Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No hope for young drivers

• 14-11-2001 2:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭

Just got my quote for next year....a 77% increase. Not one crash, not a single incident, yet there's a 77% increase. Incredible.

I had a few bob saved up to get a car but it looks like I'm going to have to forget about it altogether now.

I'm basically left with 2 options:
    1) Get a second job. Unlikely I work a 60 hour week as it is.
    2) Dump the car and get back on me bike. ( I drive about 150 miles a week and I'm never going to make that on a bike! :))

I'm screwed basically.
    Totally screwed.

And I look around and see 17-year old punks driving 01 Laguna's.

:mad:
    :reallyfVckingmad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

well, what sort of car is it?
    what year and how much are you paying currently?

ive a 92 micra and my insurance is 1100.
    im 27 and ive got a full licence.
    i now live in the uk and when my tax and insurance is up in feb, im going to buy another car, a mazda mx-5.
    its a 1.8 convertable. want to know what my insurance is going to be?
    roughly 6-700 quid.

now, go and get sick and realise how much those bas7ards are ripping you off. you can always
    a) get your insurance in another country, or
    b) move country, or
    c) sell the car to your mother and be a named driver!

come the revelution, the insurance companies will be first against the wall. and im first in line with a gun...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

I'm 23 driving an 88 Fiesta, the cars pretty much worthless.
    I believe that probably has quite a bit to do with it. Older car, higher risk, newer car higher payouts. Catch 22 really.
    I payed 1,800 last year, now they want 3,200.

I had heard there was going to be a 20% increase which I was ready for (begrudgingly). a 77% increase is a joke really.

is it possible to get insurance from another country?

I can't be a named driver either, I'm not exactly sure why, but I think it's because my mother has her own car or something to do with that. Besides as soon as I went back on my own insurance it would sky-rocket again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

77%?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! How much is you insurance now then???? If mine went up 77% I'd be paying £5,310!!!! Get onto them, that has to be a mistake, surely every year it has to go down, not up. Maybe your car is the prob? I was paying £3,900 which dropped to nearly 3,000 when I moved to the country (from Dublin) and got a full licence. I'm dreading to see what mine is next year :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

When I was 20 yrs old I got quoted £2500.00 for a 125 motorcycle:D

Now I will be quoted 2045.00 for a 400
    Current is 1500 on different class of motorcycle, funny huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Insurance in Ireland is búll****, but I thought there was a new test being carried out... something like 500 young drivers are being monitored by some insurance agency to see if they deserve the way hyped policies... and there supposed to be that 'advanced driveing course' available too, if you do that they knock off a few punts... but if they're raiseing policies by 77%! féckin hell whats the point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

77 % ?

maybe its time you switched insurance scammers....i mean companys :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Typedef I was quoted about £700 for fully-comp on a 125, sounds like there's something seriously wrong there. Motorbike insurance is relatively cheap.

Oh and yeah I'll definetely be looking around at other companies.

Anyone got any recommendations? ROFL!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I drive a Suzuki AX100 bike, yes its small in engine size but i love it dearly.
    Last year my insurance was 400 quid approx (was 29, its gone down since turning 30 :) , 300~), which frankly i thought was too much..but..

A work collegue was quoted 1 grand + for a wee nifty fifty scoorter..which boggled me at the time..he is 23.

But over the last year or so of driving..i've half come to understand the rationale behine it.

Young feckers on scooters take FAR too many risks.
    Don't get me wrong, i am not impartial to opening the throttle out..driving in bus lanes..swerving in and out of traffic..but the difference is..

1) They swerve in and out of moving traffic.. i don't
    2) They open the throttle in residential areas and brake suddenly..often to avoid crashing into the pedestrian crossing the road..i don't
    3) They drive on rainy days, foggy days, early mornings ..without their lights on..i don't..sometimes i've seen one coming the opposite direction and wondered could i count his life span in minutes..

WHAT ARE THESE KIDS MAJOR MALFUNCTION!!!

These feckers are the reason why insurance is so high..pure and simple.
    Perhaps behind the cosy wheel of a car you don't notice poor driving so much because if you drive in Dublin you are in a jam usually..but on a bike its constant motion..and it is very very noticable.

I hate expensive insurance, but do understand why younger drivers are charged more.

