Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accent piss takes!

• 22-05-2002 11:22pm
    Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Take the piss outta different accents from around Ireland. You must name the county beside the piss take. And if it is too hard for a person to understand put the translation beside it...

OK... shall I start?

Aye bye! (Monaghan). Translation - Yeah boy.

P.S. No excessive piss takes on the Cavan accent or I shall have to kneecap you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭daveJAM

You langer, you! (Cork) - Insult

There's this guy in my class (was in my class, I graduated today) with a great Cork accent. He just cracks me up. I was in a fight the other day, not a real one just a bit of a gowl, and he shouts out "Hit him in the faace, hit him in the faace." I couldnt go on fighting cos i was in bits laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Who the **** in cork says "you langer, you " ? You isn't used its "ya"

I really can't stand peoples idea of what a Cork accent is. I mainly blame today FM which allows any gowl to take off corkonians.

Theres far more than one cork accent you know and unless you come from the peoples republic of cork, you just won't be able to do the accent.

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Ahupshhhyeboya! - Another one from Central Monaghan. Mainly the outskirts of towns like Carrick, Ballybay and 'Blayney.

Translation - Up you boy you or to some of the culties around the country Up ya boy ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

Quare -awful,terrible... Usually said in the form of 'That's quare bad'. Wexford word. I should know.
    A girl in my class from Sligo always says 'wee while'...in a real country accent...it's funny. A guy from monaghan always says 'Gypsy' when something goes wrong.. but i think that's just a phase..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Kim Tae-Woo

"A guy from monaghan always says 'Gypsy' when something goes wrong"

I don't think he'd live too long in with those locals in South Cork or Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭irishguy

we rarely use the term Gypsy in limerick, its normaly nacker,tinker,scumbag or scobe.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,683 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Ahupshhhyeboya! - Another one from Central Monaghan. Mainly the outskirts of towns like Carrick, Ballybay and 'Blayney.

Translation - Up you boy you or to some of the culties around the country Up ya boy ya!

I thought that was a country Fianna Fail thing..

Originally posted by T.G Catter
    Quare -awful,terrible... Usually said in the form of 'That's quare bad'. Wexford word. I should know.
    You from Wexford too..
    They (Wexford Townies-as in going back generations on both side!) use desh as well as in something is great, or they did when I was a kid

thats ****ing desh..

The other one
    I swears to God hun....

'bout 20 years ago i remember getting my change in a shop off some old guy
    "there ya go, hun" :eek:
    and I don't, nor did I ever, look like a girl (see ugly mug below-click to enlarge!!) ;)

loads of others I'll add tomororw

Originally posted by jd

(Wexford Townies-as in going back generations on both side!) use desh as well as in something is great, or they did when I was a kid

Talking about Wexford townies they can be a funny sort...
    My sister had a friend and invited her to Dublin, and after a few months she said she'd come up to stay for a few days.
    Anyway she gets the train for Connolly, gets off the train and waits on the platform.
    My sister is waiting patiently in the main concourse..
    still no sign of my sister on the platform (she can't get there without a ticket..)
    what does your one do...ask somebody??
    naa...

she gets on the next train down to Wexford again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Owlbegarblegooblefowbledoodlehougel.....gibberish....gibberish.

Kerry.

I hitched from Tralee to Ballinskelligs once and this guy with a really thick accent picked me up, we spoke for over an hour and to this day I have absolutely no idea what he was saying.
    I just varied my replies between "yes", "no" and "sometimes".

Come to think of it I did get some strange looks off him :D
    Theres far more than one cork accent you know

Sometimes you can tell what borough someones from in Cork just by their accent. Well, there's a Grange accent and a Rochestown accent anyway. Everyone laughs at me when I say that, but I tells ya, it's true!
    we rarely use the term Gypsy in limerick, its normaly nacker,tinker,scumbag or scobe.

And just like the Eskimos have over 200 words to describe snow, we in Cork have over 300 words to describe scumbags.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 24,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

"Fact", said as "faaaaaact" when someone agrees - Waterford ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

"well buoy, how's it goin big balls?, wayer ya off ta boss? commin down da towin for a bla, I'm meating me new lack down dayer."

wateford speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

A guy from monaghan always says 'Gypsy' when something goes wrong.. but i think that's just a phase..

He's clearly a refined monaghan person. In general this would be "gyppo" :)

The single most noticeable thing about the monaghan accent, of course, is the tendancy to shove the syllable "hai" (haigh?) onto the end of every sentence for no apparent reason. God it's annoying, I want to slap people just for doing it now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

"Wheer eh ewe frohm?" = Would you be as good as to enlighten me as to your origins?

"Oi'm frohm MMMMMMMmmmmrrrrraaaaaayyyyy" = I hail from a small town in the North of the Garden of Ireland, namely Bray.

