Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fifa ban Irish tricolour flags!!

• 11-06-2002 3:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭

FIFA has decreed that flags with people, pub or place names on them are simplky a cheap form of advertising. If it wasn't for the donations from many a 'local' quite an amount junior and schoolboy clubs would not survive.

"I don't know why FIFA did not tell us about this months ago so we could have informed the fans. They intend to either take the flags away or cover the names of the bars on the flags because they think it is a form of cheap advertising. It's going to affect probably 85% of our flags in the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

patent wind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Keep on Trekin
    FIFA has decreed that flags with people, pub or place names on them are simplky a cheap form of advertising

****ing hell. FIFA really are a load of stingy ****

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

they probably got **** off the sponsors over it

People actually believe this? cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭BJJ

It's true I heard this on the radio, it's called illegal advertising, or unfair sponsorship using the grounds of the world cup and world cup flags.

Have you noticed that Irish flags have the most stuff wrote on them?

Also it is illegal to deface or write on any country's national flag.

I'd like to see Fifa try and enforce this on 10,000 Irish fans.

Impossible!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Stinkah

LOL

I can't believe what I'm hearing. This is a farce.

I mean, fairy nuff, it's a good point, but omg. I think most Irish flags have text on them that get them noticed. Like that "Davey Keogh Says Hello" flag that is absolutely everwhere Ireland ever play.

Just a tad bit OTT by Fifa in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

I saw my favorite flag during the game against Saudi. It had "DUFF" written on it but when the camera initially showed it the left quarter was blocked off leaving "UFF".

I don't know which surprised me more, Ireland scoring 3 goals in a match or seeing "U F F" on a tricolour at the world cup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Fùck it. Its a bit stupid putting names of pubs on tricolours anyway. Put your team name on it, or if you don't support an Irish team, then your local junior team, or your town, or something. Its about time FIFA did something about this. It will affect the English fans as well, but not to the same degree as the Irish fans. Most of the English support teams from inside their own country, so the decision of what to write on their flags is that bit easier.
    Its been the best WC ever for flags. The seats in most grounds don't go right down to ground level, so there's lots of room. Its been really great seeing the Crumlin tricolour at yesterdays Brazil game for example, it made Craig Brown on 5live say "Shamrock Rovers" and "Rivaldo" in the same sentence...

Why is it stupid putting names of pubs on flags?

Just because some people dont support thier local pìss poor local team, doesnt mean they have to put its name on a flag instead of somewhere they REALLY associate with football. Its up to them, not to FIFA (i still dont believe this story btw, anyone got a link to verify it?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭TetsuoHashimoto

Dustaz you are an @-Hole

Flags Forbidden from Celtic Rangers Games
    CAIN: CSC: Report - Sport and Community Relations in Northern ...
    ... on the part of the sport's governing body to ban ... in the future since, in 1993, the
    IFA has adopted FIFA's ' ... in tacit recognition of the volatile nature of Irish ...
    cain.ulst.ac.uk/csc/reports/

The 43-year-old factory worker knows it will be the most daunting destination he has visited in 35 years following the team. He was eight when he first saw Ireland play and his banner has become a legend among Irish fans and players alike. Visible at every Irish fixture, it simply says: 'Davy Keogh says hello.'
    But despite the war on terrorism affecting the stability of the region and a blanket alcohol ban in Iran, the prospect of staying at home was never a real consideration. As Mick McCarthy's side attempt to reach the finals of a major championship through a play-off for a third time, Keogh, from inner-city Dublin, will join a band of 400 other fans making the journey to the Iranian capital.

http://www.observer.co.uk/Print/0,3858,42911677,00.html

SportingNews.com - Soccer : Spanish government urges soccer clubs ...
    Spanish government urges soccer clubs to ban flags, fan violence prior to this week's European
    Champions League match between Real Madrid and FC Barcelona. www.sportingnews.com/soccer/articles/ 20020504/401319.html

AngloINFO Newsroom - Irish News Headlines
    them green with envy (Guardian Unlimited)Irish fans arrested in Japan (BBC)SIPTU
    warn Government on wages (Irish Examiner)FIFA ban on Irish 'cheap ads' flags
    www.angloinfo.com/news/default.asp?ID=9&Cat=0 - 14k - 14 Jun 2002

BBC - Northern Ireland - Sport - Recent Votes
    ... treble? Yes 72.0% No 28.0%. Were FIFA right to ban Flags from N Ireland Games? Yes ... down?
    Yes 41.5% No 58.5%. Will Linfield win the Irish league? ...
    www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/ sidelines/votes_recent.shtml -

Try providing working links next time you insult me pal.

Judging by your pasting, most of those links refer to politcal slogans on flags or the actual flags themselves.
    The subject of this thread is advertising on flags, and the two links that seem to relate to that seem to be both out of order and very out of date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭BJJ

I checked those links, no problem they worked Ok.

And the winner of dry @ss d1ck-head of the year goes tooooo......

Dustaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭TetsuoHashimoto

Don't get too worked up 'bout Dustaz he's just one of those professional ****heads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭JarJar blinks

Do not get yourself worked up about FIFA.
    They're just a bunch of money grabbin theives in a shirt and tie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Jake

Im afraid Im in the spoil sport camp on this one!
    I find some of the stuff on the flags embarrasing eg Dunphy-its only a game, why couldnt it have been written on a white sheet (probably would have been more visible anyway as it would have stood out more), why the hell associate that man with the tricoulor when he was cheering for the opposition?
    Much as it pains me I have to agree with Bateman!
    I reckon if ye wanna put your town or team you support on it well fair enough!
    But hello to the folks back home and where ye get pissed on a saturday night! cmon................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

i hope you all know that it is an offence to deface the irish flag by putting writing on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

TetsuoHashimoto - those first two links dont work for me. The second two links don't have anything to do with FIFA's banishment of text on tricolour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

davey keogh is a wanker anyway

Dustaz, I stand by what I said. Using your national flag to advertise a pub is pathetic. How do you know peple are "expressing something they REALLY associate with football"? I wonder how many of these people you actually know. Two pubs local to me bring tricolours to games simply to advertise their pubs, you are being naieve if you think that the primary reason for putting a pub name on a tricolour is anything other than advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ciaran

It's still a damn sight better than having Chelsea FC or Liverpool on a tricolour.

Too true, too true, although there are probably some people on here who think its great that we have the names of foreign teams emblazoned on our national flag. Although I said "foreign", rather than "British", or "English", I await pathetic accusations of anti-English racism and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Jake

I reluctantly just took down from the front of my house my tricolour with the name of a foreign team on it!
    Its got celtic fc champions and a large celtic cross on the white section, with a harp either side
    Strange thing is several people in my area have flags with the name and crest of this particular foreign team outside there houses as well!

Mind you, not as many as have those "guinness tricolours" hanging out of their bedroom windows, saw something in the paper today about Guiness being asked to pay 100 grand to charity for defacing the flag!

Didnt read the article though so I dont know the circumstances of the fine (if indeed they were fined) can you be fined for something like that?