Perhaps there should be an advanced drivers test here like the UK that shows at least better understanding of road safety and better driving ability..that intelligent younger drivers could take ..and therefore, be a lesser risk to the insurance companies..--->>>lower insurance.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

And perhaps pigs will fly, not getting at you or anything longfield but these cöcksücking (these german keyboards are great) insurance companies would be completely against giving lower prices and so probably wouldn't support lower prices. Basically the only thing we can hope for is givernment intervention, or a revolution as wwm said.

Having said that however, I think that you can get insured from another country within the EU and if a lot of people started to do that then insurance prices would surely be driven down. If ye all got an information society going or summat you could explain to people how easy, or hard it is, to get insured from a foreign country, but lets face it, it cant be much worse.

Baz_

P.S. Sorry about the cursing Castor but I was calling the companies cöcksückers which they are and nobody can dispute that fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Chubby

Originally posted by Baz_
    Basically the only thing we can hope for is givernment intervention, or a revolution as wwm said.
    This is not going to happen as the government wants to keep cars off the street and high insurance is a good deterrent. Maybe if enough people make enough noise then the government will do something but like a dutch friend recently pointed out, most of the Irish are too timid to challenge authorities and those who are willing to make a stand are not organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Originally posted by Baz_
    Basically the only thing we can hope for is givernment intervention

Baz_

Baz , not sure i agree with this..

We live in a market economy not a communist regime.
    Surely if other companies saw that the insurance companies in Ireland are making huge profits, they would be in here faster than you could say..bring in the gmen?

The sad fact is that , our courts give big payouts ..and young men (in particular ,women cause them..haha>) are involved in more accidents than any other group and as souch that means higer risk./.pure and simple mathematics.

I'd challenge anyone to prove that we are being ripped off here, and why in a competitive market we don't have other insurance companies rushing to sell their wares)..when all the facts are taken into account.

Maybe though your statement could take effect afterall..not to tell the Insurance companies LOOSE THE HIGH PRICES rather..COURTS>>PAY OUT LESS..what do you reckon the public reaction would be?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I'm 17
    £1,600 + 10 driving lesson at about 20 quid a lesson..
    Thats how much mine is knocked up to
    And I'm only a named driver and my da has never crashed before and only claimed once abour 6 year ago for the car getting robbed
    looks like I am being robbed right now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 franco

i think the only way to go is a young driver co-operative. An insurance company for young drivers, run by ypung drivers. Run on the credit union model, non profit making. If enough of us came togethor it could become a reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 toloola

Insurance company`s are a pack of money grabbing F*****`S.
    I ASKED ABOUT GET INSURED ON A 95 FEISTA AND THEY SAID £2448 AND 32P. F*** they actually wanted the 32p. Then the next week they up the price when i went to pay for it to
    £2846.86
    Come on insurance company`s it`s a quote i want not a F*****g bank loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Whilst I don't drive (yet), I have to agree that I think insurance companies (on this island) are a pack of leeching parasites (to put it mildy).

When you look at any other country, even Britain next door, which would have a rather similar culture and attitude to our own in most respects, their insurance is WAY lower. I have only one question. Why??

Insurance companies have enjoyed shafting us for a LONG time, because we don't complain. We mutter and mumble, but we still reach for our wallets. We could learn something from the french farmers (well .. maybe not THAT extreme, but you get the idea). Threaten the political careers of a few politicians by letting them know how unpopoular they are in the polls(and why) or something, and watch them DANCE to the angry consumers tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Coyote

well it just might be that the deaths per person on the road are 2 times as high as in the uk and they have more cars per person.
    yes the price is too high for the risks, but it's funny that they are going out of bussniss not makeing loads of cash.

Coyote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Originally posted by Coyote
    well it just might be that the deaths per person on the road are 2 times as high as in the uk and they have more cars per person.
    Also, the acerage claim payout in Ireland is (AFAIK) the highest in Europe, meaning that even if we had the same risks as the UK, we would still be more expensive due to the costs of those risks.

The major problem, IMHO, is not that the insuance companies are fleecing everyone, but rather that they are not fleecing the correct people. Insurance for *very young* drivers is too high. Insurance for older drivers is probably too low.

The horrid state of "named drivers" driving mssive cars cause its more affordable and excessive numbers of people driving on their own on provo licenses doesnt help either.

