Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicca/Paganism

• 29-10-2002 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering, being Halloween is upon us i thought i would do some research into Wicca etc... Bassically its Paganism and as Celts it is our original religion etc... Anyway i discovered some interesting things i did not know.. most obviously that its not evil in any way and those that consider themselves Wiccan are not Devil worshipers, in fact they dont even believe he exists and is a Christian fabrication they are welcome to keep.

Anyway just curious, i know there are Irish Wiccan's out there so just wondering are any of them boards posters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Batfink

I learnt how to read palms yesterday off some Wicca website while in work getting paid over time. So I'm all for learning more about wicca and getting paid for it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

Originally posted by Saruman
    Just wondering, being Halloween is upon us i thought i would do some research into Wicca etc... Bassically its Paganism and as Celts it is our original religion etc...
    It's the same religion that the pre-Christian Celts practised? So they do human sacrifices then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

nope... i think thats a myth probably spread by the Christian church when they were busy burning witches.

The only mention of sacrifice is the sacrifice of the land etc during harvest. In fact Samhain which is the time period or whatever they call it is what we are in now.. including Halloween which supposedly is the end of the harvest or beginning maybe.. i dont know but its something like that.

try the following links
    www.wicca.com (irish one)
    www.wiccan.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Apparantly Wicca is more a way of living, that is all about the earth and it's power, and respecting nature and all those in it. Don't do sh*t to other people unless you want sh*t to happen to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by koneko
    Don't do sh*t to other people unless you want sh*t to happen to you.

More specifically : "An ye harm none, do as ye will"

(or 'feel free to do as you wish as long as it causes no harm to anyone')

Exactly... its all about what goes around comes around which even science has a version of.. you know for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.. same thing.

Their biggest rule seems to be "Harm no one!" [edit] Bard beat me to it and even bothered with the full quote. I stupified it a little! [/edit]

Its like Bhudism in a way, more a way of life and self enlightenment than a religion. Its also like Native American beliefs too.. About affinity with nature and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

nope... i think thats a myth probably spread by the Christian church when they were busy burning witches.
    http://www.digitalmedievalist.com/faqs/sacrific.html
    yes, the Celts do appear to have performed human sacrifice as part of their religious rituals. And, since the Druids were the religious/scholar/priestly social class, they almost certainly would have participated in human sacrifices, and probably officiated at them.
    Celtic paganism wasn't all flowers and tree-hugging...

I'm not accusing the modern day Wiccans of performing human sacrifices or anything like that. Just that saying Wicca is "the religion practised by the ancient Celts" isn't exactly true.

Well well well you learn something new every day.. no sooner have i learnt a little bit about Paganism than it seems the original form did in fact do somethinghorrid like human sacrifice. Though in fairness, so did Christianity if you believe some of the tripe in the Bible. Jews did the same thing. Cant say for sure on any other religion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well not all pagan religions are the same...

just because one 'pagan society' believed in human sacrifice, doesn't mean that the others did.

celtic pagan is quite different from roman pagan from example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Though in fairness, so did Christianity if you believe some of the tripe in the Bible. Jews did the same thing. Cant say for sure on any other religion.

Most of the people in the Bible were Jews. Can't think of any Christians* in there.. Obviously there are none in the Old Testament, where most of the more 'shocking' stuff takes place.

*Christian as in identifying themselves as such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭pepperkin

The modern day form of Wicca was (invented) errr....well, started as a public practice by Gerald Gardner (a crazy man). This has been debated, of course...everything is. But most evidence points to himself being the one to start the trend. In 1954 he published a book called "Witchcraft Today" that gained many followers. He claimed to have been initiated into Wicca and was following old practices, and in truth many of his tenets were based on old Celtic and Norse beliefs and what little we DO know of the Druidic 'religion'. Over time, Wicca (as religions do) fractured and now there are dozens of 'traditions', one of which is closely based on Gardners work and is called "Gardnerian Wicca". There's also Faerie Wicca, Dianic Wicca (based on Diana the Huntress) and others. I wouldn't be surprised to find out that there's a Lemming Wicca, at this stage, as it's become "hip" to be Wiccan and people invent endlessly.
    In my own personal opinion, Gardner was a nut whom was more into starting a cult than an open, loving religion. But, that's just me, and I don't want to debate on the subject, so hate me quietly for that opinion if you must, don't bother flaming me on here. He's called The Father of Moden Wicca, because he either invented it (not that there's anything really wrong with inventing a religion if you are basing it on old religions...) or brought it back to the forefront after decades (centuries) of being hidden. He published his book directly after England repealed their Anti Witchcraft laws. He wasn't the first to try and bring it to the world, several others published books before he did, but he waited until the laws were repealed, hence his success.
    I am a pagan. I am happily pagan, actually :) I just am not "Wiccan". More out of societal bull**** than any serious issue with the word "Wiccan"...however, people hear someone say "Wiccan" and think that horrid movie "The Craft" or some such other teen horror flick that is 90% bullsh|t. On the other hand, what I actually practice is a very odd blend of Celtic and Native American spirituality, so it's not technically "Wiccan" anyway.
    Sooooo...modern day Wicca is not neccessarily the religion of the Ancient Celts, any more than the Catholicism many practice today is the same Catholicism of a thousand years ago. There are tie-ins, of course, but it's not quite the same.
    The Devil, as someone pointed out, is a construct of Christianity. Very true. Actually, the Devil is the Christians taking the Horned God (The god of hunting, death, and rebirth) and making him out to be evil, or so evidence supports. I personally see a LOT of ties between pagan beliefs and Christian beliefs, and current theory (that has been proven, to a point...) is that the Christians, when they were Crusading, 'whitewashed' a lot of pagan beliefs in order to make them easier for the pagans to swallow, and still be faithful to their religion they were killing people to adopt. The Devil, as pointed out, comes straight from pagans and the Horned God, (or think of him as Pan, with the horns and cleft hoofs...well, Pan was in legend a faun!).

The word Wicca has been debated as to where it comes from. Some people say it is derived from "wita", an old english word meaning counselor or wise person. Others say it derives from an old Pictish word for tree. And still others say it comes from an old word for willow.

And naturally, every trad is different. Gardnerian wicca is based on the coven philosophy. You cannot practice alone and intiate onself through studying, and have to move through degrees in the coven.
    The trad of Pecti-Wita is a tradition influenced by the Picts, a pre-Celtic people who warred with the Celts. Pecti-Wita is a Scottish solitary tradition passed on by Aiden Breac, who personally teaches students in his home at Castle Carnonacae, in Scotland. (he is not accepting new students, he's in his 90's.)
    The trad of Seax-Wicca was organized by Raymound Buckland in 1973, he admits he made it up from the ground up, but was heavily influenced by Saxon tradtions and beliefs.
    A solitary tradition merely means you don't have to have a coven to be initiated, and that you don't need to do ritual magick with a high priest and priestess, but can do your own rituals alone (or with your kids, like me :)

More than you ever wanted to know about Wicca, aye?

En sum, if you want to go back to your Celtic roots, go for the aptly named Celtic Wicca. And watch what books you buy, from experience of 15 years of being pagan and buying books I can only warn you that many of them are utter ****e.

I just found this on a website, and figured I'd post it because it explains the "An it harm none" rule pretty darned well (thanks for posting it up to begin with, Bard!)

You Are Not A Real Wiccan If You...
    ... intentionally hurt people. This means physically, mentally, spiritually, or magickally.

... use "black magick". Wiccans don't believe in black magick for that matter, we believe that magick is neutral. This doesn't mean, however, that we use magick to cause bad things to happen.

... use illegal drugs. You don't need to be high to perform rituals or cast spells. Drugs will only make things more difficult for you and even lessen your inner power and energy.

... think you have "powers" because you are studying wicca. Let's be realistic here. Wiccans do not fly (unless they are in an airplane) and they can't change their hair color in the blink of an eye. As for psychic gifts, these really have nothing to do with Wicca.

... sacrifice animals. That's just plain disgusting. Wiccans respect all living things. Besides, the Goddess does not wish blood to be shed in her name.

... tell lies to manipulate another person. Don't try to control people by making them think you have power over them.

... call yourself a warlock (for guys). Warlock comes from ancient covens... it means "Oath-Breaker". Isn't this an insult?

... use Wicca as an excuse to take part in any kind of sexual act (this includes rape). Any kind of magick that involves sex without love is a no-no. Wicca is not some excuse to have sex, it never was. So get that idea out of your minds right now. (this doesn't mean, however, that Wiccans don't see sex as being a beautiful and sacred thing between two people who love eachother)

... drink or use blood in magick. Ok, this is just sick... I'm not going to go here.

