Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanna Rant?

• 13-03-2000 11:49am
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

We're looking for a Soapbox (the first of boards.ie!)

The idea is that it should be something you feel passionate/strongly about. It has to be well written (you can't just get up and scream "yis are all faegs, faegs I tell ya!")

If you fancy yourself as a bit of a writter/journo then give it a shot!

The subject matter can be anything under the sun, nothing is taboo but somethings are less likely to get chosen then others (Sex and politics being primary examples).

The author will get put on the front page and a thread will be started for that topic in the relevant section.

Any budding writers or just plain whackos with an axe to grind? (Advertising seems to be a hot topic at the moment smile.gif )

Tom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Wyverne

It is in my opinion a complete disgrace that the level of Human Resources Development is so low in Ireland and England, in comparison to most Western European countries.

the state and stage of staffing, staff development, staff motivation towards their optimum, should be addressed immediatly. there is a huge potential for improvements in efficiency and effectiveness in all firms, thereby reducing costs in both time AND money.
    the other plus, apart from reducing costs, is that staff will be aided in achieving their goals, they will feel more satisfaction within the work place and overall production will increase.

this topic may well be boring for some, but its something i feel strongly about.

This is Commander in chief of the USS Esses, signing off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭tr1n1ty

I take on board a lot of your points wyverne there are a lot of things that could certainly do with improving. I am unfortunately old enough to remember the bad ol'days before the arrival of the Celtic Tiger and 'employment heaven', when there were dozens in line for one job - hopefully we will never return there. However I am going to make myself unpopular by saying the following and only because I have had this experience in previous positions that I have held as a senior manager with 60 staff. In certain sectors and at certain levels there seems to be this 'untouchable' attitude, 'if it doesn't suit me I'll leave'person, folks that, although they've agreed to turn up for interview don't bother, and I'm not talking about one or two, 50% of the total number of interviewees (30)did not attend. I have also dealt with unions who do not understand the meaning of the words discuss, compromise, common sense who took a complete work force out on strike because I dismissed an employee for 'boxing' another member of staff. I could tell you many tales of woe... However I always believed in my staff I always did my best by them but in the end 'they did my head in' and I had to get out of the place before it got to me.

We, as a nation, are going to have to take our 'heads out of the sand' and get a work ethic and stop pretending that life is one big picnic, cause the bad news is that its not I hear on the radio daily of people looking for staff - how do we still have the best part of 200,000 on the dole? who are these people, are they in remote places of this island or are they just lazy shaggers that can't be bothered getting out of bed and going to work and have the attitude - the state will provide....

Well you did call it a soapbox!

To Infinity and Beyond!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

how do we still have the best part of 200,000 on the dole? who are these people, are they in remote places of this island or are they just lazy shaggers that can't be bothered getting out of bed and going to work and have the attitude - the state will provide

a few are lazy, some are just plain thick, but most of them are working their arses off in full or part-time employment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by tr1n1ty:
    - how do we still have the best part of 200,000 on the dole?

eh the latest figure for unemplyment showed around 98,000 people are currently on the 'live register'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by DeVore:

Any budding writers or just plain whackos with an axe to grind? (Advertising seems to be a hot topic at the moment smile.gif )

Tom.

My complaint about Devore

It seems that before I launch into this letter, I should tell you that Mr. Devore's platitudes are a quick-fix detour, a placebo aimed at surface symptoms, and an excuse to break up society's solidarity and cohesiveness. What follows is a series of remarks addressed to the readers of this letter and to Devore himself. Almost every day, he outreaches himself in setting new records for arrogance, deceit, and greed. It's unhesitatingly breathtaking to watch him. There are three points I need to make here. First, he favors an oppressive "Code of Conduct" that serves no purpose other than to meddle in everyone else's affairs. Second, I hope that he regrets what he has done. And third, I'm sticking out my neck a bit in talking about his op-ed pieces. It's quite likely he will try to retaliate against me for my telling you that his sophistries are a cancer that gnaws away at the national psyche.

