Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Violence

• 19-08-2002 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭

The strangest thing happened last night. I was wandering through Temple Bar quite drunk at around 4 in the morning when someone hit me in the face from behind and then wandered off (didn't really get a look at them) now I'd been drinking with friends all night hadn't left the table or interacted with anybody else (which usually leads to people wanting to punch me), I also didn't speak to anybody when I got food or bump into anybody or "look at them funny" as far as I can remember. So it would seems that this was totally random and indescriminate.

Quite frankly I find that fúcking weird. I mean I can understand (though I hate it) the standard drunken shmozzle after someone called someone else a cúnt and a second party was cordially invited to suck said cúnt's cock but why would you bother hitting a complete stranger? What's the point?

Has this type of stupid shít happened to anyone else? Does anyone have a clue whats going on in these demented simians' minds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Kids say the darndest things!:rolleyes:

Jesus I think you've just answered your own question,
    you were in Temple Bar late at night. Drunk and some other
    proberable drunk hit you, what more do you need to know?.

Go home and try and stay sober!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

I was going to suggest it was some little tough kid trying to make a name for himself in front of his mates by demostrating his unpredictable and wild psychotic nature. However, he would likely have followed up with a line of some sort if that was the case.

Maybe it was a case of mistaken identity?

I've never had someone walk up to me looking for a fight without reason (that is to say without me having an idea as to why they were angry). The closest incident would have been a while back someone threw a bottle at the back of my head in a club ... which I put down to mistaken identity or poor aim. No harm done in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by mike65
    Kids say the darndest things!:rolleyes:

Jesus I think you've just answered your own question,
    you were in Temple Bar late at night. Drunk and some other
    proberable drunk hit you, what more do you need to know?.

The point isn't that one drunk hit another. It's that one drunk hit another for absolutely no reason.
    Originally posted by mike65
    Go home and try and stay sober!

Now you're just being silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Hmmm

"Somebody hit me when I was drunk and they were drunk"

More of an After Hours type thread really.

From Humanities with love,

amp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭SYL

Count yourself lucky Dapper, read in the paper today about somebody who took a real hammering in temple bar a few nights ago (I think they died from the injuries). Unprovoked attack too, I think.
    Personally speaking, all the times I've been in Dublin, no matter how wasted or langers I've been, I have never had any trouble. And I mean never, no threats, stares, random punches or kicks, nothing at all.
    Being from Navan though, I'm surprised you didn't turn and flail one back at the mystery offender......although considering Dublin being Dublin, its always better to turn the other cheek (and then run and get yer mates and head back looking for a bit of the kunt that decked ya).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

someone hit me in the face from behind and then wandered off

that's quite an achievement....

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Random Violence has existed as long as human beings tbh.

Did this person come up behind you, reach his hand around your head to the front, ball his fist and somehow make an attempt at a punch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

nice LAMER replies there lads.........
    A few weeks ago, a group of us were in a mates house, awaiting the delivery boy (another mate gone to the off licence). On his way back he had to cross a little green and two guys saw him, ran up to him, pushed him off his pushbike, thrashed him about the place visciously, black eyes, cauliflower nose and red ears were the order of the day.
    He had a backpack full of booze. They simply beat the $hit out of him and left him there, no attempts to take money, practically no talking, and he still had his backpack when he eventually made it back to us in a horrible state :mad:
    This was in Stillorgan by brewery road near the dual carriageway.

Another moment of stupid non sensical violence similar to this happened to me years ago walking back from Blackrock to Stillorgan. I was completely hammered and had difficulty finding my way. I asked two blurrs in front of me where I was and received a punch which sent me over some lads wall via his bush.

Unbelievably sad carry on altogether. There is no explanation for it but downright ignorance and stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I blame the rising amount of scumbags in Dublin and places. :mad:

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

tack, its happened to me too, several times.
    tbh
    SHIT HAPPENS.
    Welcome to Dublin.

Its not that i don't sympathise, but lets face it, its not going to stop until it becomes an executable offence to hit some1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I believe we should bring in the laws of some of the arib countrys. Were my uncle lives now there is a 0% crime rate. If a house gets robbed its on the news. why? If you rob once you get your right hand chopped off. If you do it again, right food. etc.

I hope we bring in laws like that......twill make the world a better place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Don't take this the wrong way Winters, but that's an overly simplistic way pf looking at things. Kind of Like "Let's Nuke the bastards" etc.

The day something like that is introduced here I will be long long gone.

Originally posted by tactical anni
    This was in Stillorgan by brewery road near the dual carriageway.

