Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lc Results

• 10-08-2002 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Oh my god the leaving cert results are out wednesday! i am so FECKED!!!! HELP ME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

dont worry about it , theres always someone worse off than you and besides theres nothing you can do to change it now , so just relax and i`m sure you did perfectly fine , and p.s college is`nt all its cracked up to be.BEST OF LUCK!you will be grand huney!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Don't get all worried and stressed over it. They may be *cough*, the most important exams in your life, but in reality they are not the be all and end all. Just find out what YOU want to do, and go for it. There are many routes to almost everything in life, and the lc isn't an obstacle that must be overcome in the process. Nice to have a good lc, will open certain doors for you, but if you want something bad enough then the lc won't stand in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by OLDYELLAR
    dont worry about it , theres always someone worse off than you

How do you know? There has to be someone who is the worst...

Anywho.. most people who are worried are the ones that will do well and are only worried cos they want the high points etc. I wouldnt worry if i was you ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

god i hate the whole procedure of the lc. There should be some better way of testing someone's intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭SOL

god i hate the whole procedure of the lc. There should be some better way of testing someone's intelligence.
    what are you simple or something?, the lc is not an intelligence test, its the furthest thing from, its about who works hardest and hence deserves it most, and okay some are more gifted than others but that is life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

As exams go it's not too bad, it rewards people who are willing to work hard, and people who are naturally good at academic stuff.

I think the problem lies in the way the colleges use the LC results, whether you get a place in a certain course should depend on how you did on subjects that are similar to or related to that course more than on the other subjects you do.

Also a few less subjects would be nice, that way people might actually be able to stick to doing stuff they like and not have to do some sh!t they have no interest in for 2 years to make up the 6 subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Mills, I think the way colleges 'use' the leaving cert is see how well students perform academically overall, not in individual subjects. The system they have is fine.. I mean what subject would you have to excel in for subjects like law, media etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭bozzie

I think the problem lies in the way the colleges use the LC results, whether you get a place in a certain course should depend on how you did on subjects that are similar to or related to that course more than on the other subjects you do.

the leaving cert system is so much better than in other countries where your whole academic career after 2nd level education is based on a single exam

as for having less subjects you only have to sit 5 if thats too much for you do the lc applied
    (btw good luck to all of you who sat the lc this year may you all get what your looking for)

Mills, I think the way colleges 'use' the leaving cert is see how well students perform academically overall, not in individual subjects. The system they have is fine.. I mean what subject would you have to excel in for subjects like law, media etc..

Thats fair enough for stuff like Law or media or whatever, I'm not saying they should just do this for the sake of it in every course, but at the minute someone who wants to do something like Computer Science can be a genious at maths/physics/whatever and they're still going to be punished for being weak at English/Irish/whatever other rubbish they're forced to do because of the way the subject choices are structured in the school they go to.

I also love the way you have to pass a third language if you want to go to an NUI to do anything, because that's really necessary for courses like Civil Engineering, and there's no point even considering doing something like Food Science unless you've spent at least 5 years doing French or German :rolleyes:.

but at the minute someone who wants to do something like Computer Science can be a genious at maths/physics/whatever and they're still going to be punished for being weak at English/Irish/whatever other rubbish they're forced to do because of the way the subject choices are structured in the school they go to.

i myself am an example that this system works i am good at maths and all things science but my writing was and is a liability during exams. its so bad that i cant read it most of the time.

the lc system was more benificial to me than the college one is when it comes to that subject

in college i was given a grant of less than €100 to cover me for a year
    whereas in the lc i was given a scribe and dictaphone with which to do my exams (€400 to hire the sribe alone)

even though i didnt cover myself in glory i still managed to come out of the lc with the points i needed for my course

I'm no expert when it comes to the Applied Leaving Cert, but it struck me that it wouldn't be an aweful lot of use for anyone who wanted to go to a Unniversity. An initial opinion that was backed up a bit when I saw this, which seems to suggest that out of the main colleges/unniversities in ireland, it's not accepted, anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Qualm

I also love the way you have to pass a third language if you want to go to an NUI to do anything, because that's really necessary for courses like Civil Engineering, and there's no point even considering doing something like Food Science unless you've spent at least 5 years doing French or German .

But, then again, its a shame just how little of other languages irish people have. Most other European countries have at least English at a good level, while here, some of us can barely grasp the language we are born with :rolleyes: :p

But i slightly agree (if thats possible), french and irish are probably my most hated of subjects, but i think thats to do with the way they are taught, not with the subjects themselves. I am in favour of learning other languages, but i think they need a reform.

