Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people lost in the woods....

• 26-02-2000 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭

This is more of a maths problem, NOBODY gets it right:
    There were 3 men lost in the woods. The 1st one had 5 logs, and the second one had 3 logs. The third one had no logs, but he had 8 kopecks (russian? coin). He says to the other two:
    "Alas, I have no logs, but I have 8 kopecks which i will give to the two of you if you share your logs with me"
    How should the kopecks be divided amongst the other two?
    all the info is here, identical logs, etc.

Try that paladin! its not what you think it is.....
    Reason too, because i don't really understand it fully... but it is simple and i know the answer - even though nobody is going to get it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

That is a tough one.
    WHAT THE HELL IS BEING ASKED?
    Can I put it this way and it mean the same thing?

3 guys were outside a nightclub
    1 had 5 joints, 1 had 3 joints and the other had none. He did however have 80 quid. He wants to get stoned too so if the joints are shared how much money should the other dudes get?

Even that doesnt make much sense.
    Perhaps a little explaination?
    smile.gif
    Dont worry though. If I knew what was being asked...

One ring to rule them all, One ring to to find them,
    One ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

dunno... tricky one. I'd say NO. that is not the same. I'll give the reason now, because it makes the question easier.
    If they were giving out joints, each person would use their own joint, and thats it.
    Logs burn, and EVERYBODY gets to share in the heat coming from the fire......

dunno... tricky one. I'd say NO. that is not the same. I'll give the reason now, because it makes the question easier.
    If they were giving out joints, each person would use their own joint, and thats it.
    Logs burn, and EVERYBODY gets to share in the heat coming from the fire......

Weird. I don't know how that happened.... possessed browser i'd say pressed back button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Try double-clicking (a few times) on the Submit button smile.gif

Look at the time, 2 minute interval between each post??? explain that i ask. and also the problem about the logs while you're at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Wyverne

erm...?

OK then.
    You would think straight off that the way it should be divided would be 5 coins to guy with 5 logs and 3 coins to guy with 3 logs, but that is just too easy smile.gif

I rekon its like this (im still tired btw just woke up smile.gif):

If they burn all the logs then 5/8 of the energy is produced buy guy with 5 logs and 3/8 by other guy.
    Of the heat that is produced they each get 1/3 not counting the huge heat loss.
    BUT! the guy with 3 logs gets heat from the guy with 5 logs also so he owes HIM money too.
    So its split like this:
    7 to the dude with 5 logs and 1 to the dude with 3 logs.
    Im prolly wrong but thats what I came uup with smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Paladin (edited 27-02-2000).]

looks very good pladin , and u're prolly right, but i wanna try an work it out(im prolly wrong tho, ffs)

the guy with no logs is getting heat from both!
    the guy with three logs HAS three logs and is therefore generating more than 1/3 of the heat, i.e enuff for himself and more
    AND the guy with five logs is also generating enuff heat for himself and more ----

so 1/3 of the heat would be 2.66 (recuring) logs

so the guy with three logs is giving the guy with no logs -- 0.333333 (recuring) of a log in generated heat -- with me so far

and the guy with five logs is giving the guy with no logs -- 2.333333 (recuring) of logs in generated heat --- o.k.

so the 8 kopecks must be divided in the ratio

2.333333 : 0.333333
    or
    2 1/3 : 1/3

which means that:

the guy with 5 logs receives 7 kopecks
    and
    the guy with 3 logs receives 1 kopecks

paladin my man u were right, but possibly not in the way u did it?

again i'm impressed!

This is Commander in chief of the USS Esses, signing off.

I just included the reasoning Wyv. I left out the maths, cause that was pretty much self explanitory when u know the reason/method.

soz
    paladin,
    not pladin, no intention to damn ur name....
    erm, well not really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

if they're lost in a wood, why would he be buying logs ?
    I reckon he should buy matches instead.

WOOHOO!!!
    Paladin, you're a genius. That is the answer, and me and a few other geniuses have been killing ourselves since last march trying to reason it out logically, but couldn't. That is the right answer, congratulations. One guy i know was a Sub for the Irish maths team last year (he came 8th in Ireland) he'll be on it this year, and he couldn't understand it properly. Another guy i know came 13th in ireland, and he couldn't explain it either.
    I'd put a load of smilies and stuff here, but i don't really know how.... smile.gif

still can't get over that. the amount of sleep i missed.... i was up until 5 O'Clock last night going through my notes and writing away trying to work it out.

Sorry Wyv, didn't read your answer. You the man too: hail, bow, etc.

LOL M8 smile.gifsmile.gif
    Im future ill play dumb 4 ya! tongue.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Koopa

ehh actually i think the man with no logs should give the man with 5 logs 5/8 of the money, and the man with 3 logs 3/8 of the money, what they do with the money is their own affair, and he is not responsible for figuring out how much the guy with the 3 logs(hmm) pays the guy with the 5 logs.. in fact, if i was the guy with 3 logs, i would be offended by the man with no logs's presumptousness in trying to sort out my monetary affairs with the man with 5 logs, so to repeat if the man with no logs HAS to give away all his money, he should give 5 coins to the man with 5 logs, and 3 coind to the man with 3 logs

#
    etc

smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

So you're saying it was all an elaboate plot to trick the frenchman into letting down his guard so he could be easily seduced by the evil Russian....OF COURSE...IT'S SO SIMPLE!

tct

eek.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

But what I want to know is, why would the mayor have taken the bribe if he knew internal affairs were after him? And why did Meg Ryan make an appearance in the middle as herself?

Kevin is bored.

We are superfriends
    Super friends are we

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

The French wait for no man........you'd do well to remember that BUSTER!

tct

eek.gif

Meg Ryan
    grrrrr babay very grrrrrrr