Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ecstasy blamed for death of Hibs starlet

• 30-04-2002 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭

Ecstasy blamed for death of Hibs starlet. He's the 3rd soccer player to die as a result of E this season in Scotland. Mental :(

from some random scotish newspaper..

"ALL THE PROBLEMS FACING SCOTTISH FOOTBALL pale into insignificance when you consider the sad death of an up and coming Hibee who had every chance to make a great life for himself in the game. It was said that football is not a matter of life and death, it is more important than that - but it's not true, not for anyone connected with the club nor for the family and friends of Liam O'Sullivan.

Liam was found dead yesterday morning at his home in Haddington, the second drug-related death in the East Lothian town in 24 hours. These are just the latest in a long line of victims, the irony is that had Liam O'Sullivan not been a rising star of Hibernian F.C., his death would have been reported with a few words and the world would have moved on leaving the family and friends in their grief. Liam O'Sullivan however was different, he was a highly talented young man, so talented indeed that former Hibs boss Alex McLeish signed him on a five-year deal, convinced that this was another talent that would enjoy all the trappings of the successful football star.

McLeish was as shocked as everyone else when told of Liam's death, saying: "I brought him to Hibs and he showed a lot of promise, and that is why he was rewarded with a long-term contract, he was a likeable big fellow and this news saddens me." For those Hibs fans who followed the fortunes of the clubs Under-18 and Under-21 sides, 'Trigger' was rightly considered to
    be a cut above the rest. He was a giant of a player and fearless, indeed very much in the mode of current Hibs and Scotland star Garry O'Connor, a close friend of O'Sullivan and said to be 'devastated' at the news of his friends death, his family taking calls and saying only that he was too upset to talk.

While a post-mortem examination is still to be carried out, it is being reported that Liam had been drinking and taking drugs during a night out in Haddington on Sunday. Police where called to his home at 8.30 on Monday morning, with a spokesman for Lothian and Borders Police saying: "Mr O'Sullivan's death is not being treated as suspicious, and we are awaiting the results of tests." Hundreds of tributes have been made from Hibs fans
    on the Hibs.net Message Board, as shocked supporter's truggled to come to terms with the loss of a promising footballer in such a manner. Few from my own generation can understand the risks that our youngsters take with their lives through drugs such as Ecstacy, but if the death of Liam O'Sullivan is to teach us anything then it is that we must try to understand this problem and do anything we can to eradicate it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

so? He knew the risks, why should we feel sorry for him?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Yea'd think someone with a decent ammount of money would go and buy an expensive drug such a cocaine, insteed of the teenager skanger drug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Ser

think you will find that it was not the E that killed him, more the other dangerous drug. also i think there was as normaly hardly any E (mdma) in the pill,and if was legalized wouldnt be so dirty/crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

I agree with Moriarty on this one.

The taking of designer drugs leads to a very high chance you will die.This had been proven time and time again.

I know footballers are not know for there brain power but even this cabbage must have know it was not the smartest thing in the world for him to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

The taking of designer drugs leads to a very high chance you will die

It does? That's interesting - have you got proof of this, or did you just pull it out of your head? Can you find statistics to back up your claim?

Tell you what, I'll save you the bother.

Last year Ecstasy (not MDMA - tablets sold as Ecstasy, and hence containing all manner of stuff) was fingered as the cause of death or a major contributory factor to death in 27 cases in the UK. That's 27 in 12 months, in a country where between 500,000 and 2,000,000 tablets of Ecstasy are taken each weekend. Of those 27, 19 had other drugs in their systems at the time of post-mortem, raising questions about which one was actually to blame for their deaths.

By way of comparison, Cocaine was responsible for over 60 deaths. Heroin was responsible for 550. Methadone and other opiates were responsible for about 490.

Alcohol was the primary cause of death for just over 350 people. Commercially available sedatives killed about 175; commercially available antidepressants killed about 185, and commercially available antipsychotics killed just under 40. In fact, only amphetamines come in lower on the list of lethal drugs last year; about 16 people died using them. The total was 1284 drug-related deaths.

