Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People ruining films at the cinema

• 29-12-2002 5:54pm

I have to ask why do people pay seven or eight euros to see a film and then spend their time messing? They just ruin it for the rest of us who want to see the film. Does anyone know why they do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Acidflash

Because their idiots!!!

Thats why i usually wait a week or two before going to the cinema to see a film after it is released. By that stage most people have seen it so there are very few there to annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Heres one really annoying thing that happened at a cinema just last friday, a small bunch of people started reading the sub-titles out loud! FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Could I make a wild guess that this incident occured in one of those delightful suburban 15-screen-hellholes which some people call multiplexes but which could be better described as movie-troughs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Aaaah a subject close to my heart! Some of my favourite incidents...
    • Last Friday night, Blood Work in the Omniplex in Limerick. Knackers at the back with low IQs obviously couldn't understand the movie or something, so they started talking, shouting, making calls and throwing food.
    • Few months ago, at the Magdalene Sisters. There was a couple sitting beside me. Any text that appeared on the screen, the girl took it upon herself to read it aloud for everyone's benefit (including the long paragraphs at the end which said what happened to each of the girls!)
    Gimme a while... I bet I can think of more!

- Dave.

At Red Dragon there was a few students in the row behind us and only one of them could speak English so he translated the whole film for his friends. I nearly went mad listening to them. I couldnt move as the cinema was packed. A few of us asked for our money back and were told in no uncertain terms by the managment to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Heh, I used to live in Greece which was also annoying.

They would (as was pointed out) read the subtitles to their family which was really annoying but understandable in the circumstances. But... They would read the subtitles before the words were spoken and if it was a funny moment they would roar in laughter at the joke. This roaring would disable any listening viewer to hear the joke!

As for general wasters - i think they do it because they are having a luagh and they would do it with their mates in front of the video player so therefore they dont give a flying arse about anyone else.

They may have sepnt a few bobo but they are with their mates so therefore it is money well spent to be together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

go during the day ,possibly have entire cinema in
    those delightful suburban 15-screen-hellholes which some people call multiplexes
    all to yourself.

works for me :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I was at Harry Potter 2 just after it came out. Packed cinema, late at night (no ****ing kids) and this idiots phone goes off. The whole cinema groans in irritation- he proceeds to answer it and have a 2-3 minute conversation.

Everyone around him is going tsk, be quiet, etc. - he finishes up eventually. Ten minutes later phone goes off again he answers it again . Full blown conversation once ****ing more. People start pelting the ****er with popcorn eventually he gives up.

I along with every other person in the cinema resolve to rip him in two come the end of the cinema. I think he must have sensed this and left half an hour before the end. Shítheadry of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I was in Dun Laoire with the family watching the first LOTR film, twas my second time seeing it.

Unfortunately it was at about 7pm on a sunday evening, and the place was *full* of kids, who proceeded to laugh at the wrong bits, ask their parents what each characters name was over and over and worst of all, after Gandalf does his "you shall not pass" bit in the mines, a group of about 3 littel feckers would shout "YOU SHALL NOT PASS" at every quiet moment for the rest of the film...

I've never heard anyone tell a story of how the ushers or staff have ever taken action against people who ruin the film for the rest of the audience...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Damn right...

One thing I cant fecking stand is when people shush me!
    I mean, I'm trying to fecking have a conversation here!

And what the feck is it with phones?
    It's usually very important!
    And what if I actualy had my phone off?
    I dont even want to think about it...
    Jesus, the gossip I'd miss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

find that it is less likely someone will ruin the film if you go to a preview or very soon after it is released as the people that really wanna be there are there went to the two towers the night it came out and cinemas was packed but it was fine, went the next day in the afternoon and lots of kids where there expected them to cause problems, however it was a group of asians behind me that where talking a lot didn't bother me so much as having seen it already but one guy was really losing the head at them moved seats and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

This rarely ever happens me in the UK, but I've gone to see one film while I've been home for christmas, and there were 3 idiots behind me talking about other films during it, one line I remember was "Yeah fight club was alright I suppose, but it was a bit far fetched, I mean who was he fighting with? He was bleeding and everything for ****'s sake!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Aye, went to see The Two Towers tonight, two fecking retards behind us. They weren't exactly kicking the chairs but they mustve had their feet against them and kept fidgeting.

