Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This community and the next steps..

• 14-06-2002 5:40pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok, we need to sort a few things out. Partly mea culpa to have allowed things to go a bit nuts from the start.

Anyway, there is some things I want to straighten out.

1. There are security concerns with BN. how we handle them is within our control to decide.

2. Clearly Daz is going to get flak when he executes any authority (rightly or wrongly). That said, he's put a huge amount of effort into this game and the website etc and deserves some slack, the lads only human after all (I on the other hand, am a GOD! :) )

3. for reasons 2 and 3 I'm going to take over as chief admin. This means changes to the game (pre and during) will be put through me and a pressure check to ensure fairness etc.

4. Daz is still going to be an admin as I'll need the help and despite what any of you say he's very diligent and has the games best interest at heart.

5. We need to get a set of community rules in place. I suspect that the bounties put on people are insufficent to pay for the ship that has to be destroyed to get it.

Alliances are there to bond players together, and since the game actively encourages passing money to each other, this is probably expected.

We have to agree what is and ISNT in the spirit of the game, then the ground rules are set and players can play hard as they like to win by any means within those rules.

We need an agreed way to punish people who break those rules (just like any society).

We need an impartial and trusted judge. That would be me...RIGHT!?! :)

From next game forward I will ONLY be accepting boards names as player names... this is for many reasons, not the least of which is multiing players. It will also allow for out of game communication.
    If I catch anyone blatantly cheating, the punishment will go further then the BN game.

You might think that to multi all you have to do is set up another boards account and that I wont be able to trace it back to you.
    Many many muppets have thought that before. They were all wrong too :)

If you want to chuck ideas in here then fire ahead.

DeV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Dazzer

Aye the multi issue needs to be sorted, during the space of roughly two weeks I had to delete 30 or so accounts for multing and yes I did double check them all :rolleyes: and sometimes triple checked them.

I never saw myself as head admin but seems tho everything happened very very fast I suppose I can see where people might have gotten this idea.

Basically the only reason I am an admin is.

<Dazzer> Cloud I think we might need an admin for BlackNova Traders, and a lot of people are asking for a reset.
    <Cloud-Warrior> Ok your now an admin.
    <Dazzer> Ok oO

As soon as I told a few people I was an admin I recieved roughly around 10 or so private messages on IRC asking me to reset or at least make the galaxy bigger. Before thinking about what I was doing I changed something before first finding out what the feck it does. After I did this I basically fecked the game up and had no idea how to fix it. I did fix it in the end but it was too late and most people agreed to a reset which I also got some grief for. Anyway my point is people who do not know the full facts about things should try to reserve comment or at least e-mail me / private message me and you will find I am a lot less hot headed when talking to someone who can string together more than 2 sentences without a flame / slagging / or telling how much of a bad person / admin I am. The only response you will ever get from flaming me / slagging me / telling how much of a bad person / admin I am is "I do not give a ****", I have much much more important things to worry about.

I apologise if what I did was wrong, but I still feel I was right. This game has been plagued with people abusing certain features from the go and this one really pissed me off.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I dont make any judgment on the Cast thing, but its something
    that was bound to come up sooner or later (differences of opinion with the authority in the game).

As Daz says, this burden was suddenly dumped on him and my thanks for taking the strain Daz. The two of us will work on it from now on.

That means now you all have to deal with _my_ eratic decisions :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Just one point.

If your goinging decide on a set of special "boards" rules please stick to them of the round duration, thats 2 rounds where the purity of the game has been upset.

Oh and decide how your going to punish players so we all know and there are no surprises.

I don't really care after that. Although if someone was to tweak the ship - planet combat system I would also be very happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

about using boards names, i was thinking of going under a different name next time, and try go it alone, considering some of the annoying, underhanded things i was doing, some people could be a little pissed at me and mark me in the next game.....

...maybe if some one wants to use a different name have them email daz with thier details to say look , this is me on boards but i want to use this name on blacknova... just an idea

...as for rules, well its going to be difficult to shape a set of rules if the games FAQ gives conquerer as a job descripition...but if take the g police in the light of the sardaukar (dune), as in the police of the galaxy, but in also protection for hire, and for the over thowing of anti-federation players.....

lets say im constructing a sector but , im tight for turns , i can say to the g police can i have 1.5 mil mines and 1.5 mil fighters for sector def, while i build 3 planets and build three bases on them, it saves spending some money on that instead of lugging all the defenses over yourself and when the planets are up and running or when the contract is up , the defenses are taken down, or the g police could be paid to put up sector defenses only if you have a 50plus good rating

you could make it more interesting where if a member of an alliance does a bad thing in federation space or tries to smack around the g police, the bounty may be on the perps head but the alliance is also responsible and retribution can be taken from any alliance member or members planet...

also have it that g police planet scans dont show up in the log, give them a little edge

the gpolice should know , who has killed who and planet histories, was taken by, destroyed by.....a good comprehensive log of the galaxy and whats happening...

