Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six Nations - Irelands' Year?

• 01-02-2002 6:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Its that time again, as Irish rugby fans tell themselves
    our boys will be both up for it and capable of winning the
    championship (if not the grand slam).

After the heartbreak of last season, can Eddie O'Sullivans
    squad go one further?

My own feelings are nope, it'll be, at best, a fight for second again.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

I feel they may have a chance at winning it. The squad has tons of experience and that will count for alot during this competition. My big concern is that Eddie is not looking to the future and bringing in players who will be available to play in the world cup. Screw the six nations i want the the world. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

F*ck England out of the tourney and let them join the tri nations. That will be the best option for everyone. We will then have a damn good competition up here where you will have at least 3 possible champions and also the tri nations will be more attractive.

In answer to your question: Ireland won't win this year. We have Wales at home (which we never win) and England away (which no-one ever wins). I'm predicting a french wooden spoon. They were far from impressive today against Italy, especially in the first half and only got ahead with a try that shouldn't of been allowed due to an earlier knock on.

Missing Woody and Mal on Sunday will be a big factor. I can't see Ireland beating Wales. On the other hand recent performances in European Club level may boost the spirits of the Munster players (bar Woody sice he aint gonna b der).

England were very impressive against Scotland. No doubt in my mind that they will win the tournament this year. Keeping them within 20 points will be a moral victory for us in Twicks.

Italy? Not a problem. The only threat is Domingues. But thats only 3 points at a time.

Scotland at home will be a test. I can see us winning but a tough battle may be on the horizon. It all depends on which Ireland turn up. We will be going into the match as favourites which in the past has not suited us and we get carried away and play on the basis of "turn up and win". This problem has been more or less rectified in recent years but the threat is always there. Should we try, we will win.

France. The Chelsea of the 6 Nations. We always perform well against France because on some days they simply couldn't give a sh1t whether they beat us or not and we always go into the match as the fighting underdogs. Which suits us down to the ground. Whatever French team turns will decide the result. We could win. We could just as easily loose by 50 points. Beating them twice in the last few years may give us an edge of cockiness going into the match which could be catastrophic.

On my predictions we should finish 3rd. I hope to f*ck I am wrong and we win the thing but i can't see it happenening.

Any one else got any thoughts?

Neil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by Neil3030
    In answer to your question: Ireland won't win this year. We have Wales at home (which we never win) and England away (which no-one ever wins).
    Neil.

Neil3030,
    I could have quoted the whole post back at you, but that'll do!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Originally posted by Neil3030
    England were very impressive against Scotland. No doubt in my mind that they will win the tournament this year. Keeping them within 20 points will be a moral victory for us in Twicks.

Bring 'em on.

Al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

yes well done indeed, great game to watch [for us anyway ;]

Ok ok ok so i was wrong, but don't get me wrong i'm not bitter at being so. Hell, if every time i was wrong resulted in a 44 points victory for Irealnd i could get used to that! But one can't deny that Wales were extremely poor today. Ive never seen them so poor. Their only line of offence was through Craig Quinnelle and they only got into the Irish half about 3 times. Fair play to our lads, they defended well and took their chances but Wales were a far cry away from their best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

I'll be very surprised if we don't come second. i dont expect us to beat England, and I dont' expect us to lose to France or Scotland (or Italy). The Wales game was not particularly surprising, aside from the fact that we were missing a few key players. I expected us to rape wales, I expect us to rape Italy similarly, I expect us to beat scotland and france, though not so comfortably, and I think we'll lose to England by something like 25 - 16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

I think we have a really good chance of winning the Six nations this year as we have a really good squad.

Are you just posting for the f*ck of it?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

hopefully there will be action taken against martin johnson for that punching incident.

when he doesnt play england look a completely different side.

so i think our chance is there, if he gets banned i think we will win if not we still have at least a fighting chance.