Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Scandalous Parish in Ireland

• 04-01-2003 2:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭

I think that I live in the most scandalous parish in Ireland.
    In my opinion, per head of population Fethard-on-Sea (Fethard on the map) in Co. Wexford has had more articles in Irish tabloids over the past five years than any other Irish parish.

Here's where I live

Scandals included are:
    The Duncannon Pier Drowning
    The Father Fortune Sex Scandal (as depicted on Suing the Pope)
    The Hollow Sex Scandal
    The Protestant Boycott (as depicted recently in A Love Divided)
    The St Leonard's Parochial House Lock-in
    Various Sea Tragedies (most recently the Pisces tragedy)

If you believe your parish deserves the title of Most Scandalous Irish Parish, please reply with a map of where you live, and a list of recent scandals (in alphabetical order please)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Why exactly is a Sea tragedy scandelous? Otherwise I'd say ye deserve the title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 silly_sausage

Well now I don't know how many people live in Fethard-on-Sea, but where I live, in rural Donegal, is very remote and getting less populated by the day. And it seems the less people live here the more national coverage we get!

Map of Donegal: http://www.donegaldirect.ie/DDonegal/

Remember in the heyday of the Celtic Tiger while the rest of the country was investing in over-priced semi-Ds in Dalkey, frolicking around cappuccino bars in Temple Bar and launching websites? Well who could forget the devastating factory closures around Buncrana as Fruit of the Loom decided to abandon the North West and relocate their sweat shops to Morocco?

There have been endless sea tragedies off our coast as well, with the Atlantic throwing all it has at west Donegal, and despite the 'biggest fishing vessel in the world' - the Atlantic Dawn - setting off from Killybegs, sure we're regularly on the news giving out about fish quotas and those damn Spaniards.

With the Gaeltacht in the county sure we're never short of whingers, and famous trad groups like Altan. Sure TG4 are up here all the time encouraging us to compain about our lack of facilities, and that furore over Special Disadvantaged Regional Status got a bit of coverage.

Celebrity wise we have Enya and her growing Lord of the Rings fame and also the most newsworthy celebrity story of 2002 in wee Daniel's wedding.

You may have all the sex scandals in Wexford, but don't forget the other corner of the country. We're just as 'happening' as you lot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

You didn't really specify any parish there, but i do agree Donegal has its social problems. Don't forget the Gardaí Corruption Scandal!! That's as bad as our priests....
    To be honest I've amalgamated a couple of parishes to lay claim to more scandals, but it's still only a population of around 2,553!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Honey Bunny

my local vilage of urlaur co. mayo deserves a mention.
    urlaur
    jaysus we had sum queer year in 2002.
    sure who cud forget when mrs. twomey's american sister came over wit her daughters, and sure they weren't five minutes in the parish when they ran off down to the crushkeen laun and wer cot shifting two married men.
    i hope thats as far as they got, cos d number of unwanted pregnansies has spiraled in urlaur of late. the quicker UNESCO do a condom drop on east mayo/west roscommon the better. three of my classmates have a sprog, and one of them megan ryan is on her second - by two different men, seamie leary and francis farrell, tho i dont think seamie knows that the girl's not his so say nothin.
    last may the local parish priest eloped with my shopkeeper, mrs. flynn, and kerry wogan, who decorates the altar for sunday had a nervous breakdosn. we found out later she was carying fr. murray's kid.
    our local creamery exploded in august - aparently d ira was holdin weapons in the pumphouse, and my local cousillor was arrested by the fraud squad over tax evasion.
    and there's only about 650 people living in d parish!
    beat that wexford!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Deffo fethard on sea....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Snowball

sounds like ur parish has no real contenders m8

And for the prize of most ****ed-up organisation the winner is... (drum role)

The Irish catholic chirch!!

wow, what a surprise!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

hey we went there camping a few years ago , an if its the place im thinkin of , ye`ve got some kick ass beach down there , wouhou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

ah yea sure what harm is a spot of child abuse when you've got a good beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Yep, just when you think Fethard-on-Sea couldn't get any more ****ed up another scandal comes out. You definitely win the prize. (Prize being a bus ticket the hell away from Fethard-on-Sea).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i have to admit that our local community of dublin gets a lot of national press for lots of things....