... take part in criminal activities.

... distroy or deface the symbol of another religion. Wiccans show respect for all religions. Our religion is not the only way, it is just our way.

... worship Satan. Sorry, Wiccans do not even believe in Satan.

... try to recruit people. Wiccans don't go around trying to get everyone they can to join Wicca. If someone wants to learn about Wicca, they will come to us. You came to my website in your own free will didn't you?

... think you have become a Wiccan overnight. Just because you read a book on Wicca does not mean you are automatically Wiccan.

... think you absolutely have to belong to some coven to be Wiccan. There are many solitaries out there... we perform self dedications to dedicate ourselves to Wicca. (yes I am a solitary) There are Wiccans who do practice in coven settings and they are initiated. There is nothing wrong with either way of practicing... they are just different and each has its own advantages.

... attack people. This doesn't mean you can't defend yourself if you are attacked.

... brag to everyone that you are a witch. Don't just walk up to people and say "Guess what! I'm a witch!". Sorry, this is just going to get you into trouble. Also don't brag to people about your magickal knowledge and tell them you can do all of these wild things (when you probably can't)... this too will also get you into trouble. Wiccans follow the Witches' Pyramid (a creed and stucture of learning that witches follow) which states: To Know, To Dare, To Will, and To Be Silent.

... charge money to help another person through magick or prayer. You should help someone who is in need because it feels good, not because you think you can make a profit from it.

... cast love spells that are directed at a certain person or persons in particular. A love spell is a form of manipulation and that is against the Wiccan Rede. Never, ever cast any spell to make someone fall in love with you or to break two people up. Wiccans do, however, work to bring love into their life... but this is not directed at any person in particular.

"Wait! I thought Wicca was a free belief system. Why are you making all of these rules? "

The statements listed above are not "the rules" of Wicca. They are examples of things that people who have claimed to be Wiccan, have done in the past... and said it was OK to do those things because of their religious choice. Sorry guys, but real Wiccans do not do any of those things. The examples above are all against the Wiccan Rede... the one rule that Wicca does have. Wicca is a free belief system, but that doesn't mean you can do immoral things. The free belief system lies mostly in the ritual techniques and worshiping methods.

What happens if you did something immoral? I'm not going to say that it was OK, but I believe if you learned a lesson from your mistake then you will be forgiven by the God and Goddess. If you didn't learn your lesson and you continue to do immoral things due to your false belief that Wicca is a way to get what ever you want... well then, my friend, you are not a true Wiccan.

Also, on another note, if you do immoral things that are outside of your religion... then please let it be known that you are doing these things because they are your choice. Not because you "have" to do them because you are Wiccan. That's just spreading the misconceptions more. So if you're going to be naughty, don't use Wicca as a safety net.

I cut and pasted this from http://members.aol.com/fadedone33/notwiccanif.html
    I haven't looked over the rest of the page, so I can't say if it's any good, but I love that list :)
    And now, off to my regularly scheduled programming...IE, makng dinner for my kids.

Fantastic Post's there pepperkin. This is what i was looking for, someone who knows what they are talking about and has first hand experience. Amazingly that list you posted, i fall into every catagory with the exception of thinking im wiccan over night... Then again a lot of people do i would think. I doubt i ever will call myself Wiccan but then again im not sure what i am... You could call me a Jedi Knight and i would laugh and say may the force be with you.

Anyway great post and some great info. Im not trying to become wiccan obviously... Im just finding out what i can about it so im not as ignorant as your average person who thinks witches are evil and worship Satan. When obviously this is crap.

Well anyway im going to check out the rest of that site and see what its like.

[edit] just looked at the site.. not bad. Anyway question Pepperkin, do you believe in Tarot and Astrology and stuff like that? Whats your take on it? Personally i dont. Especially Astrology. [/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭regi

I'm sure Talliesin would post if he wasn't on holiday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

No, that's Wacka Wacka Wacka...

But that had to be stopped, 'cos it didn't really go down to well with the new-age Wackans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

edt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Good post Pepperkin

the only thing i did not see there was the 3 fold law,
    that everything you send out into the world every action the effect for good or bad comes back to you times 3.

