Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATTENTION female metalers

• 03-06-2002 10:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

if ur living in Dublin, play either guitar,bass or drums, are aged between 13-17 and are interested in starting a metal band reply to me at angelic666demon@hotmail.com .

Im a female vocalist determined to start a band like the likes of Kittie .Totally open to your ideas if your interested.....
    no time wasters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

All I can say is good luck....not enough female metal bands around....and try to avoid the whole *metal bellow* thing....makes Kittie sound like their in labour of something.....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I really can't stand Kittie...
    I think they're one of the worst bands on the planet.
    No offence to you personally, I'm just going to say, don't do anything like Kittie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Khynareth

I used to like Kittie, until I saw them on stage...
    I just wish you good luck and wish you to be far better than they are!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

All I can say is... stay heavy and true. Oh yes! And play plenty of solos. And sing like that one in Arch Enemy!

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

hey if you need a groupie, you know where to find me;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Now THIS is what I'm talking about!

angela_la1.jpg
    and...
    angela_la2.jpg

Yum... Hopefully Arch Enemy will be coming to Ireland quite soon!

Speaking of female metal singers...
    Cadaveria from Opera IX had one hell of a vocal!
    Pity her solo stuff is so intensly crap.

She had a great range, and a very unique voice.

big_3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Yeah - Arch enemy look great ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭sinus

just as long as ye dont go all sill like tarrie b from my ruin/tura satana/manhole

me prefers a aimmie echo human waste project or the bird from guano apes styling of vocals!

i sing like a girl can i join???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 angelicdemon

where do u live? and can u play anything? and how old r u

Originally posted by sinus
    me prefers a aimmie echo human waste project or the bird from guano apes styling of vocals!

Guano Apes suck donkey balls....I mean they are second rate when compared to Opera IX or anyone else for that matter...

But hey they're not as bad as Sugar Coma....;)

Ah, another person here who has heard of Opera IX!

Yep...I have the album "The call of the wood" and a song they did on some Iron Maiden tribute CD....

Gotta say I like em lots....

Very good Iron Maiden cover, I must say.
    I don't have Call of the wood, but I have 'Sacro Culto' and 'The Black Opera'

Black Opera is the best, I think.

Haven't heard Black Opera but am pretty despreate to get it....

As well as their new one "Maleventum"....

Argh!!!! The pain of being poor!!!!

Maleventum is meant to be quite bad.
    They've got a new singer now, some guy called Madras.
    And one of the main things about Opera IX was Cadaveria's vocals.
    I'm not sure how they'll fare without her, but I can't say I'm rushing out to grab the album.

but if anyone was to start a band in galway....or start something with me, bring it on...

pearl jam a must...me no want to do a covers band, me wanna go all about original, at the mo i am jsut wasting my time recording my solo poo...but wanna do more of a band thing...

anyone wanna chat over a pint or too and talk about setting up a band..???

Well, I'm trying to get my band up and running here in Galway.
    Firstly, what instruments can you play?

And secondly, my band is an experimental black metal band, is that to your tastes?

Are you looking for a keyboard/piano player?

experimental black metal?!? kudos to you, but not my creative outlet dude!

but i am managing a trash metal band called "demise" from dingle (me hometown!) and a punk band called eire51

me used to play bass and lead vocals in my last band, but this time around i wanna go more for vocals and maybe filling in now and again on rhythm guitar duties...
    deco...if you can do go strings for background or anything good and interesting with the keys thats cool for me...me working off the experimental grunge karma (experimental grunge i hear you cry!) its good depressing stuff without the layne (RIP) kurt (RIP) scott weiland (hope not RIP) type thing!

but i am open to all sorts of influence that anyone can bring....

angelwhore, what instruments u play?

Originally posted by deco
    Are you looking for a keyboard/piano player?

Consider yourself hired!

Although I haven't written much keyboards into the music, so it mightn't be that interesting. You'll probably have time to **** off to the bar during a gig. :)

I'm writing most of the music myself, so I hope that doesn't bother you.
    Otherwise, you're grand.

You going out to see Diptheria/Primal Dawn on Sunday?

Originally posted by sinus
    angelwhore, what instruments u play?

Mainly guitar and bass, little bit of drums, and I can manage to work out some melodies on the keyboard, but I wouldn't be much good playing.

I'm going to be doing the bass and vocal duties in my band.

I'll be in O'Malley's on Sunday for that gig so I'll probably meet you there....

I really don't want to have to "Bitter Sweet Symphony" style violins stuff all the time though....

In case you don't know me, here's a pic:

AngelWhore.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

You think Arch Enemy singer is sweet? Check out your one from Nightwish. Not only that, They're one of the best bands I've ever heard in my life.
    startpic.jpg
    By the way, she's the one in front. 'Tis hard to tell sometimes.

facts-tarja.jpg

Oeneus, you're a man after my own heart. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

Jaysus! You're not as Gothy as I expected you to be. And what's that blue sh1t in your glass? ;)

Naw, not really that "Gothy" in that pic, but on a good night out...? :D

The blue **** in the glass is blue aftershock & smirnoff ice.
    Very tasty little cocktail.

The pic doesn't show the pint of Guinness I had in my other hand, or the bulmers I had on the table at the time.