Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gwan The Super 'pool!!!

• 22-01-2002 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭

Oh to think of threads such as 'Liverpool-the most boring team in the Prem.? etc.

Well tonight, I couldn't give two F****!:p

Liverpool 1 - The Scum 0

GWan the super 'Pool!!

Only Two points in it now;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yeehaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrr! :D

and it was Murphy too! :)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Give Liverpool their dues on this one...

they have become Uniteds bogey team...

Well tell taken goal too I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Yes that was quiet the game, both defenses played very well which made for a change! but ya cant argue with the result Super Dan strikes again he seems to like Old Trafford :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

dont get too high.
    remember, southampton always seem to beat utd, and yet i dont see them dominating europe :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Nice one Liverpool...

Karl in work (another barman) will have been sick! ... he's a big Man U fan...

Must laugh my arse off at him in work tonight - he always rants and slags ME when Leeds lose :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Fck ye, ye were lucky as sin, great finish, ye have us poxed now, but we are still top of the league so that is the main thing!!

One day....... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Originally posted by yop
    Fck ye, ye were lucky as sin,

Really ! In fairness I dont see how nuerous long range shots over the bar and gigg's header towards the end makes us as lucky as sin.utd simply didnt exactly create that much in the way of scoring oportunities.Also get rid of veron the lad seems to be about as interested inplaying as god knows what.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

We mad feck all chance admittadly but then again Liverpool sat back, it worked against us but was terrible to watch, was a better 2nd half. I see RedNose is claiming ye will go the whole way after beating us. He never learns does he!! When have to hear Wenger, Fergie, Robson saying they will win it !!! muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

ok! i'm delighted with the 'pool last nite! and i am a true red! but come on you have to admit Murphy did nothin all night except score the goal! he is the most overrated player in history - well maybe not! the two neveilles get that title!

But does any1 agree with me?? personally i would have taken him off and put in Anelka! but what was tomo thinkin when he took off owen! and Heskey! christ my granny would do better! Utd's defence looked good until Anelka came on! Anelka had them all over the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

I'm not a pool fan, but i'll give credit where its due,
    at 1 piont utd had 7 shots on goal, none on target!
    while the pool had 7 also, with 4 on target!

i wouldn't call it lucky!!
    and in fairness to Heskey, he defend well, ever utd corner that came in, he stuck his head to it!

is this the end of the utd revival and the start of the pools???

ne takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

Not to be boasting or anything, but I was at Old Trafford for the match last night and, yeah, it was brilliant. :D

The result, that is. Liverpool were awful for the first half hour and improved greatly after that, but still weren't a huge amount better than the last few matches. They're still reliant on bad long balls, and why they didn't take the hapless Heskey off I don't know (although, like headcase says, he does defend well - future 'poacher turned gamekeeper', I wonder??).

The pool did defend very well though, Hyppia in particular was awesome.

The best thing was watching bitter man u fans spluttering with uncomprehending rage and frustration all the way home. Tra la la...

Murphy was pants all way through, we were saying how bad he was at work there yesterday and then the tosser scores!

It should be interesting to see what will happen, I reckon Liverpool will still not win the league, Leeds will not have enough of players to field a team either with them been suspended or in jail, NewCastle god only knows, United still not convinced we can win it, we have been there done that so many times, depends if we beat any of the top six teams, Arsenal are ones to watch, no messups YET, but they are still in place to go top, hard to know.

It should be the closest ever, not good for the heart, reckon ye will be goin to my funneral at the end of the year if it carries on like this!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

'Wan teh 'pool!

On a more serious note:

Simpsons_-_Parasite.gif
    © ® ™

I reckon that Liverpool have every chance of winning the league now! Arsenal have yet to suffer a slump in from! Utd have had theres and have come out of it well but the last 9 games have not been against the top 6! also leeds are beginning to fade a little bit! and with injuries and everything i dont think they can last the pace! Newcastle - as yop says - "God only Knows"

Its making for a great season! This is pure footy!!!!

shotamoose you say that liverpool didn't play well for the first half hour but don't forget one important factor - we were the away team!!!! When we played you at anfield you didn't play well for 90 minutes!!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Pfft... you stupid scousers.