Yes being Pagan/wiccan is a way of life it makes you constantly question but that means that you are constanly learning

Okay, this is true, I missed the three fold law. That's more a consequence than a "rule" per se, but note taken.
    In the East it's called Kharma and Dharma. The bad things you do, you earn three-fold back...this is Kharma. The good things you do, you also earn three-fold back, this is Dharma.
    Many pagans believe in the three-fold law, or Rule Of Three.
    I agree, I am always learning and I love it :)

But that had to be stopped, 'cos it didn't really go down to well with the new-age Wackans."

Thank you for the fabulous laugh!!! I rolled.
    Then of course ran to share it with several other people :)

Posted by Saruman:

"[edit] just looked at the site.. not bad. Anyway question Pepperkin, do you believe in Tarot and Astrology and stuff like that? Whats your take on it? Personally i dont. Especially Astrology. [/edit]"

Wellllll....I believe in Tarot...if I am the one doing the reading. I just seem to have a knack for the cards. Runestones I've never had luck with, tho I did give them a try.
    But NEVER call one of those Tarot Hotlines!! I worked for one for about 2 months. Now, I was in a minority among my co-workers ANYWAY because I actually KNEW how to read tarot cards (been reading since I was 15, I'm 28 now) and everyone else I worked with hadn't a clue....I helped train them. Mind you, training was about 3 hours of explaining to them how to lay the cards out and explain the by-the-book definitions. I've been reading tarot cards for 13 years now, and I am STILL learning tricks, it's a never ending process. In any case, my job wasn't to answer this poor callers questions, it was to keep them on the line for a minimum of 20 minutes. Since it was $4.99 a minute, that means make the sucker pay $100 to the tarot line I worked for (of which I got $3.)
    Note I said I only worked there for 2 months. That's because my call average SUCKED. I can do a quickie reading (doesn't go into much detail, but good for the poor whom called) in about 5 minutes, meaning most of my calls were between 3-15 minutes. The lower my call average, the less calls I got, as it was obvious to the company I was too nice. So, I quit.
    They don't know how to read, they are trained to STALL STALL STALL (that free 3 minutes they may promise you? In that 3 minutes, they are to be getting your name and address...if you're willing to give it.) They're not trained to read cards, but to learn how to draw out words, and say things 15 different ways to keep you on the line. It's a crappy business, don't ever call one :) (not that you would, since you don't believe in their validity anyway....but for anyone ELSE reading this whom has ever wanted to call one of those lines...)
    I'm good with my cards....I do a lot of readings for people I don't know. The Census lady talked me into giving her a reading when she came by my house to do the Census, etc :) and I am very rarely off. I just have a knack. So, I do believe in Tarot...in limited circumstances. I hope to someday find someone ELSE whom can read well, cuz I can't do readings for myself, and it would be neat to be on the other side of the deck!
    Astrology....another iffy. Not really, and not usually. I do go to Jonathan Cainers website and check out his horoscopes... (http://stars.metawire.com) because that man is good at what he does, and he's actually got about a 95% success rate with my sign, which is astronomical (forgive the pun!!) considering that most horoscopes I have read had about a 15% success rate, which in my book falls under the heading "lucky guess".
    Jonathan is good, and I've sent other people to his site whom SWEAR he has cameras in their house...so...another limited circumstances. I think SOME have a knack for it....and most don't.

As for the list I posted....well, as you said, most people will fall into at least some of the categories, including me. I HAVE intentionally hurt people, not necessarily pre-meditated but it was intentional, because a vengeful witch am I :) I've never done any magickal harm against anyone that I know of, however.
    I've also charged people for my tarot readings. What can I say, I was living on the streets and hungry!
    I've never cast a love spell tho....I can't say it's for the honourable reasons mentioned in her list. It's because I'm a realist. If it's not real, I don't want it. So it's selfishness :)

In any case, I've been pagan over half my life and not once called myself a "Wiccan". You can be pagan and not be Wiccan. Just explore, learn, read, learn, learn, learn (and most of the learning you will do, should you decide to explore paganism will be internal, not external. Self-honesty is a b|tch, but it becomes necessary.) Also, don't forget that just cuz you have an interest and are learning about it doesn't mean you have to BE it. I learned all about the Mormons, but never became Mormon, I was just curious.

And every now and then, notice the trees, earth, and sky, and be glad they are there.

Happy Samhain!

Another top post pepperkin. Like you said, i could learn everything there is to know about paganism/wiccan and probably never consider myself either. Just like being an Egyptologist does not make you Egyptian or believe in any of the Gods like Ra and all of them!

