Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Yankees win yet again?

• 31-10-2001 3:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

1. Yankees in 6
    2. Yankees in 7
    3. Diamondbacks in 5
    4. Diamondbacks in 6
    5. Diamondbacks in 7

PS. This is supposed to be a poll but I cant get it to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I presume your talking about baseball here ?

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

No. 2 Yankees in 7

Although I am so loathed to say it....me being a Baltimore Orioles Fan

Die Yankee Scum Die Yankee Scum

PS. why is the entire world wearing Yankee caps, w/ot realising thay are representing the biggest shower of shítheads in world sport.

Mike Mussina look out.....I'm comin 4 ya.....heeeheeeehheeee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Nagilum

Originally posted by gandalf
    I presume your talking about baseball here ?

Gandalf.

Of course, it is the world series.

I despise the Yankees as I'm an Orioles fan through and through. But, alas, I am resigned to the inevitable. They do it every year no matter how much the odds are against them. Down 2-0 to Atlanta? They win in 6. Down 2-0 to Oakland in a 5 game series? They pull out 3 straight. Every single time. :(

Yankees in 6, maybe 7, as much as I hate it. :mad:

Are in Ireland Nagilum ??

Its rare to hear anyone talk about baseball let alone to hear of a fellow O's fan. I'm abit shocked you understand:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Orioles? Yankees? Who gives a rat's ass?

And it's not the World Series, any more than the GAA champions are World Champions. It's the American national championship.

Isn't it strange that the one area of modern popular culture that America has not so far managed to export successfully to the rest of the world is its sport?

I doubt there's more than ten people here who could name a single player from the Orioles or the Yankees.

Or who is the best passing quarterback in the NFL at the moment

Or what's the best ice hockey team currently.

You don't have to like Man Utd (I certainly don't) to know that they are probably the best team in Britain at the moment. Or to be a mad soccer fan to have heard of Roy Keane or Niall Quinn in this country at the moment. But that's part of our sporting culture.

Remember that picture in the papers that purported to be of Palestinians celebrating the September 11 atrocity? Half of them were wearing baseball caps and (american) football jerseys. That's American sport for you, or at least as it pertains to the rest of the world.

Skin deep.

A facade.

A franchise operation like Burger King.

Not real sport at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

WAN the yankees! :)

I think the Yankees in 7, altho it would probably be good for the sport if they were to lose.

Originally posted by Hairy Homer

A facade.

Not real sport at all.

Hairy Nobody asked you to reply to this thread- if dont like baseballl then píss off and stop spamming this thread w/ your political beliefs....This is the sports bd. and baseball has as much right here as any other sport!

And it's not the World Series, any more than the GAA champions are World Champions. It's the American national championship.

Stop, stop right there. I shall forgive your ignorance as not many people know this (very few americans even), but its IS the World Series. Originally the championship games were sponsered by a newspaper called The World. hence The World Series of games. So get off your high horse.

You don't have to like Man Utd (I certainly don't) to know that they are probably the best team in Britain at the moment.

I completly agree. Oh and who is it that Manchester United have a joint merchandise deal with? oh yes, The New York Yankees. Dont make out that soccer is somehow more pure than american sports. Yes, we know more about it, and Yes i personally prefer soccer, but i also really enjoy baseball and i dont need to have a anti-globalist spouting crap at me for that pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

OK then stop right there Harry Homer !!! I was so tempted to edit your post but I won't because what you wrote makes you look like a right tit.

Baseball afaik is very popular in South America and Japan as well, infact its so popular in Japan the organisers of the World Cup are worried it will eat into their crowds for games in Japan that do not have the national team playing.

No there is only one American Import that is not allowed to be mentioned on this sports board and thats World Wildlife Fund "Sports Entertainment" !!!!!! Any posts about this "Wrestling" will be dispatched to the After Hours or Films/TV boards without warning :)

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Gargoyle

As I wright this, Arizona just went up 2-1 in the 8th, so maybe there's a chance...but I'm not getting my hopes up.

It'll prolly be the Yankees again, *sigh*

Also, as for baseball being such an "American" sport, you should realize that a very large number of great players are not originally from the US. These include Ichiro from Japan, and Sammy Sosa from Dominican Rep., both All-Stars. There are also many players from Cuba (defectors), Venezuala, and at least one I know of from Australia.

Not to mention, the guy who just hit the triple to put the D-backs up 1 run is from Mexico!

Baseball here has a wonderful international flavor. Before you slag it, you should check it out sometime perhaps. You never know, you might just enjoy it.

Originally posted by gandalf
    OK then stop right there Harry Homer !!! I was so tempted to edit your post but I won't because what you wrote makes you look like a right tit.
    Gandalf.

Good Thinkin Gandalf. Maybe we should have a "tit of the month" award for posts like this....neway

The Yankees indeed as a write have pulled it back to 2-2, so I think Dustaz if we had money on the Yankees in 7 we might be in w/ a shout:)

Originally posted by Dustaz

I completly agree. Oh and who is it that Manchester United have a joint merchandise deal with? oh yes, The New York Yankees. Dont make out that soccer is somehow more pure than american sports.

