Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kicking the habit

• 08-01-2003 11:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭

I've been off the smokes for almost 10 days now. Jesus it's hard.

Someone give me words of encouragement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

woohoo that brilliant, keep it up!!!

encouraging enough for ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Neil_Sedaka

Gwan Sico ye good thing ye.

Been off them since July, I think about them sometimes but it passes.

Is this your first time quitting? don't do the cigar in the pub bit, had me smoking again every time.

Remember that "how many have I got, how long will they last, do I need to go to the garage sh1t? be happy thats over.

Believe it's not hard and it won't be, sometimes it can be that simple!

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

Well done...

I still smoke, MMmmmm love that smokey goodness.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Keep it up, smoking is fúcking vile.

How many a day were you on before you quit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

11 days....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Fair play Dabh, keep it up man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

c'mon Sico, ur giving up the sickest **** ever. And it's good for you the amount of times I have heard ppl saying that they feel better and more healthy because they don't smoke...

Do u feel tired after u run a small bit for the bus or something like that? well soon you won't and the more time the better you'll be

keep going.... it gets easier after the 20 day mark. Just be wary for that little urge to light up at a funeral or something. Its not worth it, and the cig generally tastes the worst of all time, but it'll get u back. Just keep em out of your mouth, and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Gave them up myself also, a week ago, been smoking since I was 15 (nearly 13 years), never tried before, and i can't believe how easy it has been (so far) ! No problems or cravings what-so-ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Runfree

Fair play to you. Not alot of people that do it you know. But keep up the will power

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I believe if you read that book by Jim Carr on giving up, that you will most likely succeed - my bloke read it last Nov. and hasn't smoked since! it really does help
    good luck with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

I used to smoke until it came to the point where I couldn't afford it anymore! Keep up the good work and buy yourself something out of all the money you're saving to show for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭govinda

Beruthiel, I think you mean Allen Carrs "Easy Way to Give Up Smoking" and "Only Way To Quit Smoking Permanently" - I can definitely agree with your fella, the method is amazing - quitting is really painless and no cravings whatsoever! I never thought it was possible....

...I ended up reading both books though because I quit after reading one, but fell into the trap again....it was so easy to quit, that I *hanging head in shame* thought I could have just one.....one is all it takes to get you hooked in the first place though.

Best of luck to you Sico, its worth it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Off em a year now(cold turkey), and I can honestly say that it's the best thing I've ever done. Keep it up man, in two weeks time you won't even be getting cravings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

4 days of cold turkey for myself so far. about my 5th time giving up. hopefully will last this time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Good luck and congrats to all giving up :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

They still taste great dabh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Rolo Tomasi

Haven't smoked since Saturday. Its not that difficult when I'm around my non smoking friends(that group's getting bigger all the time) but jaysus it near impossible when I'm around my smoking friends and we're discussing smoking and quitting and all that.

I used a hypnotherapy tape made by a guy in Cork city. Joesph Keaney. Has certainly helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

If you never started smoking them death sticks you wouldnt have to quit, now how stupid do you feel that you started them? :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Pugsley shut up, no one needs a smart ass. I'm off them a week. It's been alot easier that the last time I tried. Only get the cravings when I do something habatitual eg. after dinner I always used to have a smoke.
    Good luck to everyone doing it, the more support the better. It's hard to just drop a habit of 20 - 30 a day and then expect to not feel it.

(I do notice money does not seem to be disappearing as quickly from my pocket)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I'm exactly the same as Dr. Dre. Been off for 15 days now. The only thing is that I haven't been to the pub yet and that is what is difficult.

Although I'm cutting back on my drinking.

Good luck with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 lola d

Good luck to you all. I just don't seem to have the willpower to give them up. Just one piece of advice, please don't end up like one of those condescending reformed smokers who go "i smoked 40 a day and gave them up, there a disgusting habit bladiblablabla" . nobody likes a know it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭boogie man

I've been off them for nearly a year now. Used that Allen Carr book. I HIGHLY RECOMEND IT. It really is an "easyway" to stop smoking. I know I'm never going to smoke again, and it feels great!:D

My brother gave them up aswell and he had to stop going to the pub as much because he could not handle being there all night and not smoking.

What does this book say or do? Why is it so good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

Originally posted by TomTom
    My brother gave them up aswell and he had to stop going to the pub as much because he could not handle being there all night and not smoking.

What does this book say or do? Why is it so good?

That book is the only way to do it.
    I read it 5 weeks ago and I feel great.

It puts you in the frame of mind that you're not sacraficing something by not smoking but you're gaining a hell of a lot more.