Anyway i read somewhere, may even have been your post... anyway i saw it mentioned that those with gifts should never make personal gain in what they do.. in other words people who charge for tarot readings should not be doing it. Although there is probably nothing wrong with accepting donations from people. Like in the movie "The Gift" where the tarot reader helped catch a murderer but when questioned in court as to how she made a living she denied charging a fee for her readings and instead accepted donations or gifts if offered (which they usually were!). So is that your oppinion or is it an actual rule or unwritten rule? Or is it a case of nice one.. this is my talent so this is my career? For instance that website you posted. For the most part his stuff is free but he has a set charge for info on your love life. As do most Tarot readers in papers/mags... give you a little info but for more call a premium number.

Anyway again, top post! And fair play for not doing the whole conversion thing... i know a lot of other religions would do so.

[edit] By the way, i just looked at my horriscope, both daily, weekly, monthly and yearly and i must say i have never read so much crap in my life!! Not one thing he said.. not one is even close to right about me. Not my personality nor my situation in life nor anything else... either i was born in a Star Sign other than Leo and my birth cert is wrong.. or he is talking through his arse. Thats just me though, i still cant believe in astrology.. i would in tarot cards before i believe in astrology! [/edit]

Ahh, to be having a cool discussion on Hallowe'en :)
    And moving day tomorrow! *pulls hair out and stresses*

Posted by Saruman:

"So is that your oppinion or is it an actual rule or unwritten rule? Or is it a case of nice one.. this is my talent so this is my career?"

Welll....you're not supposed to. It's based on the theory that to take personal gain for your gifts is to be using your gifts for selfish reasons, and that to do so dishonours them and yourself.
    There are those whom believe that do so so, puts you at risk for losing your 'gifts', such as they are. I personally don't believe that, but that is relatively common in some circles.
    I've not actually read it set in stone anywhere, though I'm sure it is SOMEwhere. In any case, I figure the Powers That Be are likely to be a little more forgiving of me should I make sure that my kids are fed, clothed, and etc, than to starve them in some warped sense of honour. Plainly put, I am a single mom, and I needed the money for myself and my kids. I happen to be good at it. In my case, I don't think I would make a career out of my cards, but I will supplement if I have to! It's a lot easier than walking the streets meself :P
    I guess if I screwed up by taking personal gain for my talent at card reading, then I'll find out about it sooner or later, and I'm okay with that.

"[edit] By the way, i just looked at my horriscope, both daily, weekly, monthly and yearly and i must say i have never read so much crap in my life!! Not one thing he said.. not one is even close to right about me. Not my personality nor my situation in life nor anything else... either i was born in a Star Sign other than Leo and my birth cert is wrong.. or he is talking through his arse. Thats just me though, i still cant believe in astrology.. i would in tarot cards before i believe in astrology! [/edit]"

hehehehehe :) Maybe he just writes better for us Cancers :) (I was supposed to be a Leo, tho...born early)
    Well, he's not always right, but he's humourous to read, and I can gain insight from anything. Even the times he's been dead wrong, at least I've found something to ponder and noodle around in my head. And I am addicted to thinking, so maybe I just enjoy that part. I've never taken any advice he's given, so...
    Then of course, there are those whom believe no standard horoscope could ever match ANY person, because of the differences we all have in times and places of birth. They say it all depends on your 'rising' sign and etc. My rising sign is Sagittarius, I think...in any case, I'm skeptical about all that. Maybe because I didn't *choose* (as they say) to be born when I was, I was deliverered by emergency c-section in a last ditch attempt to save my life, 7 weeks early. I haven't found much merit in the whole system, myself.
    There are those whom believe you choose your parents, your circumstances of birth, (into a poor family or rich one, good parents or crappy ones, etc) and your time and place of birth in order to have certain astrological signs. "Life Lessons". You can learn a lot based on whom you're born to. I don't see how one can ethereally choose one's place of birth, as I think that stems more around the parents decisions than the babies....but that's just me. I'm unsure about all that. I think some people probably do choose certain things, but who knows?

