Dave Perry is the guy everybody loves to hate. The more people get pissed off at his posturing the more I like him.

However, the shows format was woeful. Bad influence was a thousand times better than it in that regard. Challenges are awful. What people want is lots of footage and features of new games. They don't want to see some school kids who don't know how to use the brakes crash into every corner in a racing game.

Challenges should only be done if they can find someone astonishingly good at a game. The only times Gamemaster challenges were cool was when they got the VF3 world champion beating 100 players in a row, or the chap who could play and beat 2 Virtua Cop machines at once, or the rappers playing Parappa the Rapper.

if they bring back Gamesmaster the crucial thing is the format. If they get that right the ratings will follow just as they did with Bad Influence.

Oh, and ITV despertely need to cancel Lan Jam. It's embarassing. When I was 10 irritating street speak and crap challenges didnt appeal and they sure as hell don't now. I wish modern childrens television didn't always have to be so damn patronising.

Ah I remember the last episode of Bad Influence ever, it was a short glimpse at the PlayStation a good year before it was released, and of course the jaw dropped

I have to agree Gamemaster needed more footage, but seriously a games show needs to be at least an hour long, they always seem so damn short...

that 'lan jam' show is really bad, or maybe i'm just too old for video game shows :(
    not that i watch kids tv

Cant say I've seen Lan Jam, sounds **** really. That program Bits that was on C4 was kinda funny... not a patch on GamesMaster though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

Bits was better than GM

Emily Booth Soft Porn Model V Patrick Moore Old bloke with Telescope...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Mewzel

gamesmaster was a quality show. oh how i miss the amusing antics of dominic et al!

(?)

:o