Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ring

• 03-02-2003 9:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭

Saw this on Friday night (Jap version) (after many a good review given by the good people on boards) and I have to say it's scared the fvcking sh*t out of me. Now I was reared on films such as Evil Dead and Day of the dead but I have never been so freaked by a film before in my life.
    The bit where she crawls out the TV and her freakish hands/fingers as she crawled towards him :eek

Did it freak anyone else out as much as me and why is it such an effective horror film ?

Were renting the eye next Friday night..... Hope it's as good...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Amazing film... I hear the remake is supposed to be quite good... for a remake. I dont think it could possibly ever touch the original.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

Didn't find it all that scary when I watched it..but it was probably the situation I was in.

We and the lads we're sent out to rent a video and I'd heard about 'Ring' and it looked worth it. I had no idea about the japanese and subtitles. I actually thougth I was getting the remake. Rest of the night was spent with me getting whacked over the head and complaints about the subtitles. ;/

While it was hard to enjoy at the time (i.e. scare the bollocks off me), It kinda stays in the back of your mind.

I have an old broken 22" in my bedroom, and I wake up some nights thinking its gonna turn on of its own accord.

Psychological horrors are greater than Gory ones ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭satchmo

Really great film, I enjoyed it alot. One of the very few films I've seen that was genuinely scary. Not the quick-fright-jump-out-of-your-seat scary, but rather the proper spooky scary, the sort that raises the hair on the back of your neck and stays with you long after you turn it off. The less you know about it the better I reckon. I dunno about a remake, I thought the subtitles and foreign-ness only added to the atmosphere, and an Amercianized version might only ruin it.

I've repeatedly refused to let my gf see it, I know it'd just really upset her - she had nightmares after Dog Soldiers ffs! She keeps on at me, and eventually I will show it to her - but she's gonna regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

was a little disappointed.
    saw it on channel 4 about 6 months ago, along with ring2.
    just cant seem to be frightened by the whole idea of the film. (sorry, could be arsed to explain it under a spoiler cover :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

kinda messed with my head like the original blair witch did. excellent in my humble opinion, ring 2 wasnt as good though, have yet to see the prequel ring0

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

ring2 was a whole different vibe.. the whole point of ring was you hadn#t got a CLUE what was going on.. you were just following the people around, living their *possibly* last days with them, waiting to see them die..
    it was just the suspense and creepiness of it all that made it so good

I still get freaked out by that film, it scared the **** out of me when I saw it, to the extent that evfen when I am in bed and I think about sadako, or the film.., I have to turn the lights on for a few minutes..

never been that scared by a film before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

I also watched it on Channel4 a few months ago, and after being told by many people that it was a really great film, I have to say I was very diappointed. So much so, that I didnt watch the second film. :(

Maybe the remake will be better, but I doubt it. Its defo a "wait 'till it comes out on video" for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

Saw the original about two weeks ago.
    Properhorror i thought. Not a "whats behind the door " type scary but a film with a real malevolance about it.

Is the remake about an actual ring and if you see the ring you die?
    Hows the **** is that going to work?

afaik, in the remake.. a black ring comes up on the screen during the video.. which I think is supposed to be the lid of the well as seen by sadako's american counterpart as she is being sealed in

afaik anyway

godamnit Mord..you could have said it was a spoiler for the Ring remake. I haven't seen that yet :(

But anyway..that wasn't just in the remake..I noticed that too in the original ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

anyone seen the eye ?

ah jaysus, it isn't that big a spoiler anyway!

i shouldn't even have put it in a spoiler warning, but i just wnted to be safe :)

I know.

I just like giving out about spoilers. :)

Gives me a great sense of justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

Originally posted by daveg
    anyone seen the eye ?
    I have.
    It's got a really good first half, but loses momentum after they decide to hunt down the donor.

There's rumours of Tom Cruise being involved in a Hollywood remake of this, too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

Saw Battle Royale recently too. Would recommend it to all.

Has anyone seen Brother?

yeah, battle royale rocks, brilliant film and a really scary concept (even though it isn' actually a horror.. when you sit down and think about it, it's freaky). I don't know what I'd do in that situation.

saw brother ages ago too, another excellent film.. really gruesome, and a good story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

the eye was kak imo, had some interesting scenes but not worth 2hrs or whatever.. Battle Royale on the other hand was supoib. .

has anyone seen the special addition with the extra footage ?
    is it worth the 30 odd yoyos.. ?

theres a br2 aswell.. by the same director out for 2003. .

Any of takeshi kitanos films are worth a look, if you liked brother i would recommend any of his other films as the ones i have seen are better than brother ..

yeah, he is making a br2.. he has cancer and wants to get it out fore he dies :)

i've heard that the special edition ending isn't as good as the first... but I haven't seen it so I'm not sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Whats this brother I hear yee on about ? Is it good ? is it a horror and if so will it keep me awake for a week after seeing it like the ring ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

The ring Remake is simply brilliant, i've watched it twice now, it's not shock factor scarry it's simply strange scary ( we fear what we don't understand ) I have never watched the original version but have spoken to friend who has and he also believes that the remake is far better in many ways right down to the simple way the director shoots a sene of the fact that u will see certain images flash at you on the screen..

In closing go see this flick in the cinema when it come out it is the best horror movie of this year

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Originally posted by Mordeth
    yeah, he is making a br2.. he has cancer and wants to get it out fore he dies :)

He actually died a while back. God rest his soul. :(

really lex? damn

and I refuse to believe the remake will be as good as, or better than the original. I will see it, and if i am proven wrong then so be it. but.. no way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

saw the remake, havnt been able to get my hands on the original :( but great film..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Saw the Eye the other day and it freaked me out just as much as the ring... for the first half. The ending was alright, just not particularly scary.
    'Youre sitting in my chair'... I jumped a ****ing mile.

A

hrm.. i want to check out this "the eye" film...

is it getting a cinema release here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Originally posted by Asuka

'Youre sitting in my chair'... I jumped a ****ing mile.

A

LOL, me too! I was in the cinema so it was way worse! :-)