I stopped smoking on a wednesday and I was in the pub every night from the thursday through to sunday. Yes the first few days are hard but it that made me happier that I had stopped :D

I know I'll never smoke again but I also know that all it takes is one ciggarette to have me hooked again.

Whenever I tried the willpower method before that's what got me every time. "Ah I'll have just the one, that won't make any difference", "I'll only smoke in the pub at the weekends!"

I bought the book 3 years ago, the last time was my third attempt to read it in full and I'm kicking myself now for having taken so long to read it :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

right, I'm buyin that feckin book!

I don't smoke but I just want to know what's in it :) everyone seems to think it's brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Rolo Tomasi

please don't end up like one of those condescending reformed smokers who go "i smoked 40 a day and gave them up

A Bill Hicks joke,

"I really hate reformed smokers, you know the way they walk up to you when your smoking a cigarette and make that fake coughing sound, I mean would these people walk up to a person in a wheelchair and start dancing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭boogie man

Check out Allen Carr's website:

http://www.allencarrseasyway.com/

It's got some of the info you're looking for. There is also an intro to the online course to play with. The online course I'm sure is good, but I've only tried the book and that rocked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Hmm i hear the government are trying to stop smoking in pubs etc.. which imo is a great idea, i feel your right to smoke shouldn't infringe on my right not to somke. I really hate some pubs, I just cant breathe in them, I could never work in a pub.

BTW correct me if I'm wrong about this but Im still all for it, the same as your right to have a gun shudnt infringe on my right to not be scared or some waffle like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 weirdjim

FAIR F**KS to anyone giving them up ..wish i could
    its more habit smoking i do i
    just wouldnt know what to do without a cig... it would be like loosing a limb or something

anyone try patches gum that inhaler thingy or is it better to go cold turkey

It won't be banned in pubs yet. Although pubs will have to install ventelation systems that are capable of up to 12 air changes per hour AFAIK. thats complete air changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

Giving them up now mesel.... Decided to get addicted to the Nocorette patches insted.

Going good.. havent had a smoke since 9:00 this morning. I kinda miss having them, and feel a little different, but I cant place what it is, possibly a side effect from the patch, but since I cant describe how it feels, its just different..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Heh, now my flatmate is planning to give up because he thinks it looks easy.

Still feels very weird to think I'll never smoke a cigarette again. I gave up on the night of the 30th, because I knew if I could go out clubbing on new year's eve and not smoke, I'd be grand from then on. Smoked plenty of joints mind, but no more than I would normally have if I was still smoking tobacco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

lol sico is you being serious?
    i mean.. im thinking about a big :) on yer arm... an ive never known you to be serious..
    well if ya is, fair played to ja. dosent mean ill give up tho.. lol
    take it easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Well done to all. I've heard that a small psychological boost can come if, when someone offers you a cigarette, you respond with "I DONT SMOKE" rather than "I'VE JUST QUIT" or something like that. It's kinda like you are subliminally convincing yourself that you will never smoke again. I dunno. I jeard it off some radio psychologist guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

If you're gonna smoke joints you might aswell be smoking again!
    But stay off them if you still are, it's becoming unsocial behaviour to smoke these days. Some shopping centres have smoking banned completely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭colinsky

i'm at about a year and 1/2

one alternative to the book (they don't sell it in the US) is this web site I found: www.cognitivequitting.com

I'm not how how similiar it is to Alan Carr's approach, but I found it extremely helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

I gave up cold turkey about 4 months ago
    still get cravings specially when i see those bloody give up smoking ads
    just puts the idea of smoking in my mind
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Yep Kastro, I've seriously thrown the death-sticks in the bin. It's something I've been meaning to get round to for a while (and something I've tried unsuccessfully to do twice).

It's going grand so far, I don't even mind people smoking around me anymore. It's hard enough at the start, but not as hard as I thought it would be. TBH there's no point in trying to give up unless you really want to - I'm sick of hearing of people saying 'I'm giving up' and then being back on the smokes within a few days. Don't make a half-arsed attempt, wait until you really have the motivation and willpower to do it.

The only time I even think about cigarettes now is after food or booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Off them seven years now, or is it six, though I wasn't really a heavy smoker - no more than 10 a day (and 100 when drinking).

Keep up the good work Sico.

13 days and still don't feel bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

Originally posted by Neil3030
    Well done to all. I've heard that a small psychological boost can come if, when someone offers you a cigarette, you respond with "I DONT SMOKE" rather than "I'VE JUST QUIT" or something like that. It's kinda like you are subliminally convincing yourself that you will never smoke again. I dunno. I jeard it off some radio psychologist guy.

Also, if you say "I DONT SMOKE" people won't offer you another ciggie after that, whereas if you say you've just quit you'll get people offering you again in case you're desperate.