Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Ad on Telly Today?

• 03-12-2002 12:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭

Well come on then what do we think are the best ads on TV at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

the celebrations ad with the toys.

The one where the toy is playing the drums all the time and then he gets shot by the green toy and then they open a pack of celebrations.

The best by far i have seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

the one where the guy isnt looking where he is driving and he hits the mother and child and kills the child. very powerfull advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

Originally posted by irishgeo

The one where the toy is playing the drums all the time and then he gets shot by the green toy and then they open a pack of celebrations.

i think that add is fairly funny funny too. The nike add is funny enough aswell. Theres a good few more, but i can't think of them at the mo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

i love the smirnoff ice ones - the new black one where he says the new smell is from his new girlfriend class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭JessieG

i must say i love the blue wicked vodka ones....those lads crack me up especially the one where they are on holiday and pour apple juice in there mates bed.

genius!!!

haha or the one where they r all waiting in their mates house cleaning when he comes back with his girlfriend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Saw a fantastic ad. during the Liverpool V Man U. game the other day..

It was for Lynx..
    Man Sprays Lynx.
    Mosquito bites man.
    Frog eats Mosquito.
    Old Man eats frog.
    Woman jumps old man's bones (Lynx effect)
    Old Man dies of heart attack.
    Old Man gets buried and decomposes.
    Worms eat old man.
    Bird eats worms..
    You get the picture!
    Brilliant..

yeah that is a great ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by Krusty_Clown
    Saw a fantastic ad. during the Liverpool V Man U. game the other day..

It was for Lynx..
    Man Sprays Lynx.
    Mosquito bites man.
    Frog eats Mosquito.
    Old Man eats frog.
    Woman jumps old man's bones (Lynx effect)
    Old Man dies of heart attack.
    Worms eat old man.
    Bird eats worms..
    You get the picture!
    Brilliant..

Think it finished

Worms eat old man.
    Worms gets put into Tequila bottle.
    Guy drinks Tequila.
    Birds in pub jump him......

Best ad IMHO is the one where the kid and mum get knocked down by that Megane. If that doesn't make people sit up and take notice....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

that lynx one is the mutts nuts:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

There is a great one for T-Mobile(i think).Ive only ever seen it twice
    As most of you probably know all the big hotels in the UK have a porn film pay per view service in the rooms.A customer calls up an embarrased female employee to sort out the bad picture on the porno flick he has just ordered.However he isnt at all ashamed of this and is more concerned with not letting her see his unfashionable out of date mobile of yesterday.
    Funny stuff:D

I also like those Malibu ads set in the Carribean.
    "You,give me road rage!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

both of those are great ads. other favourites of mine include the Carphone Warehouse ad with the phone being made homeless and the great ad with the old couple sitting down for dinner and the old man takes all the gravy so his wife tells him she's pregnant. ROFL :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

its gotta be that cheesy one were there all so happy they got there new ringtones
    has to be a pisstake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

The one where some fella is walking across the road typing a text and the van smashes into him is a fairly powerful advert...

one I hate though is that bloody ringtone one, where everybody's dancing to their new tones...jeesus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Must say the Regaine ads are quite funny too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lemondrop

Originally posted by irishgeo

The best by far i have seen.

I wouldnt call it the best add. maybe most effective or powerful but not best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

BBC NI homepage is without a doubt the greatest work of genius seen this century, followed closely by Go Walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

The BBCi "ads" are quite good too

I have to mention the add for the new eircom phone with the Freddie mercury song in the background where yer wan (played by pat short??) is hanging out the washing and yer man ( also played by pat short?) is hanging out of the next door window ringing yer wan, and she puts the phone in the bra hanging on the line which shakes as it rings....
    Well it's good when you see it:D
    mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

The Toyota "Bugger" add is very good. It is a few years old but gets a run every no and again. Set in the Australian outback and featuring a red pick up truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

The cartoon guy that doesn't like paying for his telephone bills and gets everyone to phone him back. He also watches his neighbours telly with his binoculars.

Don't have a clue who its for though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by Gordon
    The cartoon guy that doesn't like paying for his telephone bills and gets everyone to phone him back. He also watches his neighbours telly with his binoculars.

Don't have a clue who its for though.
    NTL ;)

I like the one with the jedi and the vampire "you don't want to eat that" " i don't wan to eat that" "heh sucker" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by azezil

I like the one with the jedi and the vampire "you don't want to eat that" " i don't wan to eat that" "heh sucker" :)

Yay! I cut that :)

(ok, i know its only one shot, but its all in the shot selection lads :P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

The Miller ad with the gardenere
    Top class ;)

saw the celebrations ad last nite quite funny i have to say

Originally posted by JessieG
    i must say i love the blue wicked vodka ones....those lads crack me up especially the one where they are on holiday and pour apple juice in there mates bed.

genius!!!

i have to 2nd u on that. Those ads r the best!! All of them r pure funny!!

Just watchin the box there and saw some more pure funny adds!! Theres that add on Trouble for the "Whos da man" think. They have this english farmer guy and he's just talking away to himself. Then goes over to the chicken coop and says "whats up, chicks" and then is like "she says to me whos the man, and i say, i'm the man and yur my main chicken!" its pure funny, the accent that he has and the way he says it. Also one of the crunchy nut corn flakes adds. The one where the fella comes in and gets the crunchy nut corn flakes and then goes for the milk and its drops and smashes. Its shows his face and he's like distrawt and then starts crying and hits his head off the fridge. Its pure funny!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 passthesalt

i dont know if this ad is onTV but i saw it when i went to the cinema the other day and the whole place cracked up when they realized what it was for...and that it wasnt taking the p!ss.

basically its two cailíns in a laundrette and one is reading the lonely hearts column of the paper, lookin for lurrrve, so anyway she starts reading out one of the ads to her friend and its all "looking for long term relationship, willing to devote my life to you" the pair of them are gasping and swooning all over the shop "oh, thats so romantic, what's his name?" the friend says. 'J.C.'...'Jesus Christ'!!!!!

this is a serious ad! bloody unbelievable.

i wish they'd put in some sort of joke like "we can 'hang around' together"...geddit?....'hang' around?.....ah jayzus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

The Smirnoff Black Ice one with the guy sitting in first class on a plane is pretty good.