Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Irish football player ever?

• 31-01-2002 9:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭

It's time to vote on the worst player ever - I say Phil Babb, if he hadn't had Paul McGrath in front of him in the mid 90's he would have been found out years earlier.

The worst ever 27 votes

Phil Babb
    0% 0 votes
    Eamon Dunphy
    40% 11 votes
    David Connolly
    11% 3 votes
    Kevin Kilbane
    18% 5 votes
    Mark Kennedy
    3% 1 vote
    Chris Morris
    25% 7 votes
    Alan Kernaghan
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

What about Terry Phelan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

definately phil babb, who shall only ever be remembered for sliding into the goal post with legs wide open..
    oh, and for being shít.

if only there had been a chris morris option i would have picked him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Niallmac

I voted for connolly but only because big cas was not there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

No without a doubt it has to be Starskys partner Mark Kennedy. The guy is the greatest waste of oxygen to ever put on an Irish Jersey. Why on earth does McCarthy keep picking him.

Gandalf.

(btw Connolly was a very very close second)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭C B

And why isn't Alan Kernaghan included in this poll?

I also would have voted for Chris Morris.

and morris has the ball. he's going to cross it - five unmarked players to aim for - and Oh! he's put it over the bar.

I think he thought he was playing gaelic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭nore

Where's Dave O'Leary? Without doubt they most over-rated Irish player ever: he had poor technique, no aggression, about all he had was a good positional sense.
    And the sh*te that was written about him... When he was in possession he looked like he couldn't get rid of it soon enough like your sister when the ball gets in her way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

Well i personally hate the big lug Quinn although I can't call him the worst.

Of who's there..... Babb....though Id rather have had a Kernaghan option or a Morris option to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

No way, I'm not voting for those candidates.

We probably all cheer when that lot r not in the team!

But yis must remember Paul Butler of Sunderland. He no more belonged on a football pitch for Ireland, than Bertie Ahern.
    C'mon mod's edit that poll and include brutal Butler.

X

Added Chris Morris & Alan Kernaghan to the poll.

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭frankly

Alan Kernaghan without doubt, absolute rubbish.

hup,

Come on keep voting lads :)

I still can't believe Kennedy hasn't got more votes (maybe I should edit the poll again :p)

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭BlackMagic

Chris Morris & Alan Kernaghan - both terrible players

but id have to put all of the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Guy Incognito

My vote went to Kilbane. Why hasn't he realised that he isn't as fast as he thinks he is. It's always the same move with him, tap it past the defender and run. It rarely works cos the defenders are usually faster than him. He's always giving the ball away in that situation. Some waste when there's Quinn to cross to or Robbie Keane to pass to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

I think that phil babb was one of the worst players we have had in a long time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

Gary Waddock. But only because he has such a silly name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Things just went sour for babb at liverpool, lost his confidence etc, messed things up completely with the Garda car and that fu<k€r Kennedy is far worse - should be working in McDonalds, not playing for Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

Ian Harte is rubbish. He can't defend, he is slow, he's only useful for taking free kicks, and even then he's crap. Anyone think Denis Irwin would like a free holiday to Japan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

it has to be with out a doubt, Alan Kernaghan!
    how they let him put on an irish jersey is beyond me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭pookster

Gary Breen would get my vote. We are lucky to be going to the Far East after some of his performances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Never thought I would say this but there were times I was wishing Gary Breen was fit so that Richard Dunne would not be playing. However I would still have to vote for Connolly. Not only is he a complete muppet but he only got himself sent off after being on the pitch for two minutes in a playoff match against Belguim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

Yeah i think I would defenityly agree with ya there Pookster, Gary Breen is a really dodgy defender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

Kernaghan without doubt. His lack of any footballing qualities had to be seen to be believed. This man had the ability to make Breen, Babb and Harte look like solid, gifted defenders. And no, I'm not exaggerating.