Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Behind Enemy Lines

• 06-01-2002 4:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭

Went to see this last Friday night, 'tis a fairly good movie all in all. Unfortunately, the ending is incredulous but hey, it was better than a pint. Though coming from an Irish director, it's damn good :)

This film contains the worst sniper *ever*

[edit]Just remembered that the flight scene was very well done bar the fact that the missiles seemed to possess some form of thrust vectoring :rolleyes:[/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The sniper was in good company - a whole company managed only a few hits.

Suggestions have been made that his rifle is an AWP - it would appear that most / all the Accuracy International rifle have a similar format. AWP palmmaster cism - Prices

Irish Army - The AI 96 was introduced into service in the PDF in 1992. It is the second generation of Accuracy International rifles and is an improved version of the L92AI, its predecessor.
    http://www.military.ie/arw/images/inf-9_small.jpg

As regards the change of the designation of the rifles in CS the AWM and AWP are actually different models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Um, who really gives a sh1t what rifle was used in the film? Its just entertainment you know.

Guns are bad, mmkay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

yeah good point stephen, not to mention the fact it was off topic, I mean who asked for that info?????:confused:

That info has a history on boards. And the whole sniper thing is important to the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭Gerry

I hope you are taking the piss victor. Anyway, that film was the biggest load of crap I've seen in a while. So tired and cliched. Its a post september 11 american feel good movie, I can't remember the name of the lead guy, but he's a brutal actor. The only good scenes had the F-18 in it, it gave the best performance in the film. The ending was quite stupid, hey lets kill 50 foreigners for our 1 fallen comrade. All in all, a typical piece of piss.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by Victor
    Suggestions have been made that his rifle is an AWP - it would appear that most / all the Accuracy International rifle have a similar format. AWP palmmaster cism - Prices

Irish Army - The AI 96 was introduced into service in the PDF in 1992. It is the second generation of Accuracy International rifles and is an improved version of the L92AI, its predecessor.
    http://www.military.ie/arw/images/inf-9_small.jpg

As regards the change of the designation of the rifles in CS the AWM and AWP are actually different models.

Originally posted by Gerry
    I hope you are taking the piss victor.

Yes and no. The top post was inserted in the belief to one or two psychos would find it interesting. In fact someone commented on it in a game of CS. I was much less seerious in the second post (that and being logged on for 12 hours).
    Anyway, that film was the biggest load of crap I've seen in a while. So tired and cliched. Its a post september 11 american feel good movie, I can't remember the name of the lead guy, but he's a brutal actor. The only good scenes had the F-18 in it, it gave the best performance in the film. The ending was quite stupid, hey lets kill 50 foreigners for our 1 fallen comrade. All in all, a typical piece of piss.

I can give you an analysis of all the mistakes if you want .... ;)
    I can't remember the name of the lead guy, but he's a brutal actor.

Owen Wilson .... Lt. Chris Burnett http://us.imdb.com/Title?0159273

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

i liked your research victor, nice info + pics

also, Owen Wilson, in Shangai Noon with Jacki Chan, was pretty good. He was fresh, nice change from the "regulers".

ill go see this film just for the YEE HAAAness of it alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I thought it was enjoyable enough, yes the ending is a tad silly and stuff and the sniper guy kept reminding me of Zinedine Zidane, but there was a decent amount of action and I had **** all else to do yesterday so can't complain really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

This gfuss about the gun.To quote the owner of the comic shop in the Simpsons to some actor[lines not perfect]
    "Sir,I have with me a list of 39 structural and technological faults with the submarine from the Hunt for Red October".
    Let me guess,are you lot the type who turn up at Simpsons conventions specifically to outline script irregularities between episodes today and those from years ago?The show actually makes fun of those lot,as seen by Comic Shop Man and the nerds at the convention for Itchy Scratchy and Poochie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Yep I can picture this one in the states, those mupets coming out of the cinema "USA, USA, USA....." usual tripe.

Basically boils down to they are the good guys and everyone else is the baddies.

As a film had some good action but thats as far as my opinion goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

That movie was entirely brilliant, used every single possible war movie cliche, ridiculous set pieces (the trip mine and the 'spy' satellite ones especially), aweful performances and an absolutely hilarious sniper who looked like a knacker, and managed to track the pilot by his empty magazines and tire tracks!

Couldn't stop laughing all the way through!

I havent seen it yet but one thing about action films and computer games amuses me.Often the likes oif James Bond or whatever starts a film by having to go to some kind of army base or terror camp,usually for some reason in the remotest parts of Russia.Despite the fact we later see their aency using all matter of 2 cm accuarcy spy sats and so on the agent has to lay some kind oif device to let the pilot see the target!And another thing-how come the Russians never kick off a diplomatic fuss or even a world war 3 when Bond kills about 500 Russian soldiers at the start of the film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

it was not a good film and what was the craic with his wonky ass nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

At a wild guess he had it badly broken at some point??

Saw it tonight.Very good film,even though it had all the old satellite fancy technology,out of range communication systems,losing contact from sats at vital moments,sorrow of an arsehole soldier for civillians,the traditional clash of methods between 2 generals,the lone psycho soldier out on the hunt,etc etc etc.May have been a format as old as the hills but still very entertaining.Though I didnt exactly get why the Bosnian muslim with the tache was threatening him at gunpoint and seemed more desperate than the Serb sniper to harm him.
    Did any1 else get the impression sky news were sponsoring this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I thought it was a good but shallow movie. It had all the elements of a classic but just didn't do enough. The story focused on him being "behind enemy lines" and having to survive, with the entire serb conflict as a sub-plot. They seemed to add entire villages being slaughtered and buried in mass-graves as an after thought, when more time spent on the horror of the conflict and the USA's attitude towards it would have made a better film.