How true. Manchester United are a sporting abomination. A globalised mega brand. A franchise operation for hire. Fine. That's the way of business. But it's not sport.

Real sport - whatever the game, it could be baseball it could be gridiron. It could be tennis or orienteering - is about communication. It's about interacting with other people to an agreed set of rules which allow you to communicate as equals regardless of race, creed, religion, or class. Real sport allows you to define yourself within those rules and within the spirit of the game.

Soccer was and is still like that, despite the best efforts of the money men who have taken hold of it recently to impose the American brand-for-hire franchising model on top of it. It's worked in the short term. I remain hopeful that it won't in the long term. People will realise that any bloody fool can claim to be a supporter of Man Utd or Arsenal or Liverpool. All you have to do is buy the ridiculously overpriced shirt. It's not real identity. It's bogus. It's a bit like me falling in love with Claudia Schiffer and expecting it not to be unrequited.

Dumb.

American sport is a mechanism for identifying with America, not with sport, in much the same was as the GAA is here. And who plays GAA outside of the Irish diaspora? Nobody. They are excluded from the whole ethos by the very rules of the GAA.l

American sport is not quite as blatant as that but it's not far off. I don't despise the games at all. In fact, I used to pay to go and see the World League of American football some years back. It used to pack out Wembley Stadium. Why doesn't it do so any more? Because for Brits, or that matter anyone, it was made very clear to them that they were coming to surrender themselves to the American Way, instead of allowing themselves to take on the game, make it their own and compete with the Americans on an equal basis.

They're a little too proud of their own identity to want to do that and good on them.

If you like baseball, then go play baseball and fair play to you. Do it your way. Who says you have to wear stripey pyjamas? Who says you have to call your team after a wild animal, or an event in American history? Make it your own.

On the other hand, if all you want to do is claim spurious allegiance to one of the very few branded franchises that operate at the top level of the game just so you can thumb your nose at those who choose not to share your enthusiasm then forgive me if I look on you as a pretentious charlatan with no sense of himself.

Bit like most Manchester United fans.
    Yes, we know more about it, and Yes i personally prefer soccer, but i also really enjoy baseball and i dont need to have a anti-globalist spouting crap at me for that pleasure.

Yup. I'm an anti globalist. But a tolerant one.

I even like Americans. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its not soccer- it's football....!
    and that applies as much to the Natives' as the Yanks!

Mike.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Ahhh Homer...

Firstly, sport has to be entertaining...

I wouldn't waste my time / pay money to go into your office and watch you work. I disagree that it has to be all about identity, as you said. How then if it was all about identity could you look at say, olympic ski jumping or downhill or toboggan etc...and enjoy it, not knowing the first thing about any participant, yet I do and don't, if you know what I mean...?

I caught a couple of hours of live baseball this summer in Fenway Park, Boston. Strolled in at 7:30 (about 30 mins after the start) and left about 30 mins before the end.... I had my family with me.. my wife and an 11 month old daughter in a pushchair...
    As a nights entertainment it was fantastic (Boston easily beat Tampa)... very family orientated and highly accessible.
    I also found the game to be quite fascinating, much more technical and tactical than I had ever imagined...

orginally posted by hairy homer
    blah blah blah

Cant be arsed reading that to be honest. Go away and discuss politics with your college mates ok?

WAN THE YANKEES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 1-Scrappy-1

/me renames Dustaz to "Richindub3"

Originally posted by Licksy20
    Ahhh Homer...

Firstly, sport has to be entertaining...

Entertainment is part of it, I agree. But it's not the main thing. Competition is the essential factor. Here are three famous sporting quotes.

'Winning isn't everything, it's the only thing' - some American football coach.
    'It's not just about winning. It's about glory, about doing things in style' Danny Blanchflower, Spurs soccer legend
    'It matters not whether you won or lost, but how you played the game' Unknown. Probably some cricketer.

These may sound contradictory, and they are. But if you put them all together, you get some idea of what sport should be.

I wouldn't waste my time / pay money to go into your office and watch you work.

Quite right. Not a pretty sight.

I caught a couple of hours of live baseball this summer in Fenway Park, Boston. Strolled in at 7:30 (about 30 mins after the start) and left about 30 mins before the end.... I had my family with me.. my wife and an 11 month old daughter in a pushchair...
    As a nights entertainment it was fantastic (Boston easily beat Tampa)... very family orientated and highly accessible.
    I also found the game to be quite fascinating, much more technical and tactical than I had ever imagined...

Fair play to you. I'm sure it was great. That was the US. 'Another sporting quote: 'He who wants to understand Americans, must first understand baseball.' It's their national game and they're very proud of it and with good reason. It's a great game. So why don't the Yanks try and spread it by funding some guys to buy a load of baseball bats, grab a piece of park somewhere in a load of foreign cities and start teaching kids to play it, thereby generating a grassroots interest?

