Not Really Sport but....

• 06-03-2002 01:33PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭

Is Walking 30 to 35 miles a week, better than running 5 miles a week?

I walk to work, maybe into town on lunch, walk home, could walk about 10 miles on certain days.. 7 miles would be average...

Is this still a good work out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I would think so, yes.

Have you considered cycling?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Have u considered a bus?

Only been smart, they reckon if u want to lose weight that walking is the only thing to do, keeps ur heart rate between 45 and 65 bpm or something along those lines, regardless u are still doing good aerobic work, fair play to ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Irish_Ranger_IR

What I do is, drive half way to work, then park in Rathmines, walk to Ballsbridge, and the same home, the Bus is in traffic all the way to work, so I am faster walking, I have a car, so no need for the bike...

My mates all think I am a lazy bastard cause I never want to play sport on weekends...

Thanks Lads for the replys,............

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Crazy!! more like insane, but I walked for a week when I sold my motor, feckin killed me but I kept beating the cars home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

Good Question Mr. Park Ranger

Similar to this does anyone know

"I cycle to and from work, (say 30 mins each way). Am i kidding myself thinking i am doing my fitness ant good or is all those POXY car fumes killing me softly"

"I cycle to and from work, (say 30 mins each way). Am i kidding myself thinking i am doing my fitness ant good or is all those POXY car fumes killing me softly

Not at all, have to be doing yourself a lot of good, if u look at it that way then anyone walking will be doing themselves damage as well!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Irish_Ranger_IR

True, I been walking 35 miles a week for over 16months...

you get used to it, almost...moving house soon so getting the bus instead....can't wait....

walking 5 miles a week and running 5 miles a week are actually the same healthwise ,the only difference is time .running 5 miles is quicker the walking :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭dccarm

I could be wrong, but I think you use the same enrgy & therefore burn the same calories by walking as you do by running. However, running is better for you in a cardiovascular sense. But then I really know sod all about it so I could be wildly wrong.:)