No doubt, the theoretical fallacies in Devore's objectives run deep. But it is probably safe to assume that Devore's proposed social programs are not just about absenteeism but also about masochism. While there are many intellectually-stultified traitors, Devore is the most ridiculous of the lot. Almost without exception, his relationship to the real world is peripheral. So what's the connection between that and his solutions? The connection is that I'm sincerely afraid of soporific worrywarts.

Devore doesn't want equal time. Devore doesn't want pluralism. Devore just wants to siphon off scarce international capital intended for underdeveloped countries. His idea of a good time is to depressurize the frail vessel of human hopes. This is particularly interesting when you consider that I myself openly confess that his maneuvers are not an isolated case of out-of-touch silly propagandism, but a typical example of how empty-headed he can be. In short, as commonly encountered, fatuitous vagrants lack any of the qualities that mark the civilized person, like courage, dignity, incorruptibility, ease, and confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Vorosha

Now, Tom, roll 3 D6 and subtract the score from your Armour Points.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

wow.

Glad to see I've been busy.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Yeah Castor,

98,000 on the LIVE register, but how many people on various FÁS schemes and ****e like that? (There's plenty of government, i.e me and you, funded schemes to get people off the dole/live register)

In effect, these people definatly make up numbers to at least 200,000, and 'hides' our country's unemployed.

Having said that, most of these people do eventually pick up employment from skills learned on courses/schemes.

Lucutus of Borg

Originally posted by Vorosha:
    Now, Tom, roll 3 D6 and subtract the score from your Armour Points.

Mine is a magical axe though, so he has to roll 4 D8. :P Vorosha, your letting your act slip saying 3D6. Only a RP'ing muppet would know what that means.

I left the link in the previous post, as last time I posted one of those people started acting as if it was real.

Parts of what follows below were actually painful to write. However, because of the ongoing misinformation campaigns launched by Mr. Hobbes and his cronies, I feel it is my duty to write this. Let's start with my claim that Hobbes's recommendations emphasize the formation of small units of surly lackeys that can avoid detection by authorities, strike quickly and disperse, and, to some extent, ridicule, parody, censor, and downgrade opposing protests. I am inwardly repelled by the pettifogging phraseology of his writings and the antisocial style in which they are expressed. It is amazing to me that Hobbes would dare to criticize someone or something without carefully reading what was written. Given a choice of having him up the ante considerably or having my bicuspids extracted sans Novocaine, I would embrace the pliers, purchase some Polident Partials, and call it a day. I recently heard Hobbes tell a bunch of people that freedom must be abolished in order for people to be more secure and comfortable. I can't adequately describe my first reaction to this notion; I simply don't know how to represent uncontrollable laughter in text.

Now that I've been exposed to his epithets, I must admit that I don't completely understand them. Perhaps I need to get out more. Or perhaps he has more understanding of beer and milk regulations than of farsighted plans for the future. If Hobbes ever claims that public opinion is a reliable indicator of what's true and what isn't, we must answer only one thing: "No, the reverse is true." Doesn't he ever get tired of calling everyone "annoying crooks"? Call me old-fashioned, but his hatred knows no bounds.

Think of Hobbes's hijinks as being the sum of two components: a filthy component that consists of Hobbes's desire to identify political and religious groups that are Hobbes's political enemies and re-label them as "bookish salacious devil-worshippers" in order to justify operations against them and a pigheaded component that consists of everything else. We are concerned primarily with the former. As we organize our campaigns against xenophobic pinheads and formulate responses to their rhetoric, it is critical that we challenge the present and enrich the future. Unless Hobbes provides unequivocal evidence to the contrary, I will continue to feel that we are indeed living in disruptive times. Now take that to the next level: Only Hobbes can praise an institution that is as spineless and ill-bred as he himself.

