Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oz Series One starts on TG4 Tonight

• 09-01-2003 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭

For those of us unlucky enough not to have started watching from the beginning Oz series one begins showing on TG4 tonight(11:25 I think).
    I for one am well chuffed as I only started watching it around its third series.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

yeah ditto, turned on tg4 last nite n was in shock! first episode! \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

So thats how it starts. Nice to see who was around then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

they all look so youthful and freshfaced compared to the later series...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

feck, saw it advertised but forgot aboot it, didnt know it was the first one. tell me please :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

It was good to see the pilot for the first time! I mistakenly thought that Italian guy was the fella who got bummed by Adobesi and (in season5 by) Schillinger so I was quite surprised when he met his doom at the end of the episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Originally posted by Winters
    tell me please

Well,not alot actually happened with characters still in it-most of the people who were the main guys in it in the first episode are long dead.

Beecher and Schillinger are the only two in it now who made any real appearence.Miguel Alvarez made a very brief appearence when,in a sign of what was to come,while being checked in at the reception area recieved the first of a few dozen stabbings he would recieve in his time there.

Beecher moved in with Adebisi.After he stole his stuff and threatened to rape him he requested to move in with Schillinger,a kindly inmate who took pity on the poor lad who he was frightened might be raped by Adebisi(or so Beecher thought,as the second he moved into his cell he found out Schillingers true intentions).

Said also arrived and was harrased by Adebisi and right hand man Jefferson Keane to quit any adverse influence he might have in turning their men away from drugs and violence.
    Also arriving was Ryan O Reilly,without his brother.He had once been shot by Dino Ortalini,a mobster now in Oz.When Dino beat Keanes brother half to death in the shower after the brother tried to do to him what apparently takes place regularly in prison showers(I dont have to spell it out;) )Ryan saw his chance to align with Jefferson and Adebisi and achieve their common goal of getting Ortolani killed.

After Dino killed an Aids patient who had begged him to do it to end his suffering he was severely beaten by the prison guards.While lying semi concious in solitary one of the black guys came in,bribed a guard to get him to occupy himself somewhere else for a few minutes and proceeded to douse him in fuel and burn him to death(god knows what excuse the prison guard would use to explain how a semi concious man lying in a locked cell alone should burn to death-spontaneous combustion perhaps?:D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Finally got around to seeing the one from Thursday this evening. Its really strange, Nobody died. They seem to be introducing all the characters, Beacher looks really strange with the short hair. You get the see Beacher as Schillingers(Sp?) bitch, something we heard so much about but never saw.

Adebisi is there and we do finally see how he becomes the leader he once was, its so nice to see them all innocent. Also, anyone notice Tony Sopranos wife in there as one of the hacks? Was amazed to see that and McManus seems to have more hair :eek:

You can see its building up to the riot, everthing is being set and they keep talking about it. I am waiting for it to happen cos it really isint as gripping at the moment without all the kinda killing.