Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Story doing the rounds..

• 21-05-2002 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭

Ive got this from two different places that there has been a big fight in the camp between packie Bonner and Roy Keane...

One of them to go home.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Probably Bonner then, given that he's long retired and all that.:rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Hmm, let me think? In one corner we have an (at best) average goalie whos international career was based on "lucking-out" on a couple of occasions and who is now employed to coach 3 goalkeepers who are all clearly better than he himself ever was.

In the other corner we have the greatest player this country has ever produced.

Thats a hard one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Kim Tae-Woo

If you've got you're information from the Sun or the Star then you can forget about it.

Here's some of their previous headlines

I had this sent to me by Email

Week1 "Ben Johnson Canada's best Athletic Hero"
    Week2 "African immigrant caught on Drugs!"

Week 1"Eric Cantona greatest English player"
    Week 2 "Mad French man attacks Supporter"

Week1"Brave Irish man saves Child from Crocoidles"
    Week2 "iRA man kills childs lovely pet"

By JOSEPH LEAHY CONNOLLY

here’s a wish for the Irish and their soccer dreams
    forget goals up in Seoul top the Tokyo teams…

from Dublin to Amsterdam then Tokyo to here
    the Irish lads landed all full of good cheer

never mind the warm up loss in that game to Nigeria
    get ready for the games focus on critical criteria

it’s just a short kick and jump from Saipan to Japan
    may you kick and jump there just like Jackie Chan

matters not what we call it, football or soccer
    may you win every game with your Given goalie blocker

in Saipan you’ll see the sunny Marianas smile
    you can carry that back to your Emerald Isle

so go get ‘em Misters Ferrelly, Finnan, Delap and Duff
    take Holand, McAteer, and Quinn to show them the right stuff

and while we are at it way across warm tropical seas
    let’s not forget there are more Bs, Cs and Ds

there’s Carr and Carsley, Connolly and Cunningham
    Babb, Breene, Dunne and Doherty to help out in a jam

with strikers like Keane, O’Neill, Foley, Morrison and Quinn
    we can rest and be assured of a guaranteed great win

with fellows like Staunton, Maybury, Fleming and Harte
    you’ll be off and running – now there’s a good start

can’t forget Keanne’s K-boys, Kennedy, Kinsella, Kiely and Kilbane
    who along with Kenna, Alan and Gary Kelly like to win in the rain

so here’s to McCarthy – a tough one that Mick
    may your victories be over and done with right quick

good luck in the games boys! hip hip hurrah!
    best of luck to the Irish and Erin Go Bragh!

NOTE: The author, Joe Connolly is chairman of the Language Arts Department at the Hopwood Junior High School. He has taught in Commonwealth schools since 1984. Connolly also writes haiku, ballads and narrative poetry. He is delighted the Irish National Soccer Team is visiting Saipan, and wishes them the best in Tokyo.
    http://www.tribune.co.mp/Local.cfm?Display=yes&ID=19939

You can get the real news from the Saipan tribune or Saipan times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He should stick to teaching....:(

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭prenton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Kudos to tHE vAGGABOND for getting this one out first - never let it be said that I can't admit when wrong.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

dont know how the hell you got that but good going.
    Now we can all say we heard it on boards.ie first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭yankinlk

jesus, that should be the boards.ie slogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

We work with lots of football type people and lots of websites so gossip comes our way often..

Im still gutted he's gone tho :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

the greatest player this country has ever produced.

Just because he is the best player in your lifetimewdoesn't mean he is the best player this country ever produced. Liam Brady had more skill in his baby left toe than Keane will ever have. He is our engine room, the spirit and the drive of our team, our midfield leader. But for fùck's sake, he's no Zidane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭cheeky_monkey

But for fùck's sake, he's no Zidane
    true. he doesn't have the speed and finese. but 100% grit and determination.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Keano is good, the second or third best Irish player player ever

Liam Brady having a bad day was better than Roy Keane at his best. But I understand how some people would disagree.

My da always said that John Giles at his best in that great Leeds team was amazing, but he was no Keano..

People often forget people like Liam Whelan and Noel Cantwell who played in a different era. A lot of ye olde Man Ywe people cant speak highly enough about Liam Whelan (Killed in Munich)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

My point exactly vAGGABOND. Some people here are not even old enough to have seen Brady. Thats fair enough, people can't change when they were born. But I mean, the amount of superlatives doing the rounds here is ridiculous.