Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sell your Body to Secence for €2000

• 14-01-2003 10:37PM
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Wow, there's an idea!

Mind you, it reminds me of that episode of the Simpsons when Bart sells his soul to Milhause!

Why not phone up Trinity? (/end obvious statement/question)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

Now *that* is an interesting idea. If it is indeed true, I'd seriously consider it. Probably not now though, I'd want to wait until I'm in some terrible hour of need or something, rather than just blow it on a laptop now... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

I wouldn't even consider it. Having that hanging over you for your whole life, then when your kids wanna have a funeral they get told "No, Daddy's corpse is going to trinity college to be cut open and experimented on"
    phaxx/Gordon i'd really have a long think about it before you do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Hmmm, that would clear most of my credit card debt. I'd actually think about this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

It was said you can buy it back, and anyway, funerals don't have to have a body, it's about remembering the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I had always planned to do that anyway.

I may as well check it out. Worthy of considration. Though I suppose the better thing to do would be to let myself be harvested for organs however it's unlikely any of them would be of any use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

my liver could be the new titanium compound!!!!

my eyes are of no use to anybody, stigmatism
    and i have asthma and i was a smoker...

..my body is going for a wooden box! [return to sendor!]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Chaos-Engine

Originally posted by phaxx
    It was said you can buy it back, and anyway, funerals don't have to have a body, it's about remembering the person.

As far as i know only YOU can buy your body back as it is yours and yours souly. So your family cannot re-buy it apon your death... PLus... Who knows when you'll die? how can you be sure that you can rebuy it before you die? You could slip on a stair case coming out of the office in trinity can DIE!!! ;)

on a side note I think i'll have to ask around tommorrow morning. I could use the money and i'm not really a materialist so no corpse please. Anyway I would have been cremated so why waste me...
    Either way my family can still have a service if they like. I just don't get burned(well not in one piece) or bearied for a bit. Maybe not at all in some cases. I don't mind. My body is just a vessle. My self will be gone ;)

Originally posted by SearrarD
    my liver could be the new titanium compound!!!!

Indestructible is it?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Jeez..I'd do it.

It would be one useful thing I've done in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

hmmm .... could this be exploited as an interest free loan?=]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

Blimey.. id actually consider it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Someone please tell me that this is true.

I thought I was going to have to give mine away for free !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

You could go around all the various medical colleges and sell your body a few times over.

When they find out you'll be laughing, laughing from your grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

Originally posted by OSriS:

hmmm .... could this be exploited as an interest free loan?=]
    I was thinking the same thing... unless they routinely revise the "worth" of a human body every so often, and have that as the asking price for buying back your body. I don't know whether they *can* do this or not, but you'd want to check before you exploit it. Seems pretty sweet otherwise.

Anyway, I really don't care what happens to my body after I die, you could leave it as carrion for vultures for the difference it would make. However, I don't think my family would be comfortable with the idea of my body being donated to science so I would have to think before making a decision like that.

Very thought provoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Originally posted by swiss
    However, I don't think my family would be comfortable with the idea of my body being donated to science so I would have to think before making a decision like that.

€2000 sounds pretty good.
    i could go on a nice holiday for that money :)
    its something to consider if your ever in debt.
    as was posted earlier, you could always buy it back at a later stage and your family would never know.
    but if you die before you buy it back then your family won't be too impressed when trinity college come to remove your body from the morgue instead of the funeral directors.
    i would have no prob leaving my body to science. after all, when your dead you wont need it anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

ok so you sell your body now for 2 grand.. but just make sure you die by falling into an industrial blender or something that completely mashes you up so you'll be little or no use to future generations of medical students :D

mwahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 knockeiran

:cool: 2000, thats grand, I will be over in the summer, any chance of an advance? Lookin forward to the pissup, here is a toast to science! Jsus, I thought ye had to go to Leeson st , ti sell yer body?
    cant wait till I am STIFF!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

Holy Crap! That's a good deal. Although I wander if you could haggle.

I don't really care what happens to my body after death. My kids can shove my corpse up their asses if they expect me to sacrifice €2000 for a funeral with my body!

That 2000 would buy me a nice Les Paul!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

So basically, it's free money? Trinity aren't going to hire hitman to take us all out once we sign up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Shop around, i'd say you'd easily get more than 2000 grand. If it was 5000 i'd jump at the chance but for a measly 2000, trinity you can go fuk roger rabbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

Anyone find out if this is for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

I'd consider it with the intention of buying it back later but sure as eggs is eggs I'd get run over or something whilst being fascinated by a cheque with that many 0s!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

Maybe would should get a syndicate together - they might give bonuses for recruitment. For every 10 bodies, we'll give you a car!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

€2000 is nothing if you ask me
    Would you not feel better to sell your body organs when you die to help save someones life? a life is priceless, and if you even want to think of it, if you want to sell them, your family children would see the benifits of how their da sold his organs for THEM, not that he sold them for himself.. the selfish bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

if you would know how much those doctors earn from your parts then you would probably reconsider the price offered. (if in fact this is true at all)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

tbh i dont think id be too comfortable with that,
    maybe if i needed the money but atm im fine due to taxback of 3 years :D

it IS all fun and games until you go out on the piss and you wake up days later with a kidney and a lung missing tho...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Snowball

They would have to give u the money before you die. But what if u die in a plain accident? do they get ur kidds to give the money back?? would be funny though, sorry son your dad died in an unsatisfactory manner. We need the money back, now! or we will take your house!

