Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Truly The E-Tub of Europe

• 20-08-2002 3:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭

We're fecked all right!

The Department of Communications , tasked with bailing out the unseaworthy and steadily foundering project known as the E-Tub of Europe ®™©, opened a forum on its website so that the greater Irish public taxpaying types who are sinking along with this leaky vessel could make suggestions as to how one could make her float again.

As soon as the word got out that they maight be listening the Government Closed it.

If ya don't want to know why did ya ask then Dermot? Ya should have 404'd it ya plonker!

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Classic.

Anyone have Karlin Lillingtons email address? Im sure shed be interested in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well that is pathetic they should rename to The Department of UnCommunications.

The really cynical in me thinks that they shut it down after we found it. Afterall its fine to talk about the fact we can't watch the Ireland matches on RTE (which were all I saw posted on that forum) but when people ask questions about matters that are costing us jobs they run away and close the forum down.

Again Pathetic !

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭vinnyfitz

I looked at it yesterday apart from being totally broken the first few posts (they got 16 alltogether) semed negative, offensive and unconstructive and they were getting worse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Heh, E-Tub, I like it. However...

Wasn't this covered already? Like yesterday?

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Yesterday there was bEEtching about a forum that existed on the Dept of Communications and Fishy Matters and that did not allow registrations. Suggestions were made to fix it.

So the government closed the forum, fixed indeed.

Fixing faulty websites according to the E-Tub of Europe ®™© method of webmastering is very Dept. of Communications non???

M

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Ah, I see. Sorry about that. Heh, the error message is kind of appropriate...
    Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a01fb'

An exception occurred: 'Open'

/forum/common.asp, line 191
    Exceptional indeed.

adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Lawnkiller

Online "Televised Sport" Discussion Forum

We have created an online discussion forum so that everyone has an opportunity to give their own views and opinions on the televised sport issue.

You do not need to register in order to read the postings. However, you must register before joining the discussion. After registering you will be sent a password by e.mail to login.

You may reply to an existing message, or post your own.

Our discussion forum may be accessed here

link here

This is why it was closed - perhaps a formal suggestion about opening a proper forum on communication in ireland by the dept. from a representative of IrelandOffLine?

Just a thought.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Hannibal_12

Yes I remember thinking when I found it to post a link here so we could all have a go at making our point regarding "communications" in Ireland. I then attempted to register but alas like broadband and flatrate all I was met with was an excuse (generated by a computer as opposed to bbbbertie, emperor of the E-TUB).

I also fired off that ECTA report to the Dept of fishsticks, firewood and carrier pigeons and as expected no reply yet (not that I am expecting one). Sent it to the ODTR with a letter as well and they did reply but nothing of any use.

They read this forum........WOW!

The polite message ' this discussion forum is closed while we deliberate' etc etc that was there only this afternoon from the central committee of the E-Tub of Europe ®™© has been replaced by a perfunctory HTTP 500 - Internal server error when you click on the link in my original post , I asked ye for a 404 not an indexing barf lads.

Seems some E-Tub-bie deleted something in a hurry and forgot to rebuild the index.....did Karlin Lillington get a screengrab that time ?????

This would be exceedingly funny if it wasn't for the 'Communications' expertise that the E-Tub of Europe ®™© is supposed to display at all times. Bet yiz it will be a gentle wistful 404 once they get the finger out!

M

The message
    Notice
    The forum is now closed.
    Thank you for your comments they will be taken into account during the deliberation process.

Further information will be posted on the Department's website or alternatively you can contact the webmaster with any queries.

Is back again!

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

So it was a forum specifically about TV sport no doubt arising out of the Sky FAI deal. That would explain why it was for a limited time.
    Originally posted by Lawnkiller
    Online "Televised Sport" Discussion Forum

[...]

Our discussion forum may be accessed here

link here

This is why it was closed - perhaps a formal suggestion about opening a proper forum on communication in ireland by the dept. from a representative of IrelandOffLine?
    Thats a good idea. There's no reason why there shouldn't be a general ongoing forum for each of the areas covered by their remit.