Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Probably a muppet question... sorry

• 06-08-2002 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭

OK i was reading the thread on rape and i thought of something. When a man rapes a woman its a very big deal. It scars them for life usually and in some cases ruins their life completely.

My muppet type question is If a man was raped by a woman what would the mans reaction be? Lets say a small man was raped by a big woman who was bigger and stronger than he is.. Or a fairly big guy gang raped by a group of women... what would you do if you were in that situation?

Im not sure myself... i can imagine though there are guys out there who would think they are very lucky... Anyway im just curious would guys be as sensative about being raped (by women not men) as big a deal?

Please feel free to mod or delete this thread if its too much of a muppet question but im just curious what peoples reaction would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Happy days, especially if its the baywatch babes !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

It scares the help out of me and hopefully replies to your post will not be of the "oh yeah id like me some of dat" nature.

I don`t think any of us would like it as its probably the most depraving thing that could happen to a man, and probably future sexual relationships will be scared by it as well.

[edit] just read what was posted above. would just like to say that your a fúcking muppet george[edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

rape is rape is rape.
    why dont you find out what rape is and that will answer our own question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

Can a women rape a man ??? How would that work exactly ? If he didnt want to be raped chances are he wouldnt be aroused .... it would be a bit like pushing a marshmellow through a keyhole ie: very difficult !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Originally posted by EvilGeorge
    Happy days, especially if its the baywatch babes !!!!!
    i agree.:D
    but then it wouldn't be classed as rape.
    rape is when you dont give consent.

it would take a lot for a guy to be "raped" by a girl. after a few too many pints most girls will get better looking :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

I don't think this is a muppet question and I believe if such a crime was perpetrated on me (unlikely, but who knows) I would be very distressed. Coz no matter what anybody says, being forced by someone bigger and stronger (physically or mentally) to do something you do not want to do can scar you permanently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Nice to see some serious answers here... and not just an actual muppet "happy days" reply!!

Darth Homer thats a very good point!!

hehe , marshmellow through a keyhole - lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

If you can't comprenend a man having issues after being raped, imagine being raped by another man. Not a nice thought. Now what if the woman decided to rape a man like another man would do.... (i.e. where the sun don't shine)

Violation is violation.

I doubt that if a woman was to rape a man she'd go down on him or anything, so forget about entertaining the thought of it being a semi-pleasurable experience.

Sorry but i think it is a muppet question. Rape isn't sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

think it's disturbe me quite a bit..what happens if a lad is raped by another lad?that'd would mess you up

Indeed Ruaidhri... scary thought that one!

Well maybe you folks do but I dont play with the boys. That wouldn't really be considered rape in my book , more like anal probing.

What are your views on that ?

Evilgeorge may someone stick a pitchfork up your ass and probe away you evil clown like freak with a marshmellow fetish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Originally posted by Rabies
    but then it wouldn't be classed as rape.
    rape is when you dont give consent.
    Not that simple. Consider statutory rape, where one party for reasons of age, state of mind or otherwise cannot give consent. A thirty-year-old woman having sex with a fifteen-year-old boy would be rape. In theory, a man could also be charged with raping a woman if consent was given under the influence of alcohol too. As might using blackmail to get sex.

I remember that appalling movie, Disclosure, which touched on sexual harassment, predators and the like. I found that it laughable, in that few men would have great difficulty being sexually harassed by Demmi Moore. I thought it would have brought the subject home far better if Kathy Bates had played her role. Now try sleeping with her to keep your job (Shudder... and not the good kind).

In short women are just as capable of evil as men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

Originally posted by EvilGeorge
    That wouldn't really be considered rape in my book , more like anal probing.

So what's rape then, a hand job and a cuddle?

What are your views on that ?

Wha'?
    Views on what exactly?!

You were an alter boy , hell maybe you still are , bet you have those pucker up lips too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

As stated above in this thread, rape isn't about sex.

Rape is about domination and violence, it's about completely stripping someone of their ability to resist by violating them in the most intimate fashion possible - through penetrating their body. It's about exerting power over another person.

A man doesn't have to have an erection to be raped because a rape isn't about sex. It's about someone making you do something that you don't want to do, that hurts and humiliates and debases you, in order to make themselves feel powerful and assert their control over you.

When you understand that it isn't about sex, you understand that anyone can be raped by anyone else. It isn't about needing to have bit's that fit first.

In my opinion no single person's experience can be rated as 'worse' than another person's experience, because these things are all subjective - subsequently I don't think it's 'worse' for a man to be raped than for a woman.

