Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The things we used to say.

• 16-12-2002 12:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭

Do you remember those 'vogue phrases' that used to go round from time to time when you were younger?

They seemingly came from no-where, infested the popular lexicon of the playground for a few months, and then faded away until only the nerds were using them.

Examples of this from my childhood were:

'Diggy'- when something was particularly good.

'Joey Deacon' or 'Joey'- accompanied by non-PC 'retarded' hand movements to insult a foe.

[to] 'bang' [someone] - to assault someone.

Shouting 'Forrrrrrp!' when a chubby individual was sighted. (Again highly non-PC)

What were yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

"Magic!"(thumbs up) Selwyn Froggit style.

Seemed to last but one summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

"She's a spunk!" after neighbours came into the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Tails

psyche!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

Pimps (as in that was easy!)

Rare (as in that was good)

Gift (as above)

Bombers (name for anyone called Tom)

Pete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Runfree

like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

Gooney MacMuppet (plonker)
    Chicken MacSandwich (as above)

shly one (deadly)
    total shly one (even better than above)

silky (scumbag - due to the shiney tracksuits they used to wear)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

All these still exist in a place called Wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Superfurry

No-one's ever called a "gick-na" anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by TinCool
    silky (scumbag - due to the shiney tracksuits they used to wear)
    Another on that's gone out of usage and along the same lines .... 'tracker-knacker'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

'Class' as in something is good
    'Ace' as in something is good also :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

"'Class' as in something is good
    'Ace' as in something is good also"

People on the outskirts of Dublin say these under the impression that they're true phrases...

"Pimps (as in that was easy!)"

Ever talked to any kids in the country lately? That one still happens too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by sceptre
    "Magic!"(thumbs up) Selwyn Froggit style.

Seemed to last but one summer

About as long as the series then! Great sitcom, well if
    you're 13 anyway...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Sketch - Look out, Theres a member of the establishment approaching!

D'ye want yer go? - Sir, would you like to settle this disagreement in a physical contest?

Bunk off - Ok, this word is probably still in use, but why why why why why did northsiders call it 'bonk'? Ill never forget hearing a mate of mine from the northside saying "yeh, i was on the bonk" and for about 5 minutes not realising that he was just on the lam from school :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Caught Rapid pronounced 'caw rapih' meaning to be witnessed doing something embarrasing or illegal by a peer or authority figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

"Yore mah's on de game"

"Swivel on it"

Ah, memories.

Originally posted by Dustaz
    Sketch - Look out, Theres a member of the establishment approaching!
    In my area that was "Edgy" ie. "Someone keep edgy" or "Is someone on edgy?"

Other word I remember - "Blootered" "Schwalleyd" "steamin" - all meaning "drunk".

The verb "fight" could be summed up by a simple "tan". ie. "Ah'll ****n tan ye, ye wee ned"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Originally posted by Gordon
    "steamin"

still used isn't it ?
    well in Scotland it is anywho.

member rapa or rapit = sumthing brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

Ill be dug owa ya (Ill be dug out of you) when threatning to thump someone.
    gonk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Haha I just remember my favourite. When playing football and signalling your teammates to go in hard on the opposition:

"GO TO WAR ON DEM!"

Rofl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

hey ozpass,

"Joey Deacon' or 'Joey'- accompanied by non-PC 'retarded' hand movements to insult a foe."

Where did you get the name from?

We had the exact same thing only the name was 'Fergal Sheeran' or just plain old 'Fergal'.

we also had "that's rail cool - CIE rail cool"

Hand gestures also featured a lot in lovely Laois.

Memories.:)

gogo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

Where did you get the name from?

As near as I can tell, gogo, from my limited research, Joey Deacon was a high profile cerebral palsy sufferer from the early 1980's. The Cruelty of The Playground™ quickly degraded his name to an insult levelled at other kids less proficient than oneself at football etc.

I assume Fergal Sheeran was an Irish contemporary of the aforementioned 'Poor Joey'. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Dustaz
    D'ye want yer go? - Sir, would you like to settle this disagreement in a physical contest?