Friend turned round "What the ****'s wrong with you?" - two Koreans, hadn't a clue what he meant.

Sigh, maybe that's how they watch movies in Korea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

I have to say I usually wait until a film is out a while, and then go see them. Tend to go late too. Though I try to catch them in the bigger screens before they get moved to the smaller screens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by Mills
    This rarely ever happens me in the UK,
    Yeah I noticed that too. I was over and back to Manchester a good bit over the last year and a half and they have this absolutely amzing cinema there called the filmworks. Just just amazing. So I went to the cinema a lot and not once did any do or say anything out of order nor did a phone go off.

It seems more likely than not for someone to be acting the **** in Dublin cinemas I wonder what the difference is? It's not as if Mancunians are nicer, total ****s for the most part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by lafortezza

I've never heard anyone tell a story of how the ushers or staff have ever taken action against people who ruin the film for the rest of the audience...

I was watching Seven in the Savoy One when it came out and over on the left were two drunke twats, laughing at serious bits, opening cans and drinking etc. and pi$$ing everyone in the cinema off.

I went out and told an usher these fools were wrecking the film, and fair play to them they went in and threw them out.

They also threw out a load of scumbags at The Matrix who decided to start telling Jew jokes at maximum volume for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Just looked at this thread now. I had this experience last weekend over in UCI in Tallaght.

I was over at a mates the night before for some drinks. The next day we decided to go see The Two Towers as he hadn't seen it and his wife had headed off shopping into town (so he had a day pass :D).

So we went to the 12.30 screening. It has to rank as the worst experience I have ever had in the cinema. Unaccompanied kids were running up and down the isles, we had the normal moron who left his mobile on while he went to get munchies, brain transplant or whatever. We even had more kids come in towards the end of the film ask us what it was and then proceed to run down the isles.

I've fired a complaint off to UCI and await their response with baited breathe (well because there was no manager around at the time that I could "chat" to).

And people wonder why I have so many films on DVD. The Answer because I can enjoy them without the "scum from the bottom of the humanity barrel" disturbing my enjoyment

/rant_mode off

Gandalf.

(oh and remember you get nowhere if you don't complain!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

It seems to be a problem in Ireland only - ive never encountered such difficulties abroad. However it does piss me off immensely, and what pisses me off more is when Im going with people who live in Ireland and they put up with it without a word, because its standard fare at the cinema.

I do recall on memorable occasion where people were in fact asked to leave, I think it was in the Savoy. They were clearly not enjoying the film, and probably incapable of it considering the amount of noise they were making. I think the response was 'we were going anyway'.

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've never had anything really bad happen. Last year watching moulin rouge loads of people (mainly scumbags) walked out tutting and moaning. No doubt they thought "It's about prossie's and shagging and sh1te!" :rolleyes:

LOTR 2 weeks ago, went earlyish :mad: Why the f*ck do people bring their kids: IT'S 3 HOURS LONG! YOU KNOW THEY'LL GET BORED!! Kides behind me laughing at the wrong points, adn asking what's going on every 10 minutes. Of the course the inevitable "But where were the two towers da?". And after 2 hours, the aisles were a constant stream of under 12's going to the jacks/front of the cinema/outside.

Grrrrr.....Films should be "12's or over", not "Under 12's accompanied by an adult".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Apparently, in the US, they will stop the film if someone is using their mobile. This usually results in the person leaving before they receive bodily harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Aye, went to see The Two Towers tonight, two fecking retards behind us. They weren't exactly kicking the chairs but they mustve had their feet against them and kept fidgeting.

Sometimes that cant be helped, i'm 6ft6 and its bloody uncomfortable sitting in a crammed seat for a few hours, doing your best to enable the person behind you to see and try not to piss off those in front by accidentally nudging the back of their chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭polarbelly

i had a horrible experience at lord of the rings 2 in uci coolock the other day

people seemed to be treating it as a family day out or something- there were kids crawling up the aisles (must've been 2 or 3 years old at the most)
    two friend s and myself were sitting in the row 2nd from the back at one side and these 2 scum bags about 10-12 years old came in sat behind us started talking and then after us threatening them they stayed quiet, rolled a joint and fúcked off , i couldn't believe it! whats worse is everyone there probably thought it was us

anyway there was two different folk who answered mobiles as well, fúckin headwrecking... i know sometimes you forget to knock it off, esp. if ur late or something into the film but to answer it... takes a right prick

i was in copenhagan in the summer and went to see episode 2 of star wars and the cinema was absolutely brilliant, you could even take beer in with you, they were serving pints...can you just imagine that in ireland??!!?? it'd be anarchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

In UCI in tallaght, watching 8 legged freaks (why?) two or three kiddy knackers behind us, repeating every second sentance in a sarcastic way. They thought this was brilliant.

