Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Lyrics Board. Help!

• 12-08-2002 1:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭

I had never actually witnessed this program until a few nights ago, but feel that this must be some kind of amazing joke that just went straight over my head, because the idea that it’s not some sort of surreal comedy is way too difficult to contemplate. I think I need someone to explain it to me, or tell me the name of the drugs I need to take before watching it. I’ve spent two days trying to convince myself that it wasn’t real, but it won’t go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

haha, it was hilarious, yer man with the cap is a complete tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Woeful is the word you're looking for. Will be enjoyed by senile old people (sure they wouldn't know what's on the TV anyway).

Did anyone know who the guests were? I watched it about 2 weeks ago I think (maybe less). Had what looked like a bunch of people I've never seen before in my entire life, who couldn't sing at all. I'd rather poke my eye out with a rusty breadknife than watch any of it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

But the weirdo’s in the audience, who sing horrible songs that no one has ever heard of. The strange people behind the piano thingy, am I supposed to believe that they’re being spontaneous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Ah Linda, how i know u so well, and wish i had a shot gun shoved up ur saggy ass :mad:

[ps. I have a life long crusade against the immortal Bitch:mad: ]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

You may be pleased to know that The Lyrics Board is RTE's most succesfull franchise. I forget how many countries the format has been sold to but its quite a few.

The more intelligent among you will realise that the formate is actually pretty good. Given a more stylish execution and hipper hosts and guests, it could be a massive Net2 show.

I seem to remember that the ratings were pretty good at the start of this new series (bear in mind RTE1's target audience.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by Dustaz
    You may be pleased to know that The Lyrics Board is RTE's most succesfull franchise. I forget how many countries the format has been sold to but its quite a few.

Id say they had to pay other countrys to take it off there hands.... i hope someone just goes into RTE and burns all the tapes of the Lyrics Board....i hope they will never be repeated again....

The problem is that they never have celebs that the normal person would know.... i didnt have a clue who da **** was on the program when i saw it a few weeks ago.. if any other country was to do it the people watching would know who the celebs are... feckin rte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its proberly worth me pointing out that this is the new look
    Lyrics Board, the old version was aimed at pensioners and the senile, LB Mk 2 is intended to be hip summer time viewing for hep cats. Or something. Sheeeze...... :confused:

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by mike65
    Its proberly worth me pointing out that this is the new look
    Lyrics Board, the old version was aimed at pensioners and the senile, LB Mk 2 is intended to be hip summer time viewing for hep cats. Or something. Sheeeze...... :confused:

Mike.

Yeh, but notice thats its rte1 and not net2. Its aimed at rte1's demographic, which actually understands what the word 'hepcat' refers to ;) (i think you and me are the only ones who know that mike:) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Actually, its not RTÉ's. It was/is produced by Like It Love It productions for RTÉ, initally it was devised by that compnay, RTÉ showed the first version of it, and LILI sold it world-wide.

It has made Andy Ruane, (former 2FM jock) a multi-millionaire.

RTÉ has not seen a cent of that programmes sucess.

Originally posted by DamoDMC

There's some justice then! :)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Thats why they want me to pay more for my feckin tv licence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

why do I find linda martin strangely attactive? Its not like I want to, I just do

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Andy Ruane is probably the last person in this country I wish to see do well. The lyrics board may be bland MOR kitsch TV, but the thought of it fuelling Ruane's egotistical and talentless outpourings (including his laughable '24 hour news' venture) makes it seem truely evil.

Please go away and spend your money elsewhere. You are Michael Flatley with a ridiculous 'DJ' patter and delusions of business acumen.

HOW CAN U FIND HER ATTRACTIVE, ive seen her romping around her bungalow wit her dogs and her fake tan and lepordskin bikini. my life was never the same, it pushed puberty back 3 years for me:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

i think one of the guys on the old lyrics board was a mate of my brothers, he used to be on it sometimes, Ken Boland or something. I dont recall him being famous though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Yer man on there last week was Brush Shiels. Christy Dignam was on the other team, didn't recognise any of the ladies though.

And yes it is pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

yer man who used to play the keyboards on the den was on it too no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 pika

Can I just say Angus Mcanally, he made the programme what it is today "Rubbish". And yer one attractive I would say she is up there with Gail from Corrie and any of the cast from Fair City

well said pika :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 pika

Thanks Jim you know it makes sence. The lyrics board is up there with fab shows like Eamonn Dumphys The weakest link, eh Eamonn you!!

And nearly as good as telly bingo or thats the answer.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

... and whats the story with that guys 3-pronged mustache? Is he trying to look like the gay satan or just draw attention away from his rabbit teeth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Jesus! I'm sitting here , sick as a parrot on a Saturday night, and having to make do with watching the Lyrics board. On it some blonde 'dolly bird' is singing Luka by Suzanne Vega, giving it her all, with big cheesy smiles, theatrical winks and lots of gusto.

I don't what is more disturbing, the idea that this talentless bint actually thinks she can sing or the fact that Luka is a song about child abuse and she is singing it as if it was 'when the saints go marching on' or some such happy go lucky ****e.

I flicked over from Channel 4 just in time to see the guests bounding down the stairs and immediatly left the room!

Singing Luka like it was a showsong just sums up the Lyrics Board
    in a single moment.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Kopf

Yes they have - from advertising revenues. If the programme is a success, then advertising during its ad breaks will be more expensive. Why else do you think they'd show the bloody thing? To do like it love it a favour?