Still used afaik
    Bunk off - Ok, this word is probably still in use, but why why why why why did northsiders call it 'bonk'? Ill never forget hearing a mate of mine from the northside saying "yeh, i was on the bonk" and for about 5 minutes not realising that he was just on the lam from school :) [/B]

Cause the word is "bonk"!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

some phrasiological expressions i remember using/being used back in the day...

ye spanner..eejit
    ye two-litre...eejit
    ye helmet...eejit
    get lost...that was always followed by a slap if said to yer parents
    scobeys...those with the silky tracksuits
    go swivel on it
    oh...YONKS, eg that was yonks ago ye spanner...

sure there's rakes more

I still say 'yonks' quite regularly. *shame* I'm from Manchester though, does that excuse me?

I'll get me coat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by Mr.Applepie
    Still used afaik

Cause the word is "bonk"!!!!

Damn right. That's what I used, although I am from the Northside.

"Bunk" sounds like something English kids would use, or possibly people on home and away.

Another one I recal is "Huddas" - another word for "silkies" or scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    Damn right. That's what I used, although I am from the Northside.
    Aye Im from the northside also. Some southside kiddy on the "bonk" probably heard some northsider say it but being from the southside and having and the complete inability to talk properly ie like northsiders;) they prenounced it "bunk":rolleyes:
    Another one I recal is "Huddas"
    I remember huddas. That was a great word. I used to have a hudda or two back in the day.

Thinking about it i still use about have of these words

Mr.Applepie - Trying to escape the early 90's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭rachel

''Nigs''
    although i still use that a lot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Mr.Applepie
    Aye Im from the northside also. Some southside kiddy on the "bonk" probably heard some northsider say it but being from the southside and having and the complete inability to talk properly ie like northsiders;) they prenounced it "bunk":rolleyes:

No , i think its much more likely that the word is actually bunk and you northsiders changed it to bonk without caring that 'bonk' means something else alltogether.....come to think of it, its probably what yis did when you were on the mess from school :)

Bonk meant shag in my olden days. I think it was an English term though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Hmmm..... well it was always bonk for me. Only twats use bonk as a term for a shag ;)
    Otherwise I'd just say "On the hop" for goin on the bonk! It's all gettin confusing now...

Yeah, "bonk" was a kind of wanky, yuppie English phrase for getting one's leg over.

Example: "Blaady Hell Gordon! Dustaz bonked squiffy!"

Oh ya indeed ozpaahs, end thet ewld lyoony doctah, my gawd what a blue collahr workar whot whot? He bonked bubbles I heard. whot? whot??

Wher is mhy piype tobacco James, oh and take me to the races would you ewld bean hmm? I have a farthing placed on the young bullhorn Mcwhinkle Rotterdam in the 2:45 at Haitchebury.

You mean the guy with the Douglas Bader style 'tache?

"Ooooommmnh! Gretchen you fox!" (with associated wink wink action)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Conversly, some people speak in proper English and abhor such euphamisms ;)

TO be quite honest I can't remember them and they're probably not worth remembering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭evie

Fla - an aestheticaly pleasing member of the opposite sex

Stella - a knacker with big hoopy earings and her hair tied up on top of her head!
    Jag - another word for score
    Mog - very unaesthetically pleasing member of the human race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

go away u spingle !

meaning "go away you gobshíte!"

no-one ever says "class" or classic anymore!

or ya mupweed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Obviously bunk is right.
    But it's been replaced with "on the hop" now.

"D'ya want yer go" is still used too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

ah i remember the days when i said "Rad"....
    i still have no idea what i ment by that.
    but i seemed to use it in context with most things i said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Ixidor

thats what she said....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

Originally posted by Tyrrial
    ah i remember the days when i said "Rad"....
    i still have no idea what i ment by that.
    but i seemed to use it in context with most things i said

Rad, as in short for Radical.

Still remember Micky Márbh as another name for a Dublin suburb.