But, as long as there are confused people with unhappy love lives, there will be astrologers and tarot readers. If nothing else, it serves as a band-aid for people...doesn't help a lot, but it makes them feel better. Most of my calls were pertaining to the querents love life. (those that weren't, were people asking about money. My usual reply to "will I get more money?" was "not if you call me!")
    I did have one guy call and ask me if his girlfriends baby was actually his. I told him I'm a tarot reader, not a bloody psychic, and that he should ask his doctor for DNA testing, and save his money for diapers and quit calling expensive tarot lines! :)

And a wee bit on today :)

Samhain Eve was the Ancient Celtic new year and belonged to neither the old, nor the new year. This made Samhain an 'in between' time. Celts believed that the door between this world and the fairy world was 'open' on this night so, that beings from either world could freely pass from one world to the other.

The Celts held a 'Feast for the Dead' on Samhain Eve. The traditional meal was prepared. The table was then set--a place setting for all who would partake of the meal and each immediate family member who 'passed over' during the previous year. This was not a solemn affair, but instead a joyous 'farewell' to the departed loved one.

The practice of trick or treating, if I recall correctly, has only been common for the last 80 years or so. It may come from several places and traditions of old.
    An old Irish peasant practice called for going door to door to collect money, bread cake, cheese, eggs, butter, nuts, apples, etc., in preparation for the festival of St. Columb Kill. The custom seems to have originated not with the Irish Celts, but with a ninth-century European custom called souling. Another old tradition that may be connected to this new one was the
    begging for soul cakes made out of square pieces of bread with
    currants. The more soul cakes the beggars would receive, the more prayers they would promise to say on behalf of the dead relatives of the donors.
    In Ireland the greatest assembly was the 'Feast of Tara,' focusing on the royal seat of the High King as the heart of the sacred land, the point of conception for the New Year. In every household throughout the country, hearth-fires were extinguished. All waited for the Druids to light the new fire of the year --not at Tara, but at Tlachtga, a hill twelve miles to the north-west. It marked the burial-place of Tlachtga, daughter of the great
    druid Mogh Ruith, who may once have been a goddess in her own right in a former age.
    Since it marked the eve of the new year, many new years customs have been written down, such as new years resolutions and clearing away the old to make way for the new, both symbolically and physically. It was the time the Sun God was dying, and the Moon Goddess was strongest. Winter Solstice is when the Sun God is reborn, and that's a whole 'nother post :)

There are at least a billion superstitions relating to Samhain...for example, if you born black and orange candles, it will bring you good luck, but if you gaze into a mirror by candlelight after sundown, you will bring yourself bad luck. And many more, some not as fun :)

I love Halloween, it's my favorite holiday :) This was true as a kid, and remains true now.
    In any case, have fun! Put a wee bit of Guinness outside for protection from faerie folk and the dearly (or not so dearly) departed >:)

Where did Trick or treat come from? Simpsons probably has the best answer.. if you saw the show you will know what i mean... though since it concerns witches eating children at Halloween but discovering that if they take candy and stuff instead its much more fun... well you might not like the idea but its pretty funny.

Anyway it sounds like an American invention, much like Santa Clause is (Coca Cola).

The crty of Trick or Treat is definatly an americanism

so Think back to the day when you we out in the pouring rain cheerly tramping form house to house it usually was " help the Hallowe'een party " that was yelled at who ever opened the door.

There was not chocolate but fruit and nuts and sometimes a lolly or two.

You seemed really well informed Pepperkin :)

I wish you the best in your move and in making your house a home.

" May the roof of your house never all in,
    and may those under it never fall out. "

Hallow'een is My favourite time too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Trick or Treat is just a commercialised tradition.

People a few generations back left out a "treat" for the spirits at Halloween. Those who didn't were believed to have a "trick" played on them.

So dressing up as something spooky going from door to door you really should be saying "Treat or Trick"

Actually Bottle_of_Smoke i think i heard something like that, but it was more along the lines of what you said about leaving something out to ward off spirits.. but those who did not do so could expect to have a trick played on them by the spirits.

As I look over old posts and new, including mine own, I realize one very important thing...I use waayy too many smiley faces. They're just so convenient for adding some tacky form of 'body language' such as it is....ahh, well.

"Anyway it sounds like an American invention, much like Santa Clause is (Coca Cola). "

Hate to say it, but Santa Claus is not an American invention....
    Coca Cola does slap Santa everywhere during the winter, but saying they invented him due to that is like saying Linux invented penguins. They're just capitalizing on something that was already there.
    Ahh, capitalism.

Truth is, acc'd to most sources, trick or treating originated in Ireland, not America.