What I do think is that the awareness of male rape in society is far lower than female rape - part of this could be people literally don't understand the logistics of how a man can be raped (as demonstrated in this thread). Subsequently I think that the percentage of male rape that's reported to the police is probably miniscule. What's more worrying is that many male rape victims are probably trying to deal with what's happened to them on their own, without medical or counselling assistance, or the help of a support group, or even their own friends, because they're even more scared of what people's reactions will be to them if they tell what happened, than they are of what's happened to them.

Minesajackdaniels you make a lot of sense there... it explains while a hooker who is raped might be very upset about the whole thing... even though she might have sex numerous times a day for money... if someone forces her to do something she does not want to do... even a paying client etc then it might be a very bad ordeal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

*applause*

Great post MAJD.
    Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels
    Subsequently I think that the percentage of male rape that's reported to the police is probably miniscule. What's more worrying is that many male rape victims are probably trying to deal with what's happened to them on their own, without medical or counselling assistance, or the help of a support group, or even their own friends, because they're even more scared of what people's reactions will be to them if they tell what happened, than they are of what's happened to them.

Strictly IMO, yes, I think it's more embarrassing, on a pride level for men than women, which is why so little cases are probably reported. Because of the way men and women are, a women who reveals to her friends that she even thinks she might have been raped, will have multiple avenues of support, and hundreds of shoulders to cry on. A man though, who says "I think I might have been raped by [some woman]", can't be sure of anything. Some of his friends might slag him, some may just not speak to him about it. As you pointed out, many people cannot grasp the logistics of male rape, so he may not be believed, or may be treated with suspicion.

So while it's no more horrible for either sex, men have no obvious support immediately available, and there's a huge amount of ignorance of it, as demonstrated by EvilGeorge.

Every person deals with rape differently. Some women may not be too traumatised by it all. Other men may become afraid of sex after being raped. There's no real clear-cut, "Women get scarred, men deal with it".

I reckon EvilGeorge is in Denial... he was probably Gang raped by a bunch of crazy homosexual clowns in a Marshmellow factory.. that would explain a lot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by seamus
    *applause*
    Strictly IMO, yes, I think it's more embarrassing, on a pride level for men than women:)

the word youa re looking for is humiliation.

and pride has nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan

the word youa re looking for is humiliation.

and pride has nothing to do with it.

Thank you. Today, brain = mush. I can't even perspicate correctly. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

I think most people here have made good points but i believe Sarumans orignal question is what would a mans reaction be if he was forced to have sex with a woman.

Never mind a man raping a man for a moment or any sort of penetration on a male victim ... lets assume its a woman actually forcing a man into sex .... is this possible was my original responce?

Ive never heard of a situation of this happening before , imagine the headlines in the papers and peoples reaction, the typical male responce would most likely be "lucky bastard"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thinking of the word rape makes me sick

Originally posted by Darth Homer
    lets assume its a woman actually forcing a man into sex .... is this possible was my original responce?

If you stimulate the rightparts of the body, of course the man would get erect, regardless of the circumstances

OK all joking aside , I'm sure it has happened some where , I do remember seeing somthing on crime line or one of those things once (it was a while ago so I may not be recalling it correctly) , it has to have happened where a bloke is forced , remember not all women are puny , feck I've seen some in the gym that would bench press have the lads I know!

Wow an almsot serious post from the clown... But he is right... There are plenty of women out there that are bigger and stronger than your average guy.. and im not even talking about the muscle bound Amazons at the gym!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I'd just like to point out that while 'bigger and stronger' might give the attacker an advantage, you can't rule out the strength that agression and adrenalin give a would-be attacker. How many people do you know who, for all their size, couldn't kick their way out of a wet paper bag?

A lot of the arguments coming to the fore here shed some light on why it can be so difficult to prosecute a rapist - the legal teams who defend rapists treat rape as a crime of sex as opposed to one of violence - hence their defence often involves humiliating a victim a second time in court by inferring that their dress etc. made them an automatic target.

A relevant and current example is the case of Lindsay Armstrong, a 16 year old girl raped by a 14 year old boy that she knew in a park near her home. In court, Lindsay was asked to hold up the thong she had been wearing at the time she was attacked, and read out that it had 'little devil' written on it (exactly the sort of underwear on sale in shops like Miss Selfridge, and I think Dunnes Stores have recently brought in a similar range). In spite of the fact that she was also, at the time, wearing jeans, boots, jumper etc. at the time of the attack, the thong was a central point of the rapists defence. The defence maintain that it was because the underwear should have been damaged if Lindsay had undergone the attack she claimed she had. Her parents say the defence were trying to make her look like a tart. Lindsay committed suicide three weeks after her rapist was convicted.