"Das fuhkin rappa" = Why how delightfully smashing, you hail from the same town as I do by joyous happenstance!

"Ehrye cuhmin fer a few schkoops?" = As we have our town of residence in common, prey would you be open to taking a tipple in my company?

"Fuhkin shewer!" = That's a marvellous idea, let us retire to the nearest embibing emporium immediately.

"Tew Bulmohs." = Two Bulmers.

God I do love Bray. Just not enough to stay in it. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

I love to use the cork accent, I'm from cork and know only a few people who speak that way, but its dead easy to put on, ordering pizza, taxis etc. Mates won't let me talk to people on their phones anymore :)

Howz it goin bai!

Limerick accent - Kno wha I mein mang

Dublin - Usez buoys

classsic

• Registered Users Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I`m from monaghan and there are some absolute howlers of accents.

Particular overusage of the words:

boy(extreme facial movement required for this one)

Leck - in comparison with/ agreement of

You Know(ya know) - filler word to bring any sentence up in word count

Aye - no explanation needed

Gypsy - bad situation/ not liked individual

See Ya - Knacker Speak

Tarra - terrbile

Fierce/mighty - good/big/large

bad as the monaghan accent may be, Dubliners are worse they trully are a bunch of ya know gypsies boy leck

• Registered Users Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

Now here's a good one for all yer Wexford yokes:

"divil de haperd"

as in:

Not much at all....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

Originally posted by Davjm
    You langer, you! (Cork) - Insult

There's this guy in my class (was in my class, I graduated today) with a great Cork accent. He just cracks me up. I was in a fight the other day, not a real one just a bit of a gowl, and he shouts out "Hit him in the faace, hit him in the faace." I couldnt go on fighting cos i was in bits laughing.

fu<k i could just hear this lad in my head and was in the pisses, cunning tactic to make you drop your guard.

"Hit him in the faace, hit him in the faace."

:D:D:D:D classic!

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Guy Incognito

Waterford scumbag:

Whah er ya sayin' buoy? Ja wan a puck in de head? I'll cant ya down bunker's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭daveJAM

Those Waterford Scumbag ones are spot on. Does anyone outside of Waterford know what a bla is? Maybe this should be a poll!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

A bla?

It's food, bread I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/features/gammon.html

That is hardly unique to Cork. 'Feen' is 'Fiend' up here, and is used to refer to your mates more then to a bird (or 'beurre').

If Cork has 300 words for scummbags, Tuam has 400, with Galway adding another 50 for the 'settled' minks.

"Monkey's" is one that cracks me up.

As for Irish, Donegal canúint is nigh-on impossible to understand when compared to Gaeilge Connemara or even Munster Irish.

Funniest by far is the mayo accent. Shower of inbred hooligans, thinking they have a chance for the All-Ireland...... ;)

Castlebar's a kip too

• Registered Users Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by Shinji

The single most noticeable thing about the monaghan accent, of course, is the tendancy to shove the syllable "hai" (haigh?) onto the end of every sentence for no apparent reason. God it's annoying, I want to slap people just for doing it now :)

Not only at the end but at the begining too. Nothing worse than hearing "hai bye" or "hello hai". I too would like to slap everyone that says it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Xelsior

Well Sham - I dont know if sham is all over the country or what but its defo said here in Limerick

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Another typical greeting in Cork is to just say 'Storrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee'
    It's just a shortened version of what's the story ie. how are things with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Originally posted by Xelsior
    Well Sham - I dont know if sham is all over the country or what but its defo said here in Limerick

Yeah weve got sham up in Cavan as well some how.
    P.S-Is there anywhere else outside of Cavan and its surrounding counties that says shifting for kissing with tongues?Ive never heard it anywhere else except here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Xelsior

Is there anywhere else outside of Cavan and its surrounding counties that says shifting for kissing with tongues?Ive never heard it anywhere else except here.
    Yep thats said in Limerick aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

oh moi focking chriost, oi , loike, cant be-LEEEEEEEV no focking one has done , loike, a dort loine drawl yet.

- any 'cont' who drinks 'hyeno' in koylies or any southsoide pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

i once heard a lad from wexford call someone a "muck savage" , i never heard that before so i was amused .in waterford i heard something like "d`ya wanna puck in the snot"?

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

Ahhh jaysus I'm goin to get a few swigs and then I'm feckin off to the boooookies ( originating from Meath ).

Roughly translated : I would like to procure a half glass of sherry accompanied with a petite serving of Soviet caviar and the cheque if you may. Only buzzin, what it actually means is that the man / woman wishes to enter an establishment that provides alcohol and then wishes to depart to a bookmakers presumably to place bets.

Did you know? There are 52 pubs in Navan, twice as many as there are newsagents also outnumbering clothes shops.

n.b. Yeah I lived there, was'nt born there and don't live there now.