Because they'd much rather simply do a franchise deal with Manchester bloody United and try to sell baseball caps to the greater global populace. That's where there priorities are. Not the sort of thing to get excited about, anymore than paying to see me sit at a computer.

If one of these guys posting here has a real interest in the game, and would like to see it take root here, then maybe I'd have some sympathy for them. If, as seems to be the case, all they want to do is wear the logo and say: 'Look at me. I'm a Yankee supporter. How cool am I?' the answer is: 'Look at you. You're a self-appointed globalised peasant. How pathetic is that?'

Now if you'll excuse me. Leinster are playing rugby on the telly tonight. I'm off.

You are a moron.

Not only has baseball spread so that it is now one of the most popular sports in countries all over south america and asia, but its little cousin Softball is faily popular here. or maybe you were too busy looking at sweaty men with their heads between others legs to notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

sweaty men with their heads between others legs to notice.

omg this better not be a reference to rugby! (which clearly owns baseball imo). diamondbacks are fag9ts. waaan the yankees.

You are a moron.

Not only has baseball spread so that it is now one of the most popular sports in countries all over south america and asia, but its little cousin Softball is faily popular here.

You mean rounders, don't you?

Not the same game at all.

Were you around 11 years ago when the country stopped to watch Ireland play Italy in the World Cup quarter final? That was one of the great sporting occasions locally. Why? Because 'We' were playing on the world stage against one of the truly great footballing nations and giving them a run for their money.

That will never happen in baseball.

All we will ever be allowed do is pay homage to the root beer and burger culture, while ignoring our own. Perhaps you're so wrapped up in your idealised self important globalised village mentality that you can't see what peasantry you are inflicting on yourself.

What can one expect from an Irish Arsenal fan? I would have more time for somebody from Plymouth who loyally supports Plymouth Argylle than I would for some jumped up pretentious prat from Ireland who thinks that just because he's bought the replica shirt and has a pin up of Patrick Viera's shiny legs on his bedroom wall ( Go on. Talk to me about big sweaty men's arses) that he's part of the overall Arsenal family and can refer to them as 'we'. No way baby.

John Lennon said it nearly 30 years ago.

'Keep you doped with religion, sex and TV
    And you think you're so clever and classless and free
    But you're still f***ing peasanst as far as I can see.'
    Working Class Hero

Substitute football for sex and that's you that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭The Cigarette Smoking Man

Yankees in 7 :)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Homer,

Not everyone wants to take sport so seriously... some people like it for it's entertainment value.
    Just because International baseball isn't as glamorous or has as much history as say the world cup (soccer) doesn't mean that I can't watch baseball and be entertained. These are professional athlethes, talented, and the game is put together/marketed/exploited... whatever... in such a way as to be bloddy enjoyable to a lot of people..

Anyway, Dublin to Rome is only a distance of about half the width of the united states...

You can be as fanatical as you wish about your life/sports whatever... just fcuk off trying to inflict it on others if it's not what they want.

Some popcorn and another Bud Lite anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭twoheadedcow

Originally posted by 80project
    Mike Mussina look out.....I'm comin 4 ya.....heeeheeeehheeee [/B]

haha, i spent last summer in maryland, so i kinda got into the orioles, got caught up in the wall to wall cal ripken goodbye games, that got annoying... went to camden yards too, very nice!

yeah, that mussina, i tell ya, prick :) i mean the o's are going to win it next year......well they might be able to beat kansas anyhow :-p

No Dustaz meant softball.
    This obviously highlights your complete and total lack of knowledge about the sport and further reiterates the lack of substance in your arguments here-to-fore. No Offence;)

To: twoheadedcow
    We all live in hope when it comes to the O's. They have had the best stadium in baseball, practically the most money and arguably the best fans for the last 10 years and still no World Series ( or even close)

Although Cal is a legend, I cant but think they are better off w/ him in the team. He has been a crutch for the past few years, generally batting down the order:(

A dose of Eternal Optimism is what is always needed:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Gargoyle

YES! The Diamondbacks have actually done it with a thrilling 2 run rally in the bottom of the ninth!! FANTASTIC GAME!! FANTASTIC WORLD SERIES!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭The Cigarette Smoking Man

Originally posted by The Cigarette Smoking Man
    Yankees in 7 :)

:(

Did you see the B2 bomber that flew over the stadium when they were playing the national anthem, the crowd were as shocked as I was.

http://www.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/ws/news/ws_news_story_left.jsp?article=1152001-0045

capt.1004922667world_series_pnb107.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

how can anybody watch baseball its one of the most boreing sports in the world bar cricket horse racing and golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭nore

Originally posted by DerekD Goldfish
    how can anybody watch baseball its one of the most boreing sports in the world bar cricket horse racing and golf
    Derek? You can watch League of Ireland soccer but you can't watch any of the above sports? You are a strange individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

i agree that baseball is boring to watch, but that didn't stop me from going to dozens of games. i go for the atmosphere, the sun ;), and all the stuff associated