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

the thought of punishing the alliance for the sins of a member is good :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

how about daly news, just sum up who destroyed who, who conqured who's planet from whom and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

for a punishment you could do a confiscation thing with the g-police and a bit of "hacking", basically remove all the fighters/torps from his some of his planets and have the G-police take them over.

thus adding to the g-police power and giving the naughty offender a good seeing to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭geo

well lets face it im against heavy admin powers of g-police
    i think they should have powers as obeservers only but grow as they like .etc but can only retalate for attacks (this is because they could use info found to find ppls main planets)
    g-police would be like an independant allience who would all have to be mature enough not giving out ppls sector numbers...i think that dev is the only person who should actually be able to change it...that way we dont end up with a repeat of ppl loosing planets for no reason .etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

I'm with geo on the g-police issue. I dont think that they should be like gods with the power to change the code to reduce ppl's planets etc....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

yeah im with them and maybe a warning system so if you do something wrong you get a warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Kraken

if someone where to put up a set of rules that we could all see it might be a good start they will probably have to be changed a fair bit but thats something the community should do.

G-Police didnt work out this round due to a few factors 1 Daz was very much on his own. people had only one person to complain about/to. Give his situation he did well. granted he made a one or two decision's i didnt agree with but that was his choice and responsability. 2 there role was not defined very well and people from word go even before they were created were giving out about them. Hopefully with current issues behind us we can realise what exactly they do and even give them a certain set of rules if they are to be brought in to the next round.

Also im not a game admin so people you dont need to complain to me about anything if you want help np's ill do what i can but thats about all i can do.

ill go throught the current set of rules to day if i get a chance and see what i can come up with.

G - Police did not work for a few reasons which I wont get into. I still think they are a good idea altho I do accept the way it is run at the moment needs to be changed. Only two members is not enough.

I like the idea of being a hired gun myself :) And if we could get 5 or so members all willing to help out then it could work.

As for people using boards.ie name I do agree, however I would not mind people using different names as long as they inform me or DeVore. I did at the start of the round try to inforce this and asked a few people in the game what thier Boards name was, after they told me I didnt mind. I think if we decide to do this then we also need to decide that anyone who uses a different name and does not inform us will be deleted and loses any right to complain about being deleted on the boards.

I think a set of ground rules needs to be decided on pretty soon so could people throw around a few ideas and me and DeVore will discuss them.

And wheter it works or not if I start G - Police again this will mean I will have the power to reduce planets to nothing. But I wont be fidling with anything and the reason I will remain as an admin for now at least is to help stop multis, check logs and help out DeVore when needs be which is why I suggested we needed an admin in the first place.

I think the main reason G-Police didnt work this round is because it was introduced to the game to early.

I also think that G-Police should play the game like everyone else. That way they may actually be able to enjoy the game.

I think most level headed people with some clue should realise the work that daz has put in to the game. without him it could quiet possibly be fupped,

We will just have to what next round brings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

are we allowed attack G-Police sectors that are not 99 and 100 ?

i think we should.

1. Yes. Sectors 99 and 100 where meant to be a safe haven where people could park thier ship for the night, now there is no way this can work unless people stop attacking in the sector and capturing the planets. I know sector 0 can be used but its useless for anyone with a hull size bigger than 8. I dont want to have to put a huge amount of defence in the sector therefore making the toll stupidlly big.

2. The idea was also to try and prevent large players attacking much smaller players. Now I thought the bounty system would work but it's clear people will try and abuse this unless it's written into the boards rules. If anyone has any better idea to try and stop this please post below. I also thought the bounty system would add a little variation to an otherwise repetitive game.

3. To try and get people more attracted to joining the G - Police I will remove any and all constrants on growing too big.

4. I think if DeVore makes a decision to delete any player for cheating that we all respect this decision wheter we like it or not. Peoples opinions will vary and we must respect this.

5. Anyone caught using multi accounts should be deleted without been giving a chance, you all know at this stage that we dont want multis, you all know its wrong so if your caught doing it dont pretend you didnt know and accept that you will be deleted.

Ill think of more later. Please post below on your thoughts of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

from montys post, could we have random space monsters like the borg or the shadows,

just some thing else than running into players ships, a common enemy that can randomly appear , try to pick a fight and move on, have it more attracted to large sectors with built up areas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Daz can't you just edit your to fill up the sector planets with millions of fighters and torpedos so no one could imagine attacking.

Aye good idea actually, that way people could land on the planet to rest thier ship for the night. Stupid me never thought about this. Altho this will mean I will have a high score to start with so as long as noone has a problem with this then I think its a good idea.
    from montys post, could we have random space monsters like the borg or the shadows,

just some thing else than running into players ships, a common enemy that can randomly appear , try to pick a fight and move on, have it more attracted to large sectors with built up areas...

Cant be done unless the game programmers put it in, or unless we can get someone who knows php to put it in.
    Another alternative is bots which the game does support so if DeVore can figure out how to put them in we could have a vote on wheter or not they should be used.

i think bots are a big yeah. would be fun to kill bots as well as g-police i mean other players :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

well celt things have changed a bit since then we have actually played the game a bit since then and know how slow it can be from time to time.

I dont think anyone would mind another revote assuming dev can figure out how to get them working in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Originally posted by Kraken
    well celt things have changed a bit since then we have actually played the game a bit since then and know how slow it can be from time to time.

I dont think anyone would mind another revote assuming dev can figure out how to get them working in the game.
    Make a new vote then and sticky it.