Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's crimial scum then?

• 08-05-2002 10:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭

I was talking to a man today who claimed he never broke the law. I'd maintain even if in some small way, all of us brake the law every now and again.

For example :

Most people have more than one TV in their home but would probably be unaware that you're supposed to have a TV license for each TV.

Did you know you're supposed to have a TV license for each TV you own? 16 votes

I was aware of that and have a license for each TV.
    0% 0 votes
    I was aware of that and don\'t have a license for each TV.
    12% 2 votes
    I was unaware of that but will get a license for each TV.
    75% 12 votes
    I was ubaware of that but wouldn\'t consider getting a license for each TV.
    12% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

up in the north of ireland. all you need is a tv license for the house...... doesnt matter how many tvs u have........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

i actually didnt know that , i be just thinking about the main one in the sitting room , interesting

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

As far as I'm aware, the licence fee applies to the domicile or place of business, not the set or number of sets. RTÉ appears to think the same thing:
    Every Household or business or institution which has equipment capable of receiving a television signal must, by law, be in possession of a current TV licence.
    As does Oasis:
    Every household, business or institution in Ireland with a television (either colour or black and white) or equipment capable of receiving a television signal (i.e., an aerial, satellite dish, etc.,) must have a television license.
    Please point to the source of your information.

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

I know alot of knackers have NO TV licences for any of their caravans.

Law breakers. (I also hear Bard doesn't have a TV licence)

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

I heard there's a criminal mastermind at work on Boards.ie... none know much of him, but there are whispers of his name... Beard I hear he's called. Lock your houses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

so having a TV-Card in your pc needs a licence also then

does anyone know of anyone getting nabbed for only having one licenct and more than one TV ?
    q

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

1 TV licence per house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

so having a TV-Card in your pc needs a licence also then

Yes, if you had one of those but didn't have a TV you'd still need to pay a TV licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Every household, business or institution in Ireland with a television (either colour or black and white) or equipment capable of receiving a television signal (i.e., an aerial, satellite dish, etc.,) must have a television license.
    that's bullshít, they tell us the tv license pays for the service (programs etc.) but what if you only us the tv for watching vids, DvD's, or playing games?

You have to pay for a service you could potentially use, even if you never do! what a feckin rip off...

[edit] it's just like insurance, in a way, paying for a service you may never use... yeah that's a rip off too :)[/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

You could probably avoid the licence if you hard-wired your DVD player and consoles to the TV and got someone to certify that it can't pick up TV signals or something. But! Anything is 'capable of receiving a TV signal' - countless TV signals pass through my head every day - it isn't capable of processing those signals, but do I still have to pay for a TV license for it? I could get shafted by an inspector at any time!

Also, I'd imagine the chances of you getting done for having a TV card in your PC with no license are approx. bugger all, unless the inspectors are actually told to check computers for that kind of card or some crap.

You could probably avoid the licence if you hard-wired your DVD player and consoles to the TV and got someone to certify that it can't pick up TV signals or something. But! Anything is 'capable of receiving a TV signal' - countless TV signals pass through my head every day - it isn't capable of processing those signals, but do I still have to pay for a TV license for it? I could get shafted by an inspector at any time!

Yip, you could. This came up a while back - if it's capable of recieving a signal, you need a licence.

Also, I'd imagine the chances of you getting done for having a TV card in your PC with no license are approx. bugger all, unless the inspectors are actually told to check computers for that kind of card or some crap.

They are, last I heard.

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Yurmasyurda

I saw an ad for tv 3 stating that they subsidise their programs and viewings by showing ads, if our state owned rte/net2 are payed by licencse holders why do we have to watch more ads than tv3 show??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Originally posted by dahamsta

Yip, you could. This came up a while back - if it's capable of recieving a signal, you need a licence.

I can get done for not having a TV license for my head? Jesus. I was only joking tbh.

I was talking about your TV, I quoted too much. If you have a TV but you never watch RTE, you need a licence. If you have a TV and you never turn it on, you need a licence. If you have a computer with a TV card that you never use, you need a licence.

Yurmasyurda, I've mentioned that a couple of times on the Tech forum (I think), and I'm sure it's been mentioned many times on the ICDG ones. I agree, it would be nice to be like the Beeb, but I don't think RTÉ is capable of it. They don't have the brains. (Ok, they don't apply them to this subject.)

adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by dahamsta
    Please point to the source of your information.

adam

It was a in a letter sent with "your TV license fee is overdue" (read : "we're total gits and can't even enter data in a computer, please send us a copy of the receipt").

I was reading the small print (I was very bored) and there it was.

Anybody else think the TV license ads are a bit stupid? They keep going on about detector vans and hi-tech equipment. What the hell do they need a detector van for - can't be arsed craning their necks to look for an aerial on the roof? Just get a list of every house and subtract those who've paid and you can't go far wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

I dunno about the one-license-per-tv thing, but I remember hearing at one point that you needed a license to even have a radio in your house. Of course - this was back when there was a difference between a b&w license and a colour license....

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Why bother getting a tv licence??????RTE dont deserve my £70 or whatever so they can show me three decent programmes and a good film in a whole year.When ive got my own place ill never pay.Why bother?Its been more than a decade since the inspectors came round to our gaff.You could just pretend you didnt have a tv.Theyre hardly going to burst down the doors SWAT team style if you dont let them in are they?Anyway just say you have no tv-though the 70cm of satellite dish clinging to the wall of my house might give something away:p
    "Detector vans my arse"-Jim Royle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

The TV license is actually a license to recieve signals for any equipment.

Locked.