In another scenario, if the 14 year old boy hadn't raped Lindsay, and had just assaulted her, and she pressed charges against him for it, I believe the case would have been handled differently. Because trying to convince a jury that a victim is a 'tart who was asking for it' isn't much of a defence in an assault case, but it is in a rape case because of the mistaken belief that rape is about sex.

Now imagine a man trying to take a female rapist to court for attacking him, and having to stand up to the repeated humiliation of the case for the defence, along with the lack of understanding generally, the risk of being laughed at, belittled...

There's something very, very wrong with the public perception of rape...

Now, to be very clear - I'm not saying I was raped by a woman - but I can certainly understand that it is possible.

There was a time in my life when I was at a bit of a low ebb and living in a house with a girl I was not physically attracted to at all.

I found myself pressurised into sex with her on several occasions when I wasn't a particularly willing participient. It was quite a humilitating experience at a time in my life when I was least able to cope with it.

The myth that you cannot be sexually stimulated if you are mentally unwilling is grossly incorrect, for both men and women. A female friend of mine once described how she was raped and orgasamed. The shame of that made the experience even worse for her.

In short, yes - I believe that a woman can rape a man. It's about power, not sex, and women can be as powerful as any man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Ok, since this isn't a personal issue as such, and more of a humanities type question i'm gonna push it over into the domain of one of the "lesser" mods :P

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Men can be raped, mainly by other men so its not always women who are the victims. Any women could accuse you or me of raping her and straight away she is the victim and even if you happen to be cleared of the crime the stench still lingers about your good name even if you are cleared.

Rapists are scumbags, my cousin was raped and the scumbag was clearly identified but was let off due to the cops holding him longer than they had the legal permission to do so and this was an infringement of this poor rapists rights. But its all right for him to go sticking his junkie dick forcefully up any girl he wants then kick the crap out of her.

the legal system is fukd, the guilty get off and the innocent get banged up but the few guilty who actually do get convicted get a pathetic sentence.

In fairness Caesar_Bojangle it goes both ways though... imagine you were accused by some girl of rape even though you had sex with her consent or did not even sleep with her... it happens a lot! Some women shout rape like a shepherd crying wolf... So imagine you were accused by someone.. would you like to get unfair treatment from the gardai and not get your rights respected just because some slapper has mental issues?

Those rights are there to protect the innocent more so than the guilty... in your cousins case he was clearly identified and obviously guilty so in that case it was the fault of the police for not observing the law correctly (ironic no?). Dont blame the law itself... thats there for a reason.. its up to people to enforce it correctly though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

Despite many claims to the contrary, I have a penis and testicles. I have no problem getting an erection. Many times even the arrangement of my boxers can start one up. There is no doubt in my mind that if a woman forced herself on me I'd get one.

Claiming that a man can't be raped by a woman because he couldn't get an erection is a ridiculous thing to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

i agree with just half.
    many date rapists use the "she said no but her body said yes" as if not a defence then a mitigating circumstance at trial.Defence barristers often follow this line (sometime succesfully)in an attempt to muddy the water between consensual and non consensual sex.
    TBH i dont think many males would report a female rapist due to the stigma involved,i remember reading/hearing that a large proportion of male on male rapes go unrepported to the authorities and i would imagine that the stigma of such a female on male offence would make any victim unwilling to go forward.

edited

Backing up what JustHalf said, its not hard to get erection if someone is sitting on it playing with or in anyway touching it. Its not hard to get an unwanted boner no matter how much they resemble jade from big brother. So if they were bigger than you they could force you into copulation no bother.

so men can be raped and animals too i suppose and according to my geography teacher man is raping the rainforest but in her defense there are some crazy tree huggers/lovers/hippies out there, perhaps she meant in the way of destroying it.

dunno, you decide!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Originally posted by daveirl
    Think about it if someone stimulates your penis its not really going to care what your brain has to say about the whole thing
    Indeed, my brain and my penis have rarely spoken to each other to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

I have a recollection that there is no statutory offence of Female on Male rape,i seem to recall the worst an offender can be charged with is "indecent assault" Same as for cases of underage sex.

I remember in 6th class the day the governments special sex education teacher gave us a lecture on sex, she was a horrible looking bitch. Grumpy cow too.

She insisted that a man can never be raped by a woman (she never even mentioned homosexuality) she refused to acknowledge the fact that it could ever happen. She more or less blamed men for every problem in the world from lesbians and pregnancies to premenstrual syndrome.

Anyone ever see that film from the 80's with robin williams were his mother was a nurse in a hospital, she wanted a baby so she raped a a dying married man in a coma or something along them lines?

It could happen to you!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

It was just the bare essentials on how babies were made and why women dont have dicks.

Learned more from my friends than i did in that class, but i must emphasis the fact that she was a horrible looking bitch, grumpy cow too.