I don't disagree with the idea that Ecstasy is a dangerous thing. The full effects of it are not understood, and no research has conclusively proved it to be safe or harmful. If people are going to use E - and they do, and will - they have to treat it with respect; the same respect they should be affording to alcohol, in fact.

What I do disagree with is this kind of tabloid press sensationalism about it being a killer. People aren't stupid. If you tell them that it's a dangerous, lethal drug, and they see nightclubs full of people popping pills with no side-effect other than a seratonin crash the next day, they'll treat everything else you tell them as a lie. Lying about drugs helps nobody.

Shinji dont give me any of that devil's advocate crap.

I didnt say that taking drugs WILL kill you.Im just saying that they are know to be dangerious and CAN cause bad **** to happen to you.

Yes alcohole,smoking and drug taking might not kill you the first time you take them but the chance is there and your numbers do reflect this.

Designer drugs have a greater cause of causing serious harm to the taker,not because of what is in them as the drug itself (E,Heroin,coke),but more to the extra bits that the sellers will put into there makeup to get better profits due to increased amounts from the mixing of rat posion and various other substances.

It's these extra bits and bobs are mixed in the wrong amounts the taker gets screwed up.Amsterdam cafe's have ultravileot lights to show the purity of E tabs where Dublin does not.Its probley one of the safer cities to take drugs in to,tho Im sure people get fooked up over there as well.

At the end of the day,I couldnt give a rats ass if some loser footballer bites the bullet due to taking designer drugs.If people want to take this crap so be it,but dont start whining on about these poor old sods when the rubish they are taking ends up killing them.

Drug's are bad M'kay and like the lotto slogan says "It could be you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by Venom

I know footballers are not know for there brain power but even this cabbage must have know it was not the smartest thing in the world for him to do.

It may of not been the smartest thing to do, but at the end of the day, he was a young guy, probably out with friends having a good time, and decided to say "f*ck it" I'll give it a try, all my mates are doing E. they are all fine, so what harm can it do?"...happens all the time, all over the place, including here in Ireland, and people you know have probably done it too.

Even the smartest of people sometimes throw caution to the wind.

And as for your "cabbage" comment - it's a tad insensitive. The guy is dead, and no matter what happened we have no right to call him names like that. We know nothing about him really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

That's 27 in 12 months
    thats grand then, lets give it to young kids with their milk in school so :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Batfink

I think the saying goes "Don't knock it till you have tried it", I don't condone anyone who takes drugs but it is their choice what they do with their lives and in most cases it has no more aftermath effect on that person than on the person waking up with a bad hangover, if they choose to go straight back out to the pub and drink themselfs out of existance day after day than that is a problem the same as the person who takes drugs everyday to feel good. I don't think that is the case with most people as it isn't the case with most drinkers. You could get into your car tonight and have a high chance of dying but you don't let that stop you ?

Puclicians are not likley to spike/water down there products with bleech/acid/petrol to increase the amount of product they have while still giving you a buzz.

When they start doing this Ill stop going to pubs :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Batfink

Venom - sounds like your just asking for it to be legalised so that there can be controls put in place to stop this happening to drugs and make them safer. I reckon publicans would do anything to increase profits if they thought they could get away with it . A drug dealer is just able to hide in the back ground and supply a inferior and more dangerous product because there are no laws governing it . Take for instance drink and anti-freeze, how many manufactors would you think would add anti-freeze to their wine to increase manufacturing and profit if they thought they could get away with it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

500,000-2million pills a week........Lets estimate it halfway at roughly a million.Thats over 50 million year with 27 deaths.Roughly one in 2 million pills are lethal.Which means that you probably have a bigger chance of dying from eating British beef than taking an E pill.
    How can the EU think that British beef is safe when its as dangerous as ecstasy if not more so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Coyote

Here is some thing people might think about, when Alcohol was illegal in the USA. Bootleg alcohol killed 100’s from being badly made. So if Ecstasy was made legally how many people would not die??
    Amphetamines legally made in the 50’s were the most prescribed drugs in USA history.
    But later found to be very bad for you in the long term.
    Still not saying any of them are good for you.
    but telling people the sky is falling down, and then when it doesn’t people will never trust you again

Coyote