Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shearers goal

• 02-12-2002 2:46pm

has to be up there with some of the best. what a goal!!!!!!! sheer brilliance. no deflections, no hitting the post and in. Just a magnificent strike from a truly fantastic striker. sweetest volley ive ever seen.

what would you give it out of 10 10 votes

0% 0 votes
    10% 1 vote
    30% 3 votes
    60% 6 votes

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Shearer class alright, still a thug for his elbow!! :D but was one of the best volleys I have see for a while.

Would rate it along side the likes of Van Basten, Di Canios scissors and of course that frenchman in certain fa cup final against the pool - oh ah ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

what a sweet goal - just a perfect volley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Good goal alright but it's not worth a 10, not as good as that goal from the corner in the world cup, can't remember that gus name. Was it for Uruguay ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

nice goal alright he's a bit of a prick personally i think but one of the greatest strickers ever in the english league loke how many goals does he have alltogether 300+ i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Fantastic goal alright 9/10 but if Didi Hammans shot had gone in yesterday I'd have given that 10. What a lovely curve...! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

bastairdo shearer,
    4 minutes away from sitting on top of Liverpool,
    still the Meseyside derby is set up nicely for 3 weeks time,
    everton will get another chance to topple the reds.
    It'll be a blue blue christmas in Liverpool!

keep on dreamin' there knobbles itll never happen again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Everton have just had the best run they are likely to have in the premiership for a long time. Liverpool are coming out of their bad patch, Everton haven't a anr orb shaped ball of ice in hades' of winning. :)

yeha but if they even go ahead of the pool in the table it will be like them winning the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

liverpool coming out of their bad patch?
    they slap bang in the middle of it imo.

Everton will drop away soon enough but i wouldnt be surprised to see em ahead of liverpool for a while :p

yeah there is no evidence of liverpool coming out of the bad patch it has to be said - have to wait and c what the result is on saturday methinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

You Liverpool fans were all saying the same thing about last weekends game a week ago. You will never learn! I would not be all that confident of beating Everton if I were you. Even when Everton were fighting relegation Liverpool always made hard work of their Derby games. Now Everton are a good side and are top of the form table despite that loss against Newcastle. I would take nothing for granted if I was you. Just think back to a few weeks ago when an awful City team played United off the pitch on the day. Anything can happen in a Derby.

this is very true waylander

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭spanner_head

I'd give shearers goal about 9/10. It was excellent.

Also, did ye see Villa's goal against the ar$e on Saturday. Yer man Hitz-el-burger (dunno how to spell) scored a stunner too.
    I'd give that goal 9/10.

They said on Sky last night that that goal was faster than Shearers too!

I'm not bothered if Everton don't get above Liverpool in the next month but to win at Anfield would be the sweetest after such a great start to the season. I sense your fear!

that is cos it smells like poo knobbles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

Brilliant! Nuf said!

sweetest volley ive ever seen.

What about Zidanes last year?

Originally posted by johnnynolegs
    What about Zidanes last year?

Zidanes was superb however it was the way shearer attacked the ball that clinches it for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭peeve

what about the technique of zidane? Shearers volley was class but zidanes was unbelievable-and the confidence to try that in the champions league final? (of course that does give him an edge but zizus volley still better)

Originally posted by tipp_Gunner
    Zidanes was superb however it was the way shearer attacked the ball that clinches it for him.

Im sorry tipp but i have to disagree Zidanes movement positioning and just the pure technique in the volley was pure class - and in a champions league final aswell wow wow wow

Originally posted by tipp_Gunner

... the way the ball came over to shearer it was there to be attacked. The ball over to Zidane was far more awkward and far more difficult to connect with but he made it look effortless. Now that was 10/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

The ball to Zidane was behind him, traveling at a sluggish pace and above hip height. To shape his body the way he did to volley that poor excuse for a cross was brilliant. Shearer's volley was more spectacular to watch because of the 70+mph pace he put onto it, but Zidane's was harder technically.

If we're talking about magnificent goals, few for me will ever beat Bergkamp's strike against the Argentines at France 98. Bringing down a 70m pass, flicking it around a defender and half-volleying into the top corner, all with his right foot...pure genius.

True octopus true it was a great goal i have to say

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

He scored didn't he? Well thats all that matters. I'll give him a ten (even though he's a hateful príck imo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Originally posted by spanner_head
    I'd give shearers goal about 9/10. It was excellent.

Also, did ye see Villa's goal against the ar$e on Saturday. Yer man Hitz-el-burger (dunno how to spell) scored a stunner too.
    I'd give that goal 9/10.

They said on Sky last night that that goal was faster than Shearers too!

yeh, oul der hammer is gonna be some feckin player isnt he! quality goal, he can fairly hit a ball