Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dunphy a muppet?

• 01-06-2002 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭

Is he. He seems to be the biggest one yet... the feckin d|psh|t
    :D:D:D

No Atari Jaguar in this post as it is a simple YES or YES

Is dunphy a muppet? 61 votes

Yes......
    0% 0 votes
    No...... (How can you vote no... he is ffs)
    100% 61 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

yes, yes he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

How could you vote no i dont know! he is the biggest muppet there is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Well it depends on your opinion really. Personally I dont like the man much but I would have a certain amount of respect for him. He's done very well for himself out of being a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

hes a complete muppet, but hes a very entertaining muppet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

ah tis a point fair and true :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

He's the Supreme Overlord of the Muppets Council of Ireland. And a tit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

On the Keane story he is a prize muppet, but we need him as the antidote to most journalism in this country which cosyies up
    with the establishment to much.

I voted yes btw!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Good man.
    Bill O'Herlihee (wtf?) would be a total bore without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

I suppose he is a muppet, but he's funny. Certainly made the half-time/full-time analysis of the Ireland match today a lot more interesting :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Muppet of the hgihest proportions.

THe match analysis was funny though. At half time he turns around and says "the only man that could have made a difference is sitting in Cork"

Then at full time, the lads took the piss out of him constantly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Well I'm a big fan of The Last Word on Today FM and to be honest he's not always the most impartial person around and he does tend to turn questions into speech's but when he attacks people he disagrees with it's bloody entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

did anyone see him lose the rag last night with liam brady and giles it was absolutly briliant.

[edit]oh yeah he's muppet of biblical proportions[/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i have nothing but respect for Eamonn Dunphy. The Last Word is an example of great broadcasting. during the analysis of the match yesterday he made me laugh and most of the pub shout at him. he is brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

Originally posted by amp
    Abstaining due to lack of Atari Jaguar option.

Originally posted by Winters
    No Atari Jaguar in this post as it is a simple YES or YES

Hence the first lack of Atari Jaguar option by me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

He's a noob.

the only reason he's being awkward is because he's writing a book on Roy Keane and it's kinda ended on him walking out of the world up instead of the fairy-tale world cup hero story.

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Acidflash

yes he certainly is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

a muppet if i ever see one , but sometimes he just gets really into it and you can tell he is really close to loosing it , ah its great , one day the man will snap.............................am yeah but hes still a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

Eamo loves sport. Roy Keane was badly treated. Eamonn is a superb broadcaster.

If he is a muppet -

What is Radio 1 ?
    What is 2fm?
    What is Pat Kenny?
    What is Joe Duffy?

Why are we paying our licence fee for Radio Dribble - Radio 1?

Today Fm is commercial. You don't pay 1 penny torwards it. What we get is quality programmes - Pet Sounds & Last word

Originally posted by Cork
    Roy Keane was badly treated.

Im guessing your a Man Utd. supporter then. Mick did what was right! im not going to get into this again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭CHRISTYG

North of the border (which is where I am) although It's technically possible to receive Today FM, reception's useless, so i've never heard "The Last word" What sort of programme is it?

PS Of course Dunphy's a muppet!!!!!! In the 70's, he played for a crap team (Milwall?) and he hasn't progressed much!!!! And as for saying, just because-rightly or wrongly- McCarthy sent Keane home, Ireland deserved to lose all 3 games is a joke, especially on live TV!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Sheep resembling muppet of the highest order, but makes for far more entertaining viewing than the bbc coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

anyone get a "Eamonn Dunphy Dart Board" in The Sun today. the cheek of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

Originally posted by OLDYELLAR
    a muppet if i ever see one , but sometimes he just gets really into it and you can tell he is really close to loosing it , ah its great , one day the man will snap.............................am yeah but hes still a muppet.

Haha that will be a great, great day.

He's a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

They had a free Dunphy dartboard cover? Class - brings back memories of Drop the Dead Donkey:D

Oh yeah, nail all colours up:
    1. I'm a ManU fan
    2. I think Keane acted like a tit based on what I've heard (and even based on what Keane has said). Not that he didn't have a point about the facilities &c. - he just had no idea of when to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

yes, he is a muppet

Official Press Release from RTÉ:

"Is Dunphy a muppet?"

No.
    Though there have been vicious rumours spread by the ABUs, there is no substansiated evidence to show that Eamon is, in fact, a mupet.
    Though he does, from time to time, resemble a crumpled pile of old laundry, hap-hazardly sewn together with someone's hand up his arse, that is purely co-incidental.

Thank you for your time.

Any more questions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭CHRISTYG

That "press release" although obviously a joke, sounds very like a REAL press release that RTE would release!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

You betcho ass he is:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I voted no. In general I think he's a good entertainer, journalist and tv personality. He has the ability to get people's goat up which is great. At least he's not boring like some tv personalities- Pat Kenny anyone?
    His comments regarding Irelands chances against Cameroon were stupid. And his comment at half time in the Ireland-Cameroon match about Roy Keane being the only man who could rescue the team was ridiculous to say the least. I can't imagine how he could genuinely believe that statement when the Irish team were doing everything they possibly could to win the match. He should know after all this time of being involved in soccer that it's a team sport and in no way is the Irish football team the Roy Keane team.
    Dunphy's problem is his begrudgery and his unwillingness to accept when he's wrong. And he speaks before he thinks about it. But in fairness he's entertaining to watch. Did you see him on RTE1 last night taking the piss out of the German striker Yanker falling over himself?? I thought he was pretty funny. And he did give the team the praise they deserved after yesterdy's match. I'm sure he'll learn from this and watch his mouth in future. And I'd say he's still cringing from embarressment after seeing a picture of himself as a donkey on the Sunday World!!

Humm. Im not really asking if he is a good entertainer but if he is a muppet or not.

If hes gonna be an entertainer we should get him hosting Winning Streak or the Disney Club... imagine that. Dunphy trying to host a childrens TV show with lots of children running around..... priceless entertainment that would be :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Practical

He's a muppet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Originally posted by smiles
    He's a noob.

the only reason he's being awkward is because he's writing a book on Roy Keane and it's kinda ended on him walking out of the world up instead of the fairy-tale world cup hero story.

<< Fio >>

Roy left the what now?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

that man does some serious back peddling on his points ,first he sais Ireland dont have the best team they could have and then this morning he was saying that England lacked great players like Duff and Robbie Keane , i think the thing that makes him such a muppet is that he is such a hypocrit , the man really does my head in and seriously annoys me !

Roy left the what now?!

My sentiments exactly.

Senegal for the cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

He's a self-confessed muppet... he, himself, fully admits that he completely f*cked up.

One quote from him in the past few days : "He (Roy Keane) is a great footballer;- I'm just a bad journalist."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

He does tend to contradict himself an awful lot. I like The Last Word though, and he's always good for the odd sound bite or two!

muppet-esque

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭MelKor

Originally posted by Jimeatsmenu
    yes, yes he is

what he said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Have to say i enjoy listening to him on the last word... though im sure he said he does not drink on the last word... hmmm now he is suspended lol