Odd, Ive stumbled home many a time up brewery road and Ive never had trouble there *touch wood*. Tbh Im glad when I get to that road cos I feel safe there :).
    Btw was that green where you come off the dual carriageway and you turn right? I think I'll avoid it :)

Anyway, I have also been victim of the "Wankers trying to look hard" association. I was out celebrating me JC results when about 20 scummers (a few were defo wannabes :rolleyes:) came up to me n a m8 ,ask us for a pound, then smacked my m8. Bunch o' pricks but oh well, what can ya do? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭cheeky_monkey

That's bad luck man. But lucky you weren't said punter who was killed (literally?) outside Central Bank the other night.

Another public place for beatings is Supermacs in Galway. We used go out there years ago and there was always kickings outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Oh, you are a cheeky monkey. Is that a nasty animated sig?
    sig

Cloud will have your hide for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Originally posted by SyxPak
    Don't take this the wrong way Winters, but that's an overly simplistic way pf looking at things. Kind of Like "Let's Nuke the bastards" etc.

The day something like that is introduced here I will be long long gone.

A good idea on two counts then. :)

Back to topic, same exact thing happened to me walking down grafton street in broad daylight years ago - they never even so much as turned around to check their handiwork. No taunts, no laughing, nothing.

It's as simple as this: they do it because they can, because nobody stops them, and because every time they're arrested for something they're let straight back out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by Cultellus
    Did this person come up behind you, reach his hand around your head to the front, ball his fist and somehow make an attempt at a punch?

No he hit me on the left cheekbone, his fist passing over my left shoulder. It's not that hard to visulaise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Originally posted by Slutmonkey57b
    It's as simple as this: they do it because they can, because nobody stops them, and because every time they're arrested for something they're let straight back out the door.

Exactly, its what I call the "Grand Theft Auto" syndrome.

Stillorgan is well known for having unsavoury types hanging around. Thankfully nothing that bad has happened to me on the street, I was robbed at knife point when I was thirteen or so near my area and that ****ed me up for a while, but no random violence thankfully.

A Grand Theft Auto syndrome wouldn't be so bad though. at least the feckin' Taxi Drivers would be a bit quicker then.

Originally posted by Cultellus
    tack, its happened to me too, several times.
    tbh
    SHIT HAPPENS.
    Welcome to Dublin.

Its not that i don't sympathise, but lets face it, its not going to stop until it becomes an executable offence to hit some1.

Part of the problem is the complacency of people's attitudes towards this kind of behaviour.

I'm unimpressed by your patronising bs response cult.

**** happens - wow, thank you for that supremely intelligent analogy of people's behavioural problems within today's society. Vote Cult for President :rolleyes:

I'm not a ****in tourist. I've been living in Dublin all my life apart from a year in Lyon. At least in Lyon these dimwits beat you for a reason, be it your wallet or whatnot. I was held at gunpoint in Lyon - **** happens - grow up you tit. At least I was being held at gunpoint for my months rent, not for the hell of it..........

Executable offence? Are you in some unknown cave in Dublin? Maybe when you go outside people look at you and go, "oh look it's the cave freak, let's get him!" and beat you around........It doesn't happen to me all the time so I can only assume you must be staring at some big scousers gf or summat.

Bring on the executions! Stop violence. Ever stop to think that violence breeds violence?

for the love of baby jesus someone nuke that cheeky monkey's !ANIMATED SIG! too late he's already bawling......

I think we could almost cross-reference this thread with the 'are irish people too slow to complain' thread thats in Humanities. A lot of people just take these hidings from scummers as part of everyday life, almost with a grim acceptance. I can't speak from experience because I've never been attacked (and no, I don't live in a cave), but something seems very wrong here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 pika

Tis in situations like thesee when having a cattle prod would come in handy. And to electricute those fúckers to kindom come, really the streets are filled with those addidas tracksuit wearing scum.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Heheh, or one of those tazers with the probes that launch out of it for extended range frazzlage of aggressors short and curlies.

Now that's what I'm talking about :D

hehe not really, but these gits do need to learn a lesson, is a beating or something similar the only way to get through to people that are this way inclined?
    Personally I think a better idea would be to have them taken through the hospitals on tour and have them see all the damage that has been done say on a friday/saturday night in the vincents/meath hospital emergency ward? Let them see what they really do to people and maybe re-activate their dead grey matter that has been lying dormant in there through shock tactics.

I know they did this in the U.K as an experiment with teens that had caused bodily harm to others while joyriding. It worked very well but I haven't seen anything on it in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Hobnail Monkey

I say stick the little feckers in the sex offenders ward of mountjoy during shower time.