Ireland is among the top in the education stakes, in theory the system works, but the if i had a cent for every person i heard say they would prefer a continal assesment system, id be rich (not that rich, a cent is a piddley amount). I dont know how exactly continual assement would work, it's done in college isnt yet? Yet, still, 3rd level students are still under pressure to pass and succeed in their college exams.

My two cent. This has kinda gone off topic :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Originally posted by bozzie

once again lc applied

You can't go straight to a university with LC applied, usually it's best for getting apprenticeships, and getting into PLC courses.

<< Fio >>

the reason for needing to have languages such as german and french for NUI's in ireland is to make sure that they are getting the academic best of the crop

i myself couldnt give a D*mn as to what the university system things

they are an outdated system the it system is much more benificial to most students (exept in medicine and law where the prestiege is more important that the education recieved)

but all this has gone way off the point

soz ms taken

point taken fio

and as always you know best
    i apologise to mills for insinuating that the lc applied could replace irish and other languages in the higher level college system

the reason for needing to have languages such as german and french for NUI's in ireland is to make sure that they are getting the academic best of the crop

That's something that's always puzzled me. It's not particularly difficult to take a foreign language throughout secondary school and get a pass in it, so why would people who have done this be considered the "acedemic best of the crop"? Surely if I took another subject I was good at at higher level and got a B in that, it would be better than taking french at ordinary level and just doing enough to pass it?
    But, then again, its a shame just how little of other languages irish people have. Most other European countries have at least English at a good level, while here, some of us can barely grasp the language we are born with.

Yes but some people just aren't very good at learning foreign languages, should we exclude them from going to any of the NUI colleges because of this? I'm much more in favour of a system where having a foreign language is encouraged, for example by giving people who have one an "extra" 20 points when considering them for a place in an NUI, rather than just telling them to fúck off and go somewhere else. People should be able to make up for a weakness in one area by being stronger in another area.

I agree that the way Irish is taught at the minute is a joke, but I don't think it's right to force people to do it at all tbh. It's great for people who actually like it and want to learn it, but unlike other subjects, people who don't like it will be forced to do it for more than 10 years of their life and at the end of it all they'll have is some use of a dead language, at least with English and Maths even people who don't like the subject get some practical knowledge out of it that might be useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭strawberry

Leaving Cert Applied- completely different system, they don't take the conventional leaving and therefore don't go through the CAO. They're definitely not allowed into universities and I'm not sure if they can get into PLCs. I do know they do things like 'hotel&tourism' and 'beauty' as subjects.
    I also know that if I saw any of the people from the LCA class in my school coming my way, I'd turn and run a mile. For some reason they all wanted to kill me, and were really pissed off by the fact that I refused to be intimidated. But now I've finished school I can submit to my natural instincts.............

so off topic, very sorry. Don't worry about results. They don't affect who you are and since you're bothering to worry about then you probably bothered to study. I recommend bringing a friend who's not getting results with you. G'luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

This thread does seem to have gone off-topic.

All I can say is... try not to worry about it, you have done all you can (I hope!), try and take this time to enjoy yourself, you can't possibly do anything else.

Hope you do well, good luck. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Ms Taken

:) Thanks to everyone who replied! you have all give me a bit of hope! the one i fear most is honours irish! it was terrible.

Well wednesday is D day but i was just thinking as well i have so much more important things going on in my life. I have a new little brother or sister due in 4 weeks so thats something to look forward to! a new life always brings great joy! It'll be weird it being 18 years younger than me! My brother has a little daughter who will be older than its aunt or uncle!

Fingers crossed for wednesday! :)

Basically LCA = for dumb people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Cond0r

So dyslexic people are now branded 'dumb' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

try not to think about it too much. the whole exam(in my opinion)is designed to scare the **** out of everybody.try make them nervous. and then leave them for a few months to stew :(

but i'm sure you will do better than you think :)
    and good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Unregistered

No....LCA = life skills. IMO, the LCA is far superior to the standard Leaving Cert.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Cond0r

Originally posted by seamus

No....LCA = life skills. IMO, the LCA is far superior to the standard Leaving Cert.........
    I agree with this and I think it should be accepted by colleges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

LCA is generally for non-academics, and is in more general topics, i think it should be acceptable for admission to some courses it is directly related to, but I dont think doing LCA should allow you to be a doctor, etc.

