Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

some things i have noticed in work

• 09-03-2002 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭

what stuff have u all noticed in work . this is just some things ive noticed . and some of the annoying stuff

1: for mothersday a guy will usualy walk straight in see a card pick it up and pay for it nomatter what the cost

2: for mothersday a girl is more likely to walk in straight past the cards while looking walk up to the counter and then ask where the cards are after shown spend 15-20 mins looking for a card then go to pay find out the price of it and start complaining about a price that is standard throughout ireland .

3: befour last monday everyone would ask for a plastic bag for everything no matter how small and give some crappy excuse for why they needed it . since monday i have sold 4 bags . wan the goverment tax

4: when buying porn the brave person will walk straight up to the counter and get it off whatever staff member will serve him and when asked would he like a bad sez na its ok . the coward goes and buys it with 2 or 3 other papers in which it it hidden ( tis fun when there is no price on it ) and asks for bag b4 he has even given it to you

5: a person is more likly to give out about a 17c rise in cigs more then the 2 euros i charged him so i can buy porn from his cash without him knowing .

6: all lotto tickets are not lucky i dont reely give a flying fu<k if you win or how mutch ya won last week but do rember i am taping all conversations and if you say you will share the winnings with me i shall hold you to it in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

6: all lotto tickets are not lucky i dont reely give a flying fu<k if you win or how mutch ya won last week but do rember i am taping all conversations and if you say you will share the winnings with me i shall hold you to it in court

lol wan :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Originally posted by elexes

a person is more likly to give out about a 17c rise in cigs more then the 2 euros i charged him so i can buy porn from his cash without him knowing .

This reminds me of my time spent working in Pubs, you get some guy who comes in for the sunday afternoon to watch the match and has the 3 kids with him...

He buys a pint, a drink for the kids and maybe a packed of crisps... 2 hours later the kids come back for the looking for another drink... but he starts giving out lingo for having to fork out for a few more bottles of coke, or a large bottle and a few packets of crisps.. forgetting of course the 10 pints and 5 whiskeys he's had so far......

Ya kinda pity the kids.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

where i work, (superquinn - wan smak!! :D), we have to wear this bright purple uniform, and when im stacking shelves, people still come up and ask if you work there!! like i wear that sorta stuff and come in and pack shelves for fun or something. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by smak
    where i work, (superquinn - wan smak!! :D), we have to wear this bright purple uniform, and when im stacking shelves, people still come up and ask if you work there!! like i wear that sorta stuff and come in and pack shelves for fun or something. :rolleyes:
    i think its more a way of breaking the ice, of course i usually just say "hey you, small fry"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭roar_ie

the place where i am employed as i really don't actually do any work (Tesco), i find customers are those annoying ppl you cant be without but wish you could kill them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Over a period of three years in an off-licence I grew to despise the general public. From questions like "Do you sell beer?" to "What do you mean you don't sell ham? Don't ye have a slicer?" the general public proved itself to be the biggest pool of stupidity on earth time and time again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

"Do you sell beer?" "

hehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Enygma
    Over a period of three years in an off-licence I grew to despise the general public. From questions like "Do you sell beer?" to "What do you mean you don't sell ham? Don't ye have a slicer?" the general public proved itself to be the biggest pool of stupidity on earth time and time again.

nad you are the general public to shops, bars, clubs, etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc, taxi drivers, bus drivers.

imagine.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Yeah but I'm just getting revenge for all those years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

The biggest thing that I've noticed is that people are stupid, really stupid.
    The other day (I work in Spar btw) I was serving somebody and it got to the total and I say 5.50 or whatever and she says "is that in Euro?", I just kind of looked at her for a minute and then said yes that is in Euro.
    Another time, it was just before the punt went out all together this woman tried to pay me with old 10ps you know the massive ones. I said to her that they are old and she said oh are they and continued to hand them to me, then I said to her again they are old 10ps you cant use them anymore, then she got all flustered and couldnt count her money and eventually handed me the proper money, silly fool.
    Oh the stupid people usually are women, it's always women that come across stupid to me. Middle aged women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

I used to work in shops. In one shop I worked in, the tills were in front of the cigarette display (like, you could not miss the things), I lost count of the number of people that would come up to the till and ask me "do you sell cigarettes?". It got to the stage where I'd just look behind me at the display and say, "yeah, I think so".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Irish_Ranger_IR

1 Deadly thing, if there are women working in your office, young, 20 to 28, and they are good looking, they will try to out dress each other, specially on firdays when it casual day !!!

Anyways something nice to look at......instead of these prision bars....emmm..I mean office blinds ....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

kinda helps if there are any decent looking women in the first place... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Originally posted by ToxicPaddy
    kinda helps if there are any decent looking women in the first place... :(

Still though, it's always a laugh watching them trying to out do each other :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

tis true tis fun watching them go out get hair don and wearing some pritty good stuff just to get a look from one of the lads in work thinking "**** she has a kid and is married why god why "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

If working in a large partitioned office, under no circumstances should you accept an office cube next to the company toilets!!!

The noise of people running back and over all morning is bad enough, but the smell that drifts through your office on a friday morning when all the beer casualties reach work is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭nahdoic

Originally posted by leeroybrown
    The noise of people running back and over all morning is bad enough, but the smell that drifts through your office on a friday morning when all the beer casualties reach work is unbelievable.
    Oh gross ... change job ... or at least put up an "out of order" sign on the door, hehe ;)