Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fancy plates?

• 20-12-2002 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭

Lo,

example9.gif

I've seen a few cars in town with a Ferrari graphic or Jordan graphic on their number plates. The graphic replaces the european flag and IRL on the numberplate. Anyone hear of where these ppl get this done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I was under the impression that that was illegal. Better check it out before you try it tbh.

Edit: http://www.oasis.gov.ie/transport/motoring/vehicle_registration_numbers.html#i__134566912_102

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

are there going to be penalty points assiocaited with having 'illegal' number plates? cos I just ordered a new plate for my bike and I dont really want to get points on my license for having a nice number plate instead of the large square awful looking piece of **** I have on it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

I dunno, but if there was no penalty points involved, then I'd still go ahead and get it done.

I've already paid for the shagging thing.. :( On my way home tonight I spotted at least 10 'illegal' plates so there cant be any serious level of enforcement there.

They can all feck off.. I'll put what I want on my bloody bike! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

As far as number plates go its a pretty dicey situation from what i can see, i have a few friends with 'illegal' plates on....like the front plate is smaller than it normally is but the writing is still the same size, their is also say 'Toyota' or 'Honda' done in silver behind the numbering so it shines through when lights are on it. Or something like the numbers are in different colors, say black with red behind them. All this looks great and in almost everyones opinion is fine, but at the end of the day its the gardai who have the final say. One lad i know has a smaller plate on the front and a blue blackdrop behind the numbering has been summonsed to court and another lad with the same only in red has been told he'll get a penalty point everytime he's caught with them on....solution these lads have come up with is just take them off and not bother with plates....bit stupid alright but so are the guards....it seems to be 1 rule for some ppl on another for everyone else

Take for instance these ppl with their names on their plates who get away with changing a number slightly so it looks like a letter say an 8 to a B etc... How comes their aloud do it, oh yeah sorry their important business men not young lads!

I myself am getting new plates in 2 weeks, the front will be tiny and the back will be the proper size, they will be black with silver numbering on them and if im told to take them off then i will, as soon as everyone else does.

Farlz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Interestingly, I need a new plate. Mine's cracking at the bolts seeing as it protrudes rather badly from the back of me bike. So from months of catching it on clothes/walls/small animals/children it's become quite wrecked.

So, where do I get a new plate, and can they be gotten much smaller? And what do I bring with me? Reg. Cert, Id, etc.

Cheers laeds :)

I went into overdrive in douglas... didnt have to bring anything official with me - just gave them my reg number and 1 week later my new bootiful plate is sitting perfectly on my bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

http://www.fancyplates.com

Here you can do a 'constructor' and make your own fancy plate ! Pity its illegal, cause you could come up with some sweet looking plates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Surely standard plates aren't illegal from that crowd ando? Cos it'd be easier to order online (and lord knows I'm quite aways from Douglas, rymus! :p)

Do any shops in Dublin offer smaller or customised plates?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

As far as I know, the only "legal" style is the standard font with either black on white or silver on black and no writing above or below bar the county name and only the EU flag to the left.

Then again, that doesn't stop every goon in Galway with a very slow car having "Toyota Starlet 12 valve INJECTION Turbo!!11!!" above theirs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

This thread is 9 years old!:eek:

Please don't drag up old threads. You're welcome to start a new one.

Closed.