His biases are tinctured with masochism. That, in itself, will condemn us to live with insensitive amnesiacs in the coming days. He consistently falls short of telling the whole story or of making a solid point. A real fight against infantile pessimism-oriented materialism can be undertaken only if a basic change in social conditions makes it possible to increase awareness and understanding of our similarities and differences. Think I'm exaggerating? Just ask any of the most valuable members of our community, and they'll all tell you how we can and we must protect ourselves by any means necessary against the batty bestiality of prolix serpents. Period, finis, and Q.E.D. Given the range and unpredictability of human behavior, it is quite possible that I can indisputably suggest how Hobbes ought to behave. Ultimately, however, the burden of acting with moral rectitude lies with Hobbes himself.

You might think this is all pretty funny now, but I doubt I'll hear you laughing if, as soon as our backs are turned, he is successfully able to pooh-pooh the reams of solid evidence pointing to the existence and operation of a witless coterie of Comstockism. Might I suggest that he search for a hobby? It seems Hobbes has entirely too much time on his hands, given how often he tries to inflict untold misery, suffering, and distress. Let me back up a little: If the people generally are relying on false information sown by unreasonable prevaricators, then correcting that situation becomes a priority for the defense of our nation. I once had a nightmare in which he was free to reward those who knowingly or unknowingly play along with his values while punishing those who oppose them. Do you really want Hobbes to kill the goose bearing the golden egg? I think not. On a closing note, I hope that this letter, while incomplete, informal, and having no authority except its own inner strength and conviction, has clearly demonstrated to you that each liberated mind that examines all of the evidence is a break in the chains that bind us all.

hahahahahaha, classic Hobbes, I can see this getting a good bit of use smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭damo

3 d6 daire?? think about it.....

Seeing as it looks like the Faction stuff is coming in soon, with the anti-macro skill gain looks like I won't be able to steal the sigil (needs at least 80)
    Although by the looks of things it's going to be virtually impossible to take it. Your going to have to own a stronghold in order to take the sigil.

Might be worth more our while just looting the fallen there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

roflmao smile.gif
    hobbes, it would seem you really have a cult following. man, im soo glad im not as talented as you!
    if you want i'll lend you my cloak of invisbility +4.

well,
    and to think that someone told me that i

have waaaay too much time on my hands. well,

i sorry gentlemen, i am not here nearly half

as long as i would need to be to make

judgements about anyone else wrting on these

boards; and even then i would not make a

comment by simple fact that i think you

cannot comment on a person until u have

actually met them (i am of course going to

get stick over this from people who believe

that they best way to get to know a person

is to meet them where there is no face-to

-face complexity or politiking involved, and

maybe that is so, but i am a people person

so i disagree.

so i am not going to comment on anyone, in

actual fact im going to say that i have met

some intelligent, worthwhile and geniunely

interesting people on these boards in my

short time on them, and i have found for the

most part, not the usual crappy chat or

message boards type people who are one-

dimensional, and pretend to be your average

tom cruise or nicole kidman i.e. fakes

so i think rather than downgrading someone

for being a genuine person, we should

maybe recognise that this board is a

place for all kinds of people, not all of

whom are going to get along. those that

dont should maybe acknowledge (and be

greatful for) the fact that we are all

different; yet one and the same.

also; Trinity, thanx a million for ur

thoughts on the matter of hrm. it is a field

i intend to go into a hopefully revamp

completely. with my own ideologies. i would

like to thank u for the benefit of your

experience and training. i know where ur

coming from, and i hope to god i can

find a way around the 'bad elements'

u pointed out that are a very present

annoyance in irish working society.

so fingers crossed, so they say, hehe

"live long and prosper" everyone

Wyverne

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan:

roflmao smile.gif
    hobbes, it would seem you really have a cult following. man, im soo glad im not as talented as you!
    if you want i'll lend you my cloak of invisbility +4.

lol, Damo's actually making me laugh. What's even funnier is, he's actually doing his research which means he's reading the RP area quite a bit.

The sad thing about playing the RP thing for me is, I play it like any other online game where someone like Venom could from the stuff he gets in the game make some serious real life cash on eBay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

My names amp and I'm here to aid those of you short attention spans through this thread. Many of you will notice that a lot of big words and indeed ideas are used throughout, so here is a brief and probably wildly inacurrate summary:

Dev wants a soapbox.