You won with a flukey shinned goal when Uniteds defence were off guard. Yet you celebrate like you won the world cup. The scouse guy on fanzone sounded like he was crying. haha.

You performed like a conference team with yer long balls up to the tub of **** Heskey. Owen was also outclassed by a 36 year old Laurent Blanc. haha. Overrated team with a little luck.

Van Nistelrooy had a poor game but he had probably given up cos of decisions made by Dumbo Barber. And don't tell me they weren't penalties.

Remember don't let those perms get to yer head there lads you will never win any league like that. UNITED WILL ALWAYS BE SUPERIOR TO YOU.

Van Nistelrooy was crap and all he spent was his time diving around the place! i went to the pub last night and some of my mates were Utd fans and some were pool fans! each time that Van Nistelrooy went down they shouted for a penalty but then when they seen the replay they realised that he dived! Now come off it!

Also how many bad tackles are Utd allowed to have cos they could have had 5 or 6 players booked! how Veron stayed on the pitch was beyond me! and yet Gerrard got booked after 50 seconds! that seems resonable - doesn't it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭dobdobdo

by Pornapster Remember don't let those perms get to yer head there lads you will never win any league like that.
    by NastyCrash - how Veron stayed on the pitch was beyond me!
    Agreed, could easily have been sent off, but should have been dragged off by Fergie with Scholes moving into the centre, Giggs moved wide with Ollie upfront with Van Nilstelrooy.
    OH it seemed OH so simple to me with 25mins to go but ALAS it twas not to be :(
    So the pool won. Won what? 3points and I think they'll need them to get 4th spot at the end of the season. IMHO :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Pfft... you stupid scousers. [/B]

I don't think any of us here are Scousers. We just support a Scouse team.
    Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    You performed like a conference team [/B]

Nice way to put your own team down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭adeypius

united played crap in the second half, lost the plot
    liverpool played a flat back 5 and 5 in the midfield
    then scored a poxy goal
    united wont win the champions league
    and liverpool wont win the premiership

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Niallmac

I think the Pool fans are reading too much into the result of the other night. If there is ever one match that they would raise their game for it is United. If they beat Arsenal at the weekend I might start believing that they will reignite their challenge, but I do not think that they will. I think it is going to come down to United and Arsenal with United taking the trophy. I know they have a **** record against top six teams but Bolton aside thet beat nearly all the other teams, and that is something none of the other top six teams do. They all have a habit of dropping silly points.

i don't know whether arsenal will last the pace! i think they are gonna get a few suspensions and injures and Kanu and Lauren are gone for a month! so this will be their difficult time!

Look you are all ruling out Liverpool but what happened to Utd? Everyone ruled them out and then the won 9 games in a row! pretty impressive but not impossible by any team in the premiership!

All liverpool need to do is win a few games on the trot and we are right back in it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This one ain't over till the fat lady sings, but Arsenal must be the happiest team right now.

Until the weekend that is :D (and its on the Beeb too!)

Mike.

Lads

I must say, all joking aside, you must be the "open minded" (if that is the right word to use!!!!) bunch on a forum I have meet.
    Finally a board where tunnel vision does not exist!! (United are goint towin the league, hee hee!!)

But seriously, it is good to read other supporters views of what they actually think is goin to happen and not what they want to happen. Believe me it is hard to find other teams that will give an honest opinion, LONG MAY IT LAST

GWAN UNITED!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by nasty_crash

Everyone ruled them out and then the won 9 games in a row

and who did they beat?
    Not one fo the top 6 teams anyway.

More than likely, Arsenal will top the league in May with the 'Pool second.......Utd's Champion's League "adventures" will occupy them too much and they will be overly disappointed by the end of the season.

btw....anyone else think Van Nistelrooy should take a drug test being Dutch n all.....????

Scoursers will not be 2nd and no where near it, after last nites performance it once again proves how shi&e they are. No shape, no ideas, boring boring boring