We think Druids believed that on the night before November 1, Lord Samhain called together wicked souls or spirits which had been condemned to live in the bodies of animals during the year which had just transpired. Since they were afraid of these spirits, they chose October 31 as a day to sacrifice to their gods, hoping they would protect them. They really believed that on this day they were surrounded by strange spirits, ghosts, witches, fairies, and elves, who came out to hurt them. In addition to this, they also believed that cats were holy animals, as they considered them to represent people who lived formerly, and as punishment for evil deeds were reincarnated as a cat. All this explains why witches, ghosts, and cats are a part of Halloween today.
    The custom of trick-or-treating and the use of "jack-o'-lanterns" comes from Ireland. Hundreds of years ago, Irish farmers went from house to house, begging for food, in the name of their ancient gods, to be used at the village Halloween celebration. They would promise good luck to those who gave them good, and made threats to those who refused to give. They simply told the people, "You treat me, or else I will trick you!"
    When the Irish came over to America during the Famine, it spread, and mutated, and became what it is today (as any nifty custom will do when brought into a capitalistic society.)

On the other one, link to a site I found on Santa Claus...
    http://www.celebratelove.com/santa.htm

And, the one you may be interested in Saruman...
    http://www.snopes.com/cokelore/santa.asp

"You seemed really well informed Pepperkin"

I read a LOT!!! The library knows me by name.

"I wish you the best in your move and in making your house a home."

Thanks, but the owners broke the house and I can't move in until they fix it. Scream! Naturally this happens the DAY BEFORE I am supposed to move in...already given 30 days notice to current landlord and packed and everything....

Anyway!

coke didn't invent him, but they did invent his current image

Nah, they just capitalized on an already standardized image, helped to be standardized by Thomas Nast...in 1863.
    Coke didn't start using Santa on their winter lineup until the 1930's, and "Twas The Night Before Christmas", which as well as Nasts' work helped contribute to the modern Santa figure, was published in 1922.

Cut and pasted from http://www.snopes.com/cokelore/santa.asp

"Although some versions of the Santa Claus figure still had him attired in various colors of outfits past the beginning of the 20th century, the jolly, ruddy, sack-carrying Santa with a red suit and flowing white whiskers had become the standard image of Santa Claus by the 1920s, several years before Sundlom drew his first Santa illustration for Coca-Cola.

The modern Santa had "elbowed aside all comers" long before the 1940s, and well before Coca-Cola co-opted him as their wintertime advertising symbol.

All this isn't to say that Coca-Cola didn't have anything to do with cementing that image of Santa Claus in the public consciousness. The Santa image may have been standardized before Coca-Cola adopted it for their advertisements, but Coca-Cola had a great deal to do with establishing Santa Claus as a ubiquitous Christmas figure in America at a time when the holiday was still making the transition from a religious observance to a largely secular and highly commercial celebration. In an era before color television (or commercial television of any kind), color films, and the widespread use of color in newspapers, it was Coca-Cola's magazine advertisements, billboards, and point-of-sale store displays that exposed nearly everyone in America to the modern Santa Claus image. Coca-Cola certainly helped make Santa Claus one of the most popular men in America, but they didn't invent him. "

All of the above is why I posted the link, evidently it would have been best to just cut and paste the key parts.

Not that it matters who came up with the modern day Santa, and I'm not trying to argue this to the death...I just love snopes.com and I love to read, so I tend to follow questions like this :)
    Soooo, key parts of url pasted in for those whom didn't read it, and argued with me anyway....

Off with my day!

Santa is Based on St Nicholas, the story goes that he and his wife could not have children and so made and gave away toys to the children that lived near them that were not likely to get any at christmas.

They broke the house lol, well dear better that it is seen to mow then you finding out 6mnth later and having to pay for it yourself.
    Not one house move that i know of goes as planned.
    These things happen for a reason.
    leave it Brigids hands and she'll look after you .

Originally posted by Thaed:

"They broke the house lol, well dear better that it is seen to now then you finding out 6mnth later and having to pay for it yourself.
    Not one house move that i know of goes as planned.
    These things happen for a reason.
    leave it Brigids hands and she'll look after you ."

Got it in one. On the other hand, if it had broken within the first year, it would have been covered under the warranty...*sigh!* The tough part is figuring out where to come up with the months rent for this month that was NOT budgeted.
    But they say everything happens for a reason, aye?

Brigid provides! (so where's my winning lottery ticket?:)

Blessed be...

