Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool close in on Bargin-priced Duff

• 18-07-2002 6:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Damien Duff could be a Scouse Red by Saturday it seems and whatsmore for a givaway price of £8 million, which sounds like a
    typpo, but aparently not and with no-one going the other way as "ballast".

Yipeeee! :D We'll win everything in the new season!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Let's hope so! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

He's goin to liverpool? W00T!!
    As they say in cork, he's a grand bit of stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭dougal

That website seems to be a ball of shíte.
    They post rumours as if they were fact.
    What a load of crap that Sounness would sell him to Liverpool cos he has some loyalty to them.
    He has no choice in the matter - highest bidder will win unless Duff decides for one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Wishful thinking by 'Pool fans.

The fact is that Blackburn have several very talented players, (Jansen, Dunn etc) and Blackburn dont need to sell anyone for money reasons.

So if Duff leaves, it wont be a Bargain basement sale! Seeing as Keegamn payed 20mil for anelka, and duff is a far better player, that should set the benchmark.

Anyway why would Duff leave 1 of the three clubs who have won the Premiership, for a club that has never done so?
    Unless he studied Ancient History in school that is, cause thats what liverpools past is.

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Blackburn are not the club the once were and in my opinion have no chance of winning the premiership again. Duff is right to go...if he does. What I want to know is how many players does Houllier think he needs to the most unwieldy and one of the most expensive premiership squads he has already added two and soon with Bowyer three players. This is ridiculous and is approaching Lazio and their worst when nobody knew what their best team was. Not even the manager. I mean having Heskey, Owen, Diouf, Litmanen and the young yugoslav bloke whose name I forget going for 2 places 1 of which is always going to be owens is a sure fire way to have a group of pissed off players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

baros you mean dapper?..he's czech btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I agree about Houliers buying spree, it makes no sense to buy in Bowyer, the mid-fields fine already, but Duff would add something 'Pool lack - namely a proper left-sided player so be it 8 or 16 or 24 million, buying him would be good business.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

I'd love to see him play in the spanish league. Watch him thrive with Barcelona or Real and really make a name for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Why is it that everyone seems to say the Premiership is so different to the Old First Division. Its the same bloody teams etc well in the respect the usual few who are always there or there abouts. All thats changed is the size of the league imho and the influx of money that is slowly ruining the game.

Alos duff for 8 million idl ove ot see it but doubht it severely. I hope the bid for Bowyer falls through tbh. The further that ass stays away from the hallowed land the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

I'll believe it when I see it! If every rumour about a player moving to Liverpool was true then we'd have trouble rotating our squad of 387 players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Originally posted by mike65
    I agree about Houliers buying spree, it makes no sense to buy in Bowyer, the mid-fields fine already, but Duff would add something 'Pool lack - namely a proper left-sided player so be it 8 or 16 or 24 million, buying him would be good business.

Mike.

I could be wrong, but Patrick Berger seems to be a left-sided player- as does Jon-Arne Rise. Duff's arrival at Liverpool would give them a proper winger, something they haven't had since the 70s tbh. Still, seems unlikely, given that Blackburn are trying to return to their fairly recent glories, selling Duff wouldn't be a smart move from that point of view.

Occy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Rev. Funky

Originally posted by Xterminator

Anyway why would Duff leave 1 of the three clubs who have won the Premiership, for a club that has never done so?
    Unless he studied Ancient History in school that is, cause thats what liverpools past is.

X
    oh a petty United Supporter, sure lets make up a new league and then start new record books, its amazing that United have all these records and their supporters are so proud of them, thing is most of them are only premiership records, it still stands 18titles and 4 European Cups, btw a good team wins the European Cup, and f*****g great team retains it!

Sad Rev Funky

I am no ManYoo supporter.

Whats the matter did I sting your pride with my comments?

In Football, things can change .. look at the mighty Everton now!

Now liverpool were sliding badly, till Houlier gave them a shot in the arm. But coming second doesnt count for ****e. No one cares about runners up. But that shot in the arm could eb running out of gas.
    Fowler out, Anelka didnt shine when on loan, Heskey not prolific on front of goal, and Owen struggling to stay fit for a run of matches. New boy Cisse has a lot to prove! And WTF is Barros?

Unless liverpool win the title, and /or the champions league this year, then they wont be improving on last year! And if they failed to qualify for the champions league next season, it could be a disaster!

X

P.S. Duff will cost yis £20 mil.
    "And thats the bottom line cause Souness said so!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

Duff in Rio bracket - Rovers

Blackburn have reiterated only an "absolutely ridiculous offer" will prise Damien Duff away, citing Rio Ferdinand's £30m fee as an example.
    Republic of Ireland ace Duff has been the subject of mounting speculation regarding his future, with Liverpool reportedly set to offer £15m for his services.
    Duff flew out with the rest of the Rovers squad for their pre-season trip to Austria on Monday, despite reports suggesting he would stay at home in an attempt to secure a move to one of the Premiership's elite clubs.
    Rovers manager Graeme Souness has revealed that Rovers have received two enquiries into Duff's availability - believed to be from Liverpool and Manchester United - but insists no offers have been made and warned any interested parties that they would have to break the bank to tempt Rovers to sell.
    Souness feels that Duff should be valued in the same bracket as Ferdinand, who will complete a £30m move from Leeds to Manchester United on Monday.
    "The fact is that unless we receive an absolutely ridiculous offer, Damien will be playing his football with us at Blackburn next season and the season after. Hopefully, he will be signing a new contract soon," Souness told Sky Sports.
    "I don't blame people making enquiries for some of our players because we have some very good players at the club but it's going to take £20m plus (to buy Duff).
    "If Rio is worth that sort of money, Damien's the same age and forwards who score and create goals usually go for more than defenders, so perhaps he's worth more than £30m."

This is off Teamtalk.com.
    Not exactly a bargain i'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

Originally posted by mike65
    I agree about Houliers buying spree, it makes no sense to buy in Bowyer, the mid-fields fine already, .

Mike.

Who are you kidding!? The midfield is far from fine.
    The goalkeeper is fine, the defence is fine, the forward line is fine, the midfield is the reason they didn't win the league last year.

They have no wide players at all. Riise is good but not a natural winger. They have absolutely no-one of quality on the right.., if i was a liverpool fan, the thought of starting another season with Vladimir Smicer on the right would do to me what knowing Fabien Barthez will be in goal for Man Utd next season does. Terrify me.

The right wing is even a priority iver the left.
    And while Hammann and Gerrard are both world class players, they are two similar. Both defensive midfielders. In time i'd choose Gerrard over Hammann, but Gerrard is still young and although he's already a better player than hammann he's too young to play a full season. His career would be plagued by injuries. The doctors at anfield warned the club to wait a couple of years, saying he was still growing and it would cause him problems later in his career.
    They need another midfielder, an attacking midfielfder, world class, someone who can cut open teams and win the games for them that they normally draw 0-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Your vehement anti-Liverpool stance is admirable Xterminator, but give it a rest, its getting old. And I agree with darthmise; we desperately need an attacking midfielder of World Class stature. Thankfully Houllier realised Bowyer wasnt the answer.

Sorry!

I'm not really anti 'Pool, but the arrogance of presuming that Duff will just up sticks, and leave. Its the way they are acting like its a done deal. And is seems to be coming from the 'pool fans.

Do they think they have a divine right to sign him just cause he's better that their current crop of prima donnas?

Well tuff!
    He's contracted to Rovers, we can match any wage offer you can make, we dont need to sell, and we dont want to sell.

X