Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think are liverpools chances tonight ?

• 12-11-2002 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭

Just wanted to gauge peoples opinions on Liverpools chances tonight

I'm not too confident , but if they lose they'll move into UEFA cup and can concentrate on premiership,

If they win roll on the 2nd league phase :)

Will Liverpool beat Basle and go through ...? 12 votes

Yeah, no problem
    0% 0 votes
    Ehm , not a chance
    100% 12 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

I quite fancy them to go through, prefer them having to win them game than needing only a draw, means that GH will have to field a team that will attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

It's going to be a tough one, I think they will do it though, just barely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Humphrey

Yeah right - ABL here.

I hope they crash out.

Then lose there confidence a fade until mid table in the premiership where they belong as minus
    owen thats all they are- on mid table team.

And before you liverpool heads start waffling the
    season isn't even half over.

H.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Have a feeling its going to be one of those nights for liverpool,and there going out !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

Nobody mentioned the season was over yet. PLANK! I suppose the fact that Liverpool have conceded less goals than their main rivals has niothing to do with the fact that they're top. And last I heard Owen plays up front. That would imply they are also strong in other parts of the field too.

Back to the thread, I'm not committing myself but I think the 'Pool are at there best when it's a must win situation. Like against Roma last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

haha minus owen thats all they are - what about when owen didn't score in those first seven games of the season oh wait they were still unbeaten then weren't they oh yeah duh............

anyway i think they'll get through tonite - can't c basle scoring a goal really plus everytime they have been beaten this season they have won the next game......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

No problems at all. They could not have repeat of the performance agaist Basel at Anfield when nothing would go in so i say a 2-0 or perhaps even 3-0 to liverpool.

we'll see who is a PLANK tonight jonno ya loser!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

When Liverpool played them at Anfield they could have won by five or six goals.

A winning margin of half that is well within their reach tonight!

who do u support then humphrey?????

Do I really need to say -- Man U of Course

ah right that explains it then

Originally posted by johnnynolegs
    ah right that explains it then

Hey Dont sterotype all Man U fans just because of this jackass.

sorry sposs no offence intended it wasn't the fact that he is a united supporter but the fact that he said "Do I really need to say " and then followed that by " Man U of Course "

do u c my point now

Yea apologies :):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭LizardKing

As far as the Poll is going , not much to go by

its currently around 75 % in favour of the Pool

Lets hope the majority are right

haha no probs

anyway i can c them hopefully winning 2 perhaps 3 nil

Listen here Sposs watch your mouth.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

*Sitting back watching Humphrey*

Twat, cop on, stick to the ****n thread, we ain't doing so well 8 points off the bloody lead, throwing stones in glass houses and all that stuff........

*says he!!!*:D

Originally posted by Humphrey

Or What?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Should be a cracker lads alright, in one way I want ye to go through as it will keep your minds off the league abit, as the Uefa really is pale in comparison.

I reckons ye will sneak it 2-1, with Heskey fallin over the ball into the net!!!

Gwan the Basle!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

oooh threats over the internet - i'd say sposs is quivering in his boots. So what'd you think of the derby result then Humphrey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Humph, stopping playing the role of plonker newbie!

I wish I could be more confident, sure Liverpool hammered
    Basel at Anfield without winning but they (Basel) will be tempted to pack the defence and play for a 0-0. Mind if they do and then a goal
    slips through....I hope the Reds get the rub of the green they so lacked last time.

A win, just.

Mike.

Well would ya look at that, yop has handed on the mantle to humphrey.

[Handshake]
    Congrats yop, good to see.
    [/Handshake]

Welcome to the boards Humphrey, enjoy your stay...

G'wan the pool 1-0, 92nd minute, Vladimir Smicer from the edge of the box.

Hopefully anyway coz I have training till after 9 and shall miss most of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    Well would ya look at that, yop has handed on the mantle to humphrey.

Was considering mentioning that myself until I saw:
    Originally posted by yop
    *says he!!!*:P

...and decided not to ;]

3-0, G'wan teh pool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

3-0 all right Gwan the Basle....

Jebus i have never seen a more inept team at least when arsenal or utd get hammered they try and play some sort of football and not that long ball crap.

Also i have a job and know what it is WTF is Traores job ,??does he have a purpose playing football???

Kdja

3-3 I knew it, I just knew it :mad:

They played a blinder in the first half and all credit to them.
    An heroic second-half from the Pool but even as they drew level
    I did'nt think they'd do it.

Oh well Just the Premiership this season then...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Well my blood pressure is gone critical again. 3-0 at half time we deserved to be loosing by more. Second half not much better but we managed to pass the thing instead of hoofing it long and got it back to 3-3. A true rollercoaster of a game but alas thats it over and out. I think Houllier got it wrong tonight leaving Heskey on the wing when he would have been more effective up front imho. Smicer no matter how many goals he scores still will never rate it in my books.

Anyway its the UEFA now, may and go and win it seen as there nout else to do :)

Best team went though at the end of the night anyway :(

YNWA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Decent game in the end.

Basle played very well.

kdja

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by Ronan|Raven
    Best team went though at the end of the night anyway :(

agreed. *sighs*

good comeback...pity Basle scrambled it clear in the last minute...

Hard luck lads, thought ye fucers were goin to make it their for a while , they played unreal in the 1st half BUT in the end I think they deserved to win, ye were extremly shapeless and lacking of alternatives.

T4TF - Couldn't be arsed arguing tbh - more entertaining to watch others do it!! :D Yall need the training if this footie match ever goes ahead!!!