Originally posted by Mordeth

coke didn't invent him, but they did invent his current image

Oh yeah that i know... But would we have santa clause the way we do today at Christmas if not for them? Very much doubt it. Oh there might be some reference to him but not in the way we have today. So they did in a way invent him as he is today because he bares no resemblence to who he is based on.. I doubt very much St Nicholas was supposed to "Fly" on reindeer etc...

I admit i generalised a bit too much in that statement.

As to trick or treat... i meant more the term than the tradition. I had read in a newspaper (Herald i think) that it was carried from Ireland to the US by emmigrants but it became a US tradition with a new US name.. "Trick or Treat!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Just a few things I want to add to the above (hope I'm not duplicating something I missed when scanning the thread).
    1. As well as the spiritual significance it is worth noting that the slaughter of a large portion of the herd at Samhain and the burning of their bones (which survives into feasting and bonfires [from Middle English "bonefire" - a fire of bones]) had practical value. It was easier to get salted and preserved meat through the winter than a live animal. Hence it made good practical sense to cull some of the herd. And while the fire was seen as being protective to the rest of the herd if you have a whole lot of bones lying around it's more hygenic to burn them than let them rot.

The religious significance attached by both ancient and modern Paganism to various times of the year is always rooted in practical concerns, and it can often help one understand the significance of the Sabbats if one looks at those practical concerns.
    2. One important difference between Wicca and general Paganism is that as well as being a belief system Wicca is a priesthood ("priest" being someone who performs rites, and not necessarily also being a "minister" the way most Christian priests are). This is also true of Druidry and some other Pagan faiths. Hence being a Wiccan, as opposed to a believer in Wicca, involves a commitment that shouldn't be entered into lightly.
    3. Pepperkins list of "what Wiccans aren't" includes the idea that Wiccans don't break the civil laws of the country they live in. While I agree with that in general a commitment to always do what one feels is the moral course of action may require actions of civil disobedience. This isn't to say that Wiccans have to be prepared to commit acts of civil disobedience either, but rather not to somehow discount those who do.
      It is interesting to note that the Wiccan population has both a high number of people who have volunteered for military service and a high number who have been commited anti-war activists. The apparant contradiction stemming from the fact that in the Rede Wicca has a strong moral imperative without a prescribed moral code.
    4. I really hate the word "Wicca"; really it should be "Wiccacraeft" where we have "Wicca" and "Wicca"(male) or "Wicce"(female) where we have "Wiccan", but then I suppose we're stuck with it.

Merry meet, Talliesin!!!

"Pepperkins list of "what Wiccans aren't" includes the idea that Wiccans don't break the civil laws of the country they live in. While I agree with that in general a commitment to always do what one feels is the moral course of action may require actions of civil disobedience. This isn't to say that Wiccans have to be prepared to commit acts of civil disobedience either, but rather not to somehow discount those who do."

Yeah, I agree. I cut and pasted that list from a website, which was simpler than writing one myself (I included the link with the post) so it wasn't MY list specifically, but it was pretty well written.

Regarding civil laws....did you know that in MANY states in the USA, certain forms of....shall we say Bedroom Entertainment is illegal? In Maryland where I live, any position but missionary falls into the "illegal" category. Sooooooooo....Yeah, civil laws get broken sometimes. However, it is sometimes necessary to discern the difference between Morality and Legality...which can be mutually exclusive terms. The grey area is not always well defined, but it does exist.

"I really hate the word "Wicca"; really it should be "Wiccacraeft" where we have "Wicca" and "Wicca"(male) or "Wicce"(female) where we have "Wiccan", but then I suppose we're stuck with it."

*grins* Well, I absolutely loathe the term "Yank" in reference to any and all Americans, but I'm stuck with it....having been raised in a family that preferred to be Proud Southern, being called a Yank is to me about the most serious insult, but Europeans have defined the entire country in that phrase...
    Not that my family supported slavery, but we've been against the capitalistic principles of the "Northerners" that they established during the American Civil War, and that persist to this day.

---Rebel and proud of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 irishunitard

im learning more about wiccan and their beliefs and i can see myself converting someday

This thread is over 7 years old.
    May I suggest that you try the paganism or spirituality forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭CoolGirl101

Saruman wrote: »

Anyway just curious, i know there are Irish Wiccan's out there so just wondering are any of them boards posters?

Yep!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear