Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Me is Christmas Crackers

• 17-12-2002 6:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

Hello again boardsbuddies
    IS there anyon else out there who hates Xmas. I mean for me its the worst time of the year. Reasons:
    1- Cold days on crowded buses trying to cram in some shoppin between work and college.
    2- Everyone pretending to be happy when they are clearly not
    3- The complete boredom between 21st and 31st
    4- Life stops for a day for a holiday thats just a reason to exchange plesantries with family members.
    5- TV sucks
    6- Money

Is there anyone else who hates Christmas?

Signed
    Grimes the Grinch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

How is this a Personal Issue to you?

Have you considered suicide as a result of Christmas..?

...please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

then move it to whever you want or delete the post i dont really care to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    For the record... Its not just your accent I like.
    I'm very fond of you too Merc.

Let's do brunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭pyure

yeah, christmas sucks

sorry but its all just so blindingly fake and made up that it makes me want to puke

for that reason i attmept to kill all christmas spirit in everyone around me by doing the following :

1. never buying/sending christmas cards
    2. never buying christmas presents, and telling people never to get me anything.
    3. repeatedly educating people about the sham that is christmas
    4. telling children that santa claus isnt real and its just their parents attempting to recreate their joyous youths by loading the kids with presents.
    5. throwing sticks and stones at all carolers/xmas buskers/goodwill type people
    6. tearing down all rediciously over priced external decorations on peoples houses/lawns
    7. taking hostages and holding them to ransom until the town agrees to cancel all christmas activities (my list of demands got lost in the post last year...messy business)uke

although this year i think ill just sit in the basement for the holidays
    lets see them ruin my holiday then, hehehehehehehehe

i think i may need help....

:confused::D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Gaz

Christmas rocks .... free beer everywhere you go !! What more could you want ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

Christmas kicks ass- I am one of the early bird breed of shoppers, which means that my November pay check sees me till end of Dec, and with everything bought I can just enjoy December and get pissed lots. My friends always buy me kick ass pressies too which makes Yuletide really enjoyable. Anyone who thinks Christmas sucks ass needs to adjust their perspective and ask themselves how they are going to enjoy it and then go and do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i used to hate christmas, but then again, that was when i was a teenager with serious angsty problems who loved nothing more than to moan and whinge about other peoples happiness.
    but then i grew up and out of it, and now i laugha t all the people who are clearly just miserable and hate the site of other people who enjoy somehting and like to make themselves feel better by being more miserable and trying to convince themselves that those who are enjoying themselves are false and stupid.

so there

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

i love christmas. i hate christmas shoppers, and the crowds. but i love the music (our christmas cd still hasnt gone on in work...*sob*) but the thing i hate most about christmas is that stupid fairytale of new york song and everyone else loves it and it gets played EVERYWHERE you go (except for my work). and i love the fact that there are no believers in my house so we dont have to get up at 6am to open presents. i have been dragged down the stairs by my mum at 8 am the past few years tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

The christmas Theme tunes really do need an update, the only new songs that come out are cover ups by fabrications of Louis Walsh and other mongs like him.

Another annoying thing is the constant spam you get which started in November this year and will last up until the January sales.(i can think for myself and do not require the advertising skillz of companies suggesting presents which would be suitable for me to give x, y and z)

/me grumbles about the banner on his top right hand corner of the screen, what kind of present is web hosting! jesus wouldnt approve ;)

Apart from that Christmas is great, you can't help but enjoy it and the general festive spirit which it brings about man kind, its a shame we cant keep up this attitude all year round tho :D

Merry christmas folks :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

X-mas annoyes the hell out of me because everyone has to pretend to be HAPPY:D :D:D:D:D u end up going insane , especially as no-one really happy "ohhhh ye socks!- thanks aunty" thats not a joke i really did get ****ing socks once grrrrrrr hate it :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

well imagine if there was on xmas! wow.. boring, sameo year round.

I love christmas and always have, and probably always will. It depends how you were brought up, I had the ideal childhood, want rich, but it was loving, and christmas was a time when our whole family got together.

Other than that we rarely saw them... besides funerals, weddings and easter and summer get togethers. You have an excuse to talk to people you havent seen for months, catchup, exchange gifts to show you really care about family & friends.

Having a problem with christmas is fine, just dont ruin it for the rest of us. Allot of people hate christmas, because they JUST DO! :sigh:

Christmas may be commercialised, what about easter and halloween. I dont know where you live, but near me, public transport is always crowded on a Sunday, and the roads are jammed as people try to get to the Blanch Center, shopping is shopping and if xmas wasnt there, im sure the corporates would come up for another event to get us to spend our money frantically :)

Xmas is escapism, and allot of people enjoy that. They forget their worries and abandon their normal routine and concentrate on what makes them feel happy. Whether that be a rest from work/school, getting plastered on xmas day, enjoying preparing a meal, indeed eating this meal :D, the exchanging of gifts, the meeting of old friends, the company, the good will and the spirit of the holiday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭GUI

well said stan..

xmas is a kick back and relax time..
    like i LOVE xmas and always will..

spend time with family and friends..
    break from normal bit of life..
    some excitement in the air.

the presents bit is just a bit of fun and
    i understand xmas is commercialised to new levels
    with the world we live in but
    its time to catch up with ur family and do stuff
    you couldnt do any other time of the year!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

The crowds in the Blanch Uggh the're horrid I went in there just one or two days ago and it was so packed ohh god horrid all the people!!:( , had to get out quickly cant stand x-mas. All this commercial side of things has nothing to do with the actuall religious reason for the whole thing.

Not that it matters to me since im atheist:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Chada

lol, i dont mind christmas tbh its not bad craic, excuses 2 go out adn use mistle toe :p, but i cant stand the musi, prolly cos i hear it every second of every hour when i go 2 work!!! damn u dunnes stores!! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 17,038 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Originally posted by Darth Homer
    Christmas rocks .... free beer everywhere you go !! What more could you want ?

I second that, and if i could, i'd 3rd 4th AND 5th it!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by pyure

4. telling children that santa claus isnt real

You are an ass.

Christmas rocks. I love it, but I dont go all around the place shoving it in peoples faces. If you hate Christmas grand just dont bitch about it to me. Begrudge it in silence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by Grimes
    Hello again boardsbuddies
    IS there anyon else out there who hates Xmas. I mean for me its the worst time of the year. Reasons:
    1- Cold days on crowded buses trying to cram in some shoppin between work and college.
    2- Everyone pretending to be happy when they are clearly not
    3- The complete boredom between 21st and 31st
    4- Life stops for a day for a holiday thats just a reason to exchange plesantries with family members.
    5- TV sucks
    6- Money

Is there anyone else who hates Christmas?

Signed
    Grimes the Grinch
    try exchanging places with me, you'd see what a truely fcucked up crim .....
    cant be ****t typing the rest of this, i'm off 2 bed...
    the point i was trying to make is that my crimbohas been almighty sucky so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Durden

Christmas is cool... Then again I do know the odd sort of people WHO REALLY ARE HAPPY AT CHRISTMAS! Well, most of them... and one more this year! Go improving emotional states!!!