Sceptre, did u post this because u saw something ir is it just a thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

well it does sound a little too good to be true.

1. If I can buy back my body at anytime (for say, €2000) is that not the equilivilent of a no-ties no-interest pay back whenever ta like loan?

2. Already there are thousands of people donating their bodies already, in fact, I have already pledged mine, so I dont think there are any shortage of dead people, why the need to pay people.

3. To jump on a chance like this purely for a quick buck would be foolish, who knows how the next couple of years will go, maybe you'll join a cult who hold the body sacred, and when they kill you for the fact you sold your body to science who's gonna help you huh?

Anyway I'm looking forward to cashing my cheque soon....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Wook - Trinity wouldn't be selling on the organs, they have a medical school, the corpses would be used for students to dissect etc, and research work.

Sure, in Canada there's a company you can walk into, have a kidney or what not removed, and get a nice wad of cash!

Originally posted by Lenny
    Would you not feel better to sell your body organs when you die to help save someones life?

You could say that leaving your body to science would be helping more lives. Medical science wouldn't be what it is without the availablility of corpses to do research on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

Originally posted by Lenny
    Would you not feel better to sell your body organs when you die to help save someones life? a life is priceless, and if you even want to think of it, if you want to sell them, your family children would see the benifits of how their da sold his organs for THEM, not that he sold them for himself.. the selfish bastard

I disagree. A life is far from priceless! It isn't really worth saving the dying to be honest. Its the advance in health care that more and more people are able to stay alive, thus making the world very overcrowded, but that's a different discussion altogether.

Did anyone follow this up or find more information
    I'm curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

Sorry to dash all your hopes, but there's no money involved in the procedure of donating your body to medical science.

EDIT: there's the clue - its called donating, not selling :p

Basically, you approach the anatomy dept, they give you a tour, show you what'll happen when you're dead, then you sign a form.

The form is not a legal document, you have to tell your next of kin, because it is actually their decision what to do with your body after you die. (its a bit like organ donation)

When you die, you have your normal funeral service, then the body is brought to the anatomy dept and you are enbalmed. The body is used by students of health sciences (not just meds) for 2 years, then the body is either given back to your family for burial or is buried in trinity's plot in glasnevin cemetary.

And I know this because it was one of the 1st things they told us when we started doing anatomy (I'm in 2nd med in TCD)

Who made up this €2000 waffle then ? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Bah there goes my chance of hot meals for 2003 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

boards.ie can off course always start a company to offer such a service and make loads of money from body parts and call it 'Research' and claim it to be for 'greater good' but in fact buy us all a big phat internet connection

Dammit

Ok, how much would members of boards.ie pay for my body after death?

Do TCD take souls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

go around the world selling it to all the colleges. when you die let them fight over it, your long gone! sitting in hell boozing and laughing at them

Originally posted by Snowball
    Sceptre, did u post this because u saw something ir is it just a thought?
    <sigh> I always get blamed. Zascar, not sceptre:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

fukkin hell, im seriously thinking about this ! is there a phone number or email you can get in touch with them @ ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭patch

A mate of mine studied anatomy in UCG.....I'm pretty sure we had this conversation, and it's supposedly true. I mean how many people would just donate their bodys? Just for a laugh loike...
    I'll ask him......:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I dont need the money so wont be doing it but im assuming if you want to buy it back that its actually the same price? Still 2k?? Would suck if you had to pay more.. but be a bonus if it lost value so you buy it back at 1k.. hey second hand goods after all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭irishgeo

How would they you know died. i mean you not going to be able to phone them and say "yeah my body is ready for collection now".

You could do it know and they might never found out you died as you could move country, house town etc.

Also would you be taxed on that money?

I am surprised every smackhead, tramp , homeless person has not signed up for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Will someone ring or EMail the punters and get a definate answer?

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Originally posted by irishgeo
    How would they you know died. i mean you not going to be able to phone them and say "yeah my body is ready for collection now".

You could do it know and they might never found out you died as you could move country, house town etc.

Also would you be taxed on that money?

I expect that you have to give details geo, otherwise they may aswell say "here have some money, no seriously!" .

I am surprised every smackhead, tramp , homeless person has not signed up for this.

Maybe it requires a home address? And some sort of next-of-kin approval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

tbh you could just die, then get your next of kin to use the organ donor thingy quickly. or just sell your body then invest the cash well, buy your body back and have made a quick profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

rubdub dont be digging up old posts