Anyway such is, yer out, at least there is another shot at the plastic......:p

Hope Newcastle make it through now, if they do it will be as far as the 2 of us go, not too sure about Arse, they could go further.

Anyone see Crespos headers, great finishing

Gwan Basle

HA HA HA. yop and all the rest of you you is a twat now.!!!

Once again Ha Ha.

Also lads I had a good laugh this morning when I read the Sun.

It said:
    BUT WE WILL RETURN TO RULE EUROPE VOWS HOULLIER.

I thought that was very funny.

Maybe yous will rule the losers League in Europe.

H.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭spanner_head

Those type of cup games should come with a warning I think.
    It knocked about 10 yrs off me.

I knew it was too big a mountain to climb.

Their 3 strikers destroyed us.

I don't agree with Smicer at all but I think he did have a good game.

Dudek saved our a$$ a good few times.

So many maybes, maybe if he changed the system earlier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Also lads I had a good laugh this morning when I read the Sun.

Jasus, a Sun reader, but then again why am I surprised?? Did you get a free crayon to colour in a picture of Beckham by any chance?

I'm gutted , nearly had a brain haemorrhage watchin game, it had everything the depths of despair in first half to the nearly gettin the fourth in final minutes.....

Liverpool did themselves no favours in first half, but showed some class to come back in the end. They can hold their heads high and concentrate on Premiership and unfortunately UEFA cup

Roll on Sunderland at the weekend...

TwoSheds

Whats wrong with reading the Sun?

I always read the Sun for Sport.
    I read the Irish Times for Business etc
    And the register for my tech news.

I suppose you are just one of those snobby people that I just dont understand and dont want to.

And also for all you people on this thread you are giving me stick. Liverpool and Manu fans always have a bit of banter at each other its part of the game.

And if yous be really quite about this I had conflicting thoughts about liverpool getting that last goal.

aaaaaagggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

and the worst thing is i didn't even see the second half i only saw the first were they were trounced

we know always have banter humphrey that is exactly what this is

anyway i have one thing to say :

If heskeys shot hadn't been brilliantly saved onto the bar liverpool would not have gone out

This might sound a bit strange coming from a Liverpool fan but
    I'm hopin Man U win the Champions League now for the following reasons

- Roy Keane as captain Lifting the Trophy (as an Irish Player)
    - They'll need some consellation when Pool lift the Premiership
    - Then next year we can take the Champions League title from
    them :)

Funny man LizardK :p

haha clever boy lizardking

but i think the gooners are gonna lift it this year and i think it is gonna be them against man u in the final hows about that

Originally posted by LizardKing
    This might sound a bit strange coming from a Liverpool fan but
    I'm hopin Man U win the Champions League now for the following reasons

- Roy Keane as captain Lifting the Trophy (as an Irish Player)
    - They'll need some consellation when Pool lift the Premiership
    - Then next year we can take the Champions League title from
    them :)

Good stuff there Lizard King dude.

I don't agree with the roy keane bit as I don't like the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭dougal

Gerard Houllier hasn't a clue tactically is all I have to say!

Originally posted by yop

T4TF - Couldn't be arsed arguing tbh - more entertaining to watch others do it!! :D Yall need the training if this footie match ever goes ahead!!!

No need to argue, I was congratulating you on your more mature attitude on the boards.

On topic, Liverpool had a poor first half and didn't play much football, second half they turned it around and played some good stuff, keeper made a cracking save to deny Heskey but that's his job. Uefa cup should now be used IMHO to blood the younger players who haven't played European footy yet, will be a good set-up for them next year.

Sunderland 0 Liverpool 2

players are gonna be very tired this weekend after last night i would say they mite just scrape the win on sunday 2-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Seeing as you were all predicting two and three goal victories last night I won't read too much into predictions for the weekend. Also heskey may have had a shot saved, but Dudek made a save with his head after the ball had gone past his outstreched hands in the second half. i also think the keeper was unlucky with the peno rebound. He seems to be a fine keeper.

Originally posted by dougal

5 trophies in one season?

What a strange conclusion to come to I think.

Originally posted by dougal

Sadly I'm starting to have doubts of my own, it was no way to mark 4 years in solo charge at Anfield. Houllier has done some great things for the club which have made them serious contenders in the English game but not, dispite one UEFA cup, in Europe. Yeah I know they beat the likes of Roma and did well generally but the success was 90% sweat and 10% artistry.

The thing is I belive Liverpool have the players but Houllier is instinctivly a conservative chap which is why Jari Litmanans stay was so frustrating for him as well as us.

They could cut loose but he wont let them, last night was instructive, Heskey on the wing again Smicer up front with Owen was maddness, but he did it because he was more interested in trying to protect the left flank than have Heskey make space up front for Owen, while Smicer should have been given a free role.

This was a winner takes all game, and attack is the best form of defence but Houllier does'nt see the game like that. We may well win the League but never the CL unless Houllier is willing to change. Rant over. :(

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Houllier started with the basics and started building Liverpool from the back.
    Best defence in the premiership for the past number of years and he continued that with Biscan, Dioup [sp?], Cheyrou

We just dont have the attacking players in our squad.
    Partridge is out on laon...Litmanen is gone...Duff is..well on the list! :p
    Maybe Ronaldinho...*wishes*

It so obvious we need the midfield winger.
    Smicer was never up to the job and neither is Berger and he hasn't been for a while now.
    Gerard Houllier hasn't a clue tactically
    Maybe not for being on the offensive but defensively he's spot on.

There's the problem. He's TOO good defensively.