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 thereal_unsane

Originally posted by OJ
    I'm 17
    £1,600 + 10 driving lesson at about 20 quid a lesson..
    Thats how much mine is knocked up to
    And I'm only a named driver and my da has never crashed before and only claimed once abour 6 year ago for the car getting robbed
    looks like I am being robbed right now!!

things to take into account before you start crying about how much you are being insured......

a) what age are you
    you = 17 = baby in car terms
    b) size of car engine
    you = i'm guessing 1.5 ltr or more, if you are gonna drive a big car, you are gonna pay a big premium.
    c) you are 17

go age a couple of years, get your parents to buy a smaller car, and get your drivers licence, then start crying if you are getting shafted over your insurance.

also, driving lessons count for **** in regards to insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Oh I am on a provisional A licence.
    Want to know something really spooky?

I got quoted 2700.00 quid to put a restricted 400 honda super 4 on the road for 1 year!

WOW.

I think I will get away with paying only 1500 quid, well the girl in hibernian quoted me 2045, but quoted my dad 1500 when he rang up and asked norwich union??WTF surely hibernian==norwich union??WTF

Anyhmm
    Here is what I was driving : http://www.rollercenter.de/images/suz/suz_mar_1.jpg

Here is what I will pick up on Saturday all going well
    http://www.worldsendgroup.co.uk/wem/pic/cb400sf.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by Longfield

I'd challenge anyone to prove that we are being ripped off here

There's been several topics here about just how we are being ripped off. Most of them started by me :)

Here's one : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21663

Also information here : www.mijag.com

I was going to post more but just remembered the blackout :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

btw, its a toyota Corolla 1.
    1398cc
    01 too

OJ, I'd say that's about normal for drivers in this country. I started driving at 18 as a named driver on a '98 Fiesta 1.25 and was 1,350 on top of my ma's premium, who had no crashes ever. So you being a year younger starting out and driving a bigger engine would be charged that little bit more. And lessons mean nowt. They only really care how long you've been driving (in months believe it or not) :(

I'll agree that the Irish courts pay out waay to much. I myself received 6 grand for a bumped head and cracked teeth roots(not as sore as it sounds) when a learner pulled out in front of us 8 years ago. It was way too much, but I'm not complaining, and ironically it paid for my current car :)

WWMan - that last one is an ideal solution, but unfortunately it has basically been outlawed over here. Insurance companies no longer insure people on two cars unless they can prove it's needed, i.e. for work, or unless they are famous, then they can afford ridiculous premiums :(, because that's what people were doing and the companies were making net losses insuring them.

I think the only solution is for a rethink of the Licensing laws. The gardai normally don't care when a provisional A is driving on his own, but I think that in the first 3 months at least, maybe 6, it would be crucial to force people to drive only with a licensed driver beside them, and strictly enforce it.
    This would drive down the amount of accidents hugely - I had my first and only accident on my own in my second month, and amazingly no-one cared, and the insurance company paid out even though I technically wasn't covered. And I'm not the only one, I know of loads of similar cases.

What I was thinking was to strictly make them have a licensed driver beside them for 3-6 months, then let them get a provisional B for 1 and a half - 2 years, then create a 6 months - 1 year Provisional C that allows them drive on the motorways, supervised for the first three months.
    Only then after 6 months on a provisional C should they be allowed to take the test. It would increase pass rates and the standard of driving in this country IMHO :).
    Just as a case - my girlfriend's sis passed on Wed., and she has never driven in a zone with a speed limit above 50mph, I mean that sounds a little f*cked up dangerous if you ask me :(

Whew prob my longest ever post. Whad'yis think? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Gardai have been cracking down on L-plate drivers driving on their own, allegedly. I've seen no evidence of it.

I've always been for extra driver training, but I don't think a campaign soley against learner drivers is the answer. Anyway, this topic is about lowering insurance premiums - not accidents :)

Originally posted by Blitzkrieger
    Anyway, this topic is about lowering insurance premiums - not accidents :)

If we lower accidents wouldn't we be lowering insurance premiums? :) I just reckon that lowering accidents is about the only way to lower insurance premiums IMHO. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

anything over 1.2ltr for anyone under 25 is out of the question....the premium usually does go down after the first year. some times by a big ammount....having a full licence makes **** all of a difference........