Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this true?

• 25-10-2002 3:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭

had a conversation about vomit today,

When you vomit,
    after drinking unfeasible amounts of alcohol,
    and there you see carrots on the ground in front of you.
    you think for a sec in between dry heaves,
    "hold the phone, i havnt had carrots in weeks, what in the blue fuk?"

A girl told me today that it was actually parts of your stomach and it only looks like carrots, something to do with when your stomach is filled with that much alcohol or whatever, the stomach lining starts to break down and it ends up looking like that.

now i was always lead to believe that the stomach just took a really long time to break down and digest carrots, like sweetcorn, and they usually end up sitting in you stomach and actually just stick to the stomach wall.
    after typing that it actually sounds ridiculous....

anyone know if theres any truth behind either of these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

I heard it was some protine thing or other... defo not carrots anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

It must be true as i have never disbelieved anything a panda has told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Tails

I doubt its the actual stomach wall, my guess its the mucus lining the stomach wall which is there to stomach the acid digesting the stomach.

Thank you second level biology!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

stomach lining starts to break down

well thats just bollox im afraid

id go with tails

or at least its what ever you ate during the day that wasnt yet broken down properly by the acid in yer belly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

http://www.madcow.ndtilda.co.uk/chunder.htm

no facts just er fun.....:confused:

http://www.vomit.com/ wow! :eek:

Mike.

"ach, my eyes. the goggles do nothing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Yeah that's bile.
    Not very nice at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I would not know, because i have never gotten sick on the night :)

When i do on very very rare occasions, it usually a morining after affair ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Panda
    anyone know if theres any truth behind either of these?
    I'd like to here from our resident doctor. Well Dr.Loon whats your professional opinion?

Tbh i have no idea. I'm as curious as you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

I got sick this black stuff last time and was just wondering if anyone knows what it might have been :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Black? Probably Guinness, or blood...or both :-D

The 'carrots' are deffo bits of stomach lining. eww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

When you vomit,
    after drinking unfeasible amounts of alcohol

ah ya pussy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by [oeNeo]
    I got sick this black stuff last time and was just wondering if anyone knows what it might have been :)
    i normally puke like that when i've been drinking bucky...
    or if i've been on a 48+ hour bender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by Mr.Applepie
    I'd like to here from our resident doctor. Well Dr.Loon whats your professional opinion?

Tbh i have no idea. I'm as curious as you.

I do believe Tails is spot on here. It's definitely not the lining in your stomach, but the mucus lining which itself helps break down food as far as I know. Not very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    It must be true as i have never disbelieved anything a panda has told me.
    and rightly so.

You're not actually a doctor are you Dr. Loon, or should i say
    Mr. Loon?

still nothing conclusive....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I have once or twice (maybe more) thrown up this horrible yellow stuff after a night of heavy drinking. Not very pleasant I can assure you.

I believe ye have refered to it as BILE, but just what the hell is bile? I know it has something to do with working on the breaking down of alcohol, oe something like that, but an itellectual answer on this would be nice.

Cheer!!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

the weird and fecked up thing about the "carrots" is thet they really, really look like carrots.

and yet, oddily, they dont taste anything like carrots

Originally posted by Panda
    You're not actually a doctor are you Dr. Loon, or should i say
    Mr. Loon?

I'm a self proclaimed Doctor. Not necessarily a good one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

I wasn't drinking Guinness or was I drinking for 48 hours, just had 6 or so cans and starting getting sick this black shite, cmon doctor, what's your prognosis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

That nasty yellow stuff that yer all on about is indeed Bile. It's produced in the Bile duct which is just above the stomach. It starts getting produced when peristalsis occurs in the throat. It contains the chemicals that breaks your food down in your stomach along with the stomachs resident hydro-chloric acid. Bile does three things- 1) helps break down food, 2) gives puke it's rancid flavour and 3) causes heartburn. Heartburn occurs where something has fooled the stomach into thinking that something is on it's way (Snacking has a bad habit of causing this to happen) and the bile duct produces all this bile and there is nothing for it to breakdown so it sits there- hurting you.

Hope that answers everyones questions on the subject of bile.:)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

I wasn't drinking Guinness or was I drinking for 48 hours, just had 6 or so cans and starting getting sick this black shite, cmon doctor, what's your prognosis!

you cant drink very well???

You don't speaka da english very well? That doesn't make sense! Is the first bit there a question or are you speaking to yourself?

If you had 6 cans of Guinness and started razzing black shít, it's cos you're a lightweight, and the reason it's black? I'm sure you can figure it out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Maybe you should go to the doctor. Never know you might have an ulcer or something.

Or if you were eating blackjack bars earlier on in the day, well they would be the source of the blackness and maybe alcohol doesnt mix well with blackjack bars.