Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When is Band of Brothers going to be released on DVD?

• 24-05-2002 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭

Amazon.co.uk has 5th of Octomber 2001 which I have some serious doubts is accurate. Anyone got any solid dates when we'll be able to get this in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

Is it coming out on video too? And if so when?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

i think its due around oct/nov time

just wait for winters to reply, he knows everythin about bob and he'll latch onto this thread soon i bet:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by Jimeatsmenu

just wait for winters to reply, he knows everythin about bob and he'll latch onto this thread soon i bet:p

Yes i will. I couldnt find the thread i had posted a while ago. Heres what I know:
    It will be released at aboot Late October to November 2002,
    It will be possibly a 4disc set with extras on one disc. Last i heard it will be a "Special Edition" DVD. It will cost between E60 - E80. And i will be the first to buy it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

Cool.

I missed episode 3 when it was on tv (both stations and the repeats-Muppet control under control again)

I have been working on my WWII movie collection for some time, but Band Of Brothers topped it for me-just brill!
    oh well off to play day of defeat then.

thanks for the good news.

DotC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Me want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Yep this is on my to buy list. But LotR:FotR 5 Disk Special Edition (could be a 4 disk can't remember) is out in November as well. Its going to be an expensive month for DVD's :D

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by gandalf
    Yep this is on my to buy list. But LotR:FotR 5 Disk Special Edition (could be a 4 disk can't remember) is out in November as well. Its going to be an expensive month for DVD's :D

Gandalf.

4 Gandalf (I ordered it months ago too ;) )

Originally posted by Winters

And i will be the first to buy it

I'll race ye :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

Originally posted by RogueDotC
    Cool.
    I have been working on my WWII movie collection for some time, but Band Of Brothers topped it for me-just brill!

On that note; how about everyone post their top-5 of WWII movies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

Book availible in Waterstones at the moment.

Top 5

in no order

Kellys Heroes
    Where Eagles Dare
    Force 10 From Navarone
    The Eagle has landed
    HUM(runs off to check...)
    When Trumpets Fade
    Saving Private Ryan as well

anyone play sudden strike?-WWII RTS

DotC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭pyure

here goes...no real order, tho saving private ryan is probally the best

saving private ryan
    the eagle has landed (was that even a film...cant remember)
    guns of navarone
    kellys heros

memory fails me at the moment...i'll update this when i get home at the wknd and dig through my video collection

cant wait for band o brothers dvd - missed quite a few when they were on tv for one reason or another :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Not a WW2 movie buff, but Band of Brothers was fuppin' good, and I liked Saving Private Ryan.......... Enemy at the Gates was entertaining too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭Lolo

Did you know that the guy who plays Lieuenant Norman Dike in Band of Brothers (the guy who fu cks things up and gets people killed, before getting killed himself) is an Irish actor from Thurles (Peter O'Meara)?
    He's a mate of my brother's, used to stay in my parents' gaff a lot when he was starting out. (That loud clanging noise was the sound of me namedropping in a very un-subtle manner).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by Lolo
    He's a mate of my brother's, used to stay in my parents' gaff a lot when he was starting out. (That loud clanging noise was the sound of me namedropping in a very un-subtle manner).

Humm. He couldnt give me a Garand or Thompson or anything could he? :D:D