The visuals were superb but they'll never make a movie on their own. I'm not usually one to speak against a kick-ass action scene, but one's such as the ending of this film are getting a bit old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭SweetBirdOfTruth

mtv goes to war and man is it hell

btw - how much of this tripe was just a rehash of bat 21?

Originally posted by SweetBirdOfTruth
    mtv goes to war and man is it hell

Exactly what do you mean by"MTV goes to war".It seems that nobody can make a film that young ppl will enjoy without some arsehole refering to the"MTV Generation".There is no MTV Generation.Most viewers of music channels like myself think MTV is generally a load of ****e in comparison to the other skydigital music channels like Kiss.MTV appeals to the 8-11 year old girls age group.Its pathetically poorly presented and run.Its a joke.For example,did you know this years MTV Europe awards werent even live!!!!!!To scared of offending the powerful gay pussys lobby that is the ITC. Its so f-ucking out of touch with what music fans like.The only decent MTV channel is MTV Base.

[/rant mode on ;)]

I think it might be that you are unlikely to get much attention from many people for more that 3-4 minutes - about the duration of a music video. Much like the 30-second CNN sound-bite.

Or it may refer to the superficial nature of modern society, where some people don't seem to realise the difference between war and the movies. That people die in the real world and don't get to be replayed 10 times a day.

Or it may refer to MTVs sickly sweet attitude to the world (OK thay have done their bit for worthwhile causes once in a while - i get the impression the supported (or is it parasited off) Radio B92).

You refer to MTV as if it is one station, there are several parallel stations USA, UK & Irland, Europe, etc.

[/rant mode off]

gopher - if i had referred to an "MTV generation" i'd treat your post seriously. i didn't. i won't.

behind enemy lines to me lked nothing more than a series of well groomed pop videos, the sort seen on mtv (and vh1 and all the music channels/shows - take destiny child's survivor as an example if you really need one), with a few dull bits joining them together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Castor Troy:
    At a wild guess he had it badly broken at some point??
    yeah, probably by the knacker when he was younger - explains most of the 'hunting' subplot then.
    The flight scenes were totally gung-ho sh1te.
    Those missiles can pull much higher g-forces then F/A-18s and are a hell of a lot more manouverable. I didn't get a good look at them, but most AAMs have proximity detonators (just like when it shredded the wing root) which makes the 'getting the elevator clipped by the missile' bit a big pile of rotting tosh.

Why wasn't the fact that the sniper was in civilian clothes made more of? It was like the admiral guy asked the pilot and then decided it wasn't important afterall.

I have my own feelings about past US military actions, and they may (;)) make me biased but I can't stand films that throw any sort of accuracy out the window in favour of 'Hoo-Ha Go USA WOOOOOO!!!!' propaganda. Feckin Rednex.

I'd seriously advise yego to see Black Hawk Down on Thursday of Friday.
    Got the book before Christmas after a friend reccomended it. Seriously good stuff from a war point of view. Wasn't expecting the film to be out here for another month at least, was nicley surprised :)
    The book was written by a reporter over the course of 3-5 years about, and after reading the book and its notes and epilogue I'd have to say it's fairly written. The author and a camera man even went back to Mogadishu to meet and talk to some of the somalis who had been fighting that day to have their stories too.

An exceptional book, easy enough to get into for anyone without weapon's knowlage as any abreviation or model number is explained from the start. Is more of a documentary, but gripping stuff.

re black hawk down and book it was based on. this from the guardian newspaper:

http://film.guardian.co.uk/features/featurepages/0,,589956,00.html

I was amazed Black Hawk Down managed to extract any heroism whatsoever from an incident that PBS television recently exposed as a disaster. What else is there to say about allegedly elite special forces who hovered a fleet of helicopters at tree-height above a crowd armed with Kalashnikovs? The book it's based on has been roundly trashed for being gullible and over-reliant on participants with far too much to lose by being candid

and fromt he same article, this about behind enemy lines

http://film.guardian.co.uk/features/featurepages/0,,589956,00.html

The additions point up the shortcomings of O'Grady's story, in which, after all, a prohibitively expensive plane was lost, dozens of other aircraft and lots of manpower were diverted from combat duties, the enemy was barely engaged, and no discernible strategic or tactical objective was achieved.

At the same time, two French sergeants with the UN, outnumbered 50 to one by Serbian forces, held out for days while refusing to surrender a UN weapons post they were guarding. Barely a syllable of this exactly contemporary story registered in the US media, which was just further proof that, in the US, the term "hero" has suffered such a hyper-inflation of meaning as to render it almost worthless.

I think the Guardian has issues.

yeah, one a day monday through saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

The film was ****e in my opinion, in all fairness, at the end how many people and tanks were shooting at 1. the helicopters and 2. the solider. And they hit nothing. OMFG what a load of crap. I like the scene in the destroyed train yard/town. With the mines, I only liked it because it looked pretty cool. I'm looking forward to black hawk down when it comes out here on the 18th.

John