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

Originally posted by SOL

what are you simple or something?, the lc is not an intelligence test, its the furthest thing from, its about who works hardest and hence deserves it most, and okay some are more gifted than others but that is life

some people are all round gifted and some people are gifted in certain subjects? Why should the latter suffer just missing out on their college course just because someone else is a better all rounder. In my college course , our end of year mark is gotten from an exam, and continuous assesment, its not perfect (because of the way the percentages for the value of each form of assesment falls) but its better than the leaving cert.

i knew a girl and a guy who both got into a certain high scoring course. he got in no problem, she missed it by 5 points in the first and second round and got in on the third round (a month after the course had started). She worked exceptionally well during the year, and because she was doing something she loved, it wasnt hard. she ended up with a much higher end of year mark then he did....

i also know another person who wanted to do actuary (whatever way its spelled!) didnt get the points, but had enough points to do medicine instead, and she skips going to the cumpulsory autopsies.....this is extremely unfair because she's a really intelligent person who can keep up with the grades, even though she probably wont actually end up practising medicine, and theres some person whos missed out on their dream because of her.

mills, i couldnt agree with u more about the subject thing!

Ms Taken: If u get what u want you'll b happy, and if u dont get what u want you'll find some way of sneaking in anyway :D

lol you're joking right? So.. all the knackers etc who i went to school with in 1st-3rd year who were lazy in school, never did homework, bad attendance, never paid attention etc, are in the LCA class now?

And the people who study constantly and get good results do the standard leaving cert..
    Hmm strange logic don't u think

Originally posted by Unregistered
    lol you're joking right? So.. all the knackers etc who i went to school with in 1st-3rd year who were lazy in school, never did homework, bad attendance, never paid attention etc, are in the LCA class now?

No, you'll find that most of the ones who can't be arsed left school and went and got a job. People don't have to continue to the lc if they don't want to. The LCA is an opprtunity for all those people who aren't academic(not necessarily stupid) to continue studying relevant things. It's unfair on people who are maybe good at languages and terrible at maths/sciences to make them determine their intelligence level by doing a general, non-specific, set of tests. To say that someone who gets 200 points in their leaving is dumb is wrong. Just like people with high IQs - in neither case are we getting a good judgement of the person's actual abilities.
    And the people who study constantly and get good results do the standard leaving cert..
    Hmm strange logic don't u think

You'll find that given the choice, many more people would opt to not do the standard lc, if they didn't want to go to college. To do the Leaving because your parents told you to is dumb. There are plenty of people who work their asses off and still get 20 points. Are they more intelligent then the people who are doing the LCA?

Post with your registered nick and I'll be happy to debate this with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

keep this on topic of im gonna move it to humanities and let amp deal with it.....

Seamus i just finished my LC and if i had done LCA i would regret it so much now, it closes so many doors, I wouldn't be able to get into college,also employers don't value the LCA as high as the standard LC

Originally posted by SheroN
    keep this on topic of im gonna move it to humanities and let amp deal with it.....

What was the question again? Oh yeah....;)

The leaving cert isn't the end of the world. If you do badly, boo hoo, no big deal. In 5 years time, most employers won't even ask you what you got. Roll with the punches and make the best of what you get........:)

(If someone wants to start an LCA -v- LC thread, you can discuss it on my board, funnily enough)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Best of luck tomorrow! ;)

Originally posted by thedrowner

some people are all round gifted and some people are gifted in certain subjects? Why should the latter suffer just missing out on their college course just because someone else is a better all rounder. In my college course , our end of year mark is gotten from an exam, and continuous assesment, its not perfect (because of the way the percentages for the value of each form of assesment falls) but its better than the leaving cert.

Sorry i don't make the rules just telling you how they are, its you conciesness thats collapsing the wave function and making it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Ms Taken

I GOT 415!!!! I'll hopefully get my first choice now:) :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Man U babe

Hugs'n'kittens!
    Mucho congrats anyways. I'm feeling a little hyperactive tonight cos of this whole 560 thing.....

well ms taken and also man u babe you both so beat my score(wont say what it is as its gone a year and embarrasing twords those scores) hopefully ye will both get the courses ur goin for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

congratulations everyone!

Congrats. less than a year left for me, OH DEAR GOD HELP!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I sat on my ass for my LC, did a bit of work in Physics and maths.
    Got 455.
    Was happy :)

The course i got was 400 the previous year, went up to 435 while courses in other universities were expected to go down.

I was well surprised with what I got.

Didn't do the prescribed poetry section in hon's english.
    Learned off 2 irish poets (one man, one woman) can't remmebr their names now.
    Only thing I rememebr is a shít load of english poets coming up and now irish ones.
    said a quiet "fúck's sake" to myself and continued on.

The exams were a total anticlimax.
    Results night was good though :)