Wyverne feels strongly about HR.

So does Trinity but in a different way especially about those on the scratcher.

ButcherofNog gets controversal about said scratcher.

CT doubts Trinitys scratcher data.

Hobbes uses big thinky words to attack Dev.

Verosha introduces a RP reference.

Dev says "wow".

Lucutus adds some info on Trinitys data.

CT almost breaks the big-thinky-wordometer.

Damo expands on Veroshas RP reference.

WWman comments on Hobbes post and offers cloak.

Wyverne says the Boards are intellectual.

Hobbes comments on RP.

I hope this small service has been of use to you and has enhanced your enjoyment of this thread.

amp

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭Gamblor

Originally posted by amp:
    My names amp and I'm here to aid those of you short attention spans through this thread. Many of you will notice that a lot of big words and indeed ideas are used throughout, so here is a brief and probably wildly inacurrate summary:

Thanks .... i think .. still think a tail attack would of worked better than anything else... but thats just me
    ( not played any role play in hmm if i have to remember thats too long !!!)

***** Feel my Evil Neon Claws *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Amp!!! what a great idea, can you do that for the 'Better than leagues...' post on the Quake board?

For the craic, loike!

biggrin.gif

Lucutus of Borg

Well Lucutus, I would but due to length of the post Spinsol and I would have to come to some sort of finiancial arrangement first wink.gif

P.s yis are all faegs, faegs I tell ya!
    P.s.s *ouch*

[This message has been edited by amp (edited 15-03-2000).]

[This message has been edited by DeVore (edited 16-03-2000).]

Charmed, I'm sure smile.gif

Ah Eamo, the magic hasn't gone away has it?

The lengths I go to to increase our postings/hits on the boards! With regard to my information on unemployment figures - well Charlie McCreevy I'm not but the approximate figure I quoted is one thats constantly ringing in my ears. But its a good question what is it made up of - I will check.

Thank you Wyn for your comments - I have always believed in 'looking at the whites of peoples eyes' as they say 'they are the windows to the soul'. But seriously I would make a career change and fast. I know to many HR folk and you can't have a decent conversation with them without them trying to double guess what your up to. They are a very uptight bunch of people - I can understand- they are management within a company but they are supposed to protect workers rights etc. One can end up being an unpopular person all round. No matter which way you jump one or other party is not going to be happy. So a bit of advice, if you want to hold on to your sanity don't go into HR.

To Infinity and Beyond!

Dev;

Sorry you asked yet!

To Infinity and Beyond!

Right, so the type of cheese I mentioned earlier has been removed. I have by now mentioned this term in a number of posts around the boards. (Some are still there for those that are quick smile.gif )

I don't know how the particlular term in question will affect the youth of today and at this point I would just like to apologize to all those truamatically affected for using such a term in what is obviously a family orientated forum. Rest assured that the terms and phrases I use in the future will reflect the family orientated nature of this forum.

P.s Hey, update the forgeting censor forgeting list you forgeting melonforgetters!

P.s.s Howabout a clearer, easier to find statement of exactly was is allowed/disallowed on the boards.

P.s.s 4 5|<1|\| <|-|353 4 3\/3R

P.i.s.s o.f.f

P.s.s.s I'm well pi553d (handy get out of jail excuse when I wake up on saturday and realise that I may have annoyed certain sensistive types on these fine boards. Also am I the first "victim" of Devores new found Captaincy since he gave up admining everything. Write to me and tell me if I'm not. Maybe we'll get a slot on Oprah or failing that Claire! I can see the title now = I was opressed by the Anti-Christ known as DeVore)

P.s.s.s.s. And for those that have a stick up there solid waste extraction port = wink.gif see ya when I'm sober! Ya Fupheads!

LMAO@AMP

HEHE

very nice,
    it seems alot of people want to rant smile.gif

maybe u should think about setting up a 'rant' section, where u're allowed say what u want whenever u want

just a thought biggrin.gif

Ask before ye "TAKE IT"