And not too bad, but an example of a manager type person at work. In UCI again, watching The Two Towers, somebody sitting right in the middle of the cinema, with a picture phone taking pictures. Now this thing was the brightest thing ever, and was distracting everyone, but a manager guy went down to her and told her to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

When I went to see the two towers last week, I went to the latest showing. That was 8pm or something like that in the hope that there would be no little kids. But no, there were about 5 or 6 behind us and they just kept talking, the parents with them of course didnt even try to stop them.
    So yeah they would laugh at serious bits and everytime the film changed to a different part of the story it would be "oooo look Frodo" "Oooo is that Gandalf? But he died" "look at the talking tree" well you get the idea.
    Then about half way through it was toilet time, so the next half of the film myself and my friends had to put up with our seats getting kicked and little kids hitting our heads.
    Then the funniest bit was when one of them (who must have actually been watching the film) got mad and told his friends to be quiet. Next thing one says "I wasnt talking" and he spat on him. Well I didnt see him spit on him but everyone heard him spitting. These kids couldnt have been more than 10 years old. Well they all pretty much shut up after this but at this stage the film was nearly over.
    They should really ban kids from the later showings.

People kicking my seat really annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Makaveli
    They should really ban kids from the later showings.
    Whatever about 11pm showings I think the Equal Status Act would have something to say about banning kids/ families from 8/9pm showings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Well then they should start making films that have 18s certs again. They really seem to have disappeared. Keep the certs down to open it to wider audience. bah I say.
    Now I know why I hardly ever go to the cinema. Too many people there to annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Was watching insomnia in the savoy 1 there a few months ago. A gang of teenage girls/guys arrive in, all around 13-14 or so. The really really annoying age where they are all trying to impress each other with their ****e talking abilities.

talking incessantly throughout the film. Turned around twice to ask them to stop. They would go quiet for a minute then

*giggle* ur man told her to be quet.
    hee hee
    *giggle*

*SMACK* aaaarrrrrrrrrggggggghhhhh

well all except the smack part anyway. Bloody annoying it was. Stupid kids.

Gav

At XXX there a few months back this phone kept ringing every second minute. This continued through the entire film. People were going off the ****ing head. In the end the film had to be stopped. We found out that someone from the earlier screening had lost it and were ringing it to find out where it was. Of course we werent offered our money back or some complimentry tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭theciscokid

i've done it many a time, turn around and shout ssssshhhhhh ,

it works everytime..

if they persist get staff, and they'll be f*cked out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by theciscokid

if they persist get staff, and they'll be f*cked out

Most couldn't be bothered, too much hassle. I've complained a couple of times and only once has the manager/security done something. Little sh1ts know what you're up to if you've ssh'd them and then walk out and come back minus popcorn and then they shut up for a bit because they know they're being watched.

I agree with the person who said films after 9pm should NOT allow kids in.

Originally posted by eth0_

I agree with the person who said films after 9pm should NOT allow kids in.

i never have a problem with the kids eth0_, its the f3ckin' adults

By kids I mean those under 16 or so, usually bleach blonde, knacker hoop and tracksuit wearing scum bags who spend the whole film talking (not even about the FILM) and texting people on their phones.

I mean where do they get seven euro from to waste sitting there jabbering on for 2 hours?

"7 Euro"

thats the second time i have heard that in this thread. I could have sworn I was charged 5.95 in UGC Dublin just last week. Is it really €7?

/off topic - sorry

yeah tough little toughsters, hey etho_ why aren't you out celebrating the new year, instead of being stuck on the boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭cartman

i think mesisngs prreople shuds be sdhot i nasd fa heac...therew very mean bp0epplse
    i rememebs one itme pepopel tru samarties at the sceren and i hit them
    motherasd****ers
    illl killk themsd in time dontesa worey..
    i lvoe you,
    cartu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

all above is the same with me. I think the best way to stop that **** is to pause the moive, turn on the lights and give the people who are watching the moive some weapons and gore the ****ers!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

Originally posted by Cartman
    i think mesisngs prreople shuds be sdhot i nasd fa heac...therew very mean bp0epplse
    i rememebs one itme pepopel tru samarties at the sceren and i hit them
    motherasd****ers
    illl killk themsd in time dontesa worey..
    i lvoe you,
    cartu

I see someone had good time. *sign* assholes bouncers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Originally posted by Gordon
    "7 Euro"

thats the second time i have heard that in this thread. I could have sworn I was charged 5.95 in UGC Dublin just last week. Is it really €7?

/off topic - sorry

€8 Last Sunday to See sweet home alabama in the Savoy :rolleyes:

Savoy = Dear, but a bloody nice place (Main screen anyway)
    UGC = Great prices and Nice Screens

"7 Euro"

/off topic - sorry

Probably this was during the day? After 6pm I think, it's a couple of quid dearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"7 Euro"

/off topic - sorry

€33 for 4 people to go see a 5:40pm showing of LOTR in ster century just before chrimbo. Craziness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by seamus
    €33 for 4 people to go see a 5:40pm showing of LOTR in ster century just before chrimbo. Craziness

Bah, cost (equivalent of) 60 euros for 3 people to see Charlies Angels (for that kind of money I'd expect sexual favours from the blonde Angel of my choice) in the Leicester Sq Odeon on Sat night a little over a year ago.

(12 quid a head, work out the maths yerselves)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Once I took my eldest to the cinema (U rated film). She got bored, so... wait for it... I took her home.
    Am I really some kind of genius to come up with this solution that doesn't seem to occur to anyone else?

The worse experience with a fellow audience-member I had was at a play, which is the same basic thing, but without the benfit of having what I did want to listen to amplified. Two American tourists in London spent the entire first act eating crisps and arguing about the names of various landmarks they'd seen and the order in which they saw them. I took advantage of the interval to make it clear that it would be folly to allow me to hear anything from them during the next two acts. They moved to seats out of my earshot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

I find the people who are so easily distracted far more annoying.

I was in the cinema last week and apparently the people in the row in front of me were talking. I never heard them. Big fat guy a few seats away got up and went over to them and complained to them for a minute or two. I had to get up to let the finicky bastard through.

There have been times when I've been talking to friends while the opening credits are rolling and nothing is happening on screen yet and I've been whined at by people asking me would I ever be quiet and watch the movie.

Originally posted by BLITZ_Molloy
    I find the people who are so easily distracted far more annoying.

?? But if you're talking at the start of the film, then it's you who has a concentration problem mate :)

I personally can't see the problem in sitting down and shutting up for an hour and a half to watch a film. If only cinema's had personal headsets :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭GiMiC

I actually stopped going to the cinema until recently. I was sick of people either messing and fidgeting through the film (and this isn't restricted to kids either), giving a running commentary (this is the worst!) or regularly saying "This is s**te!" and "Who the f**k told you this was good?!". I generally tend to just download many of the films I want to see from Kazaa and only go to see loud blockbusters where the noise will drown out any irritating assholes in the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭the66electric

I used to work in a cinema and the stories i could tell. Couple having sex on the floor in front of the screen, man pissing on carpet beside entrance, a group of 20 scumbags entering through fire exit and hiding under the screen, people shouting at talkers to the extent that full blown fight breaks out, but the worst for me is the one that no-one seems to mind...

The sound of 215 people eating that you hear when the Irish film board certificate is displayed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭DrizztIE

maybe that's how they get their kicks out of it... and then when it comes out on video or dvd, they are all quiet and watches the film on their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mad_Patrick

I think the most annoying thing, and it happened to me a few times where there is a guy behind you with a few friends who's seen the movie and he tells them ( and half the people in the cinema) whats going to happen. Like "Oh look this is the part where this guy dies, watch the way he goes when he gets shot in the head" The friends don't seem to mind but it drives me f/uckin crazy. and when a chick wants to make out during a movie, what are you retarded?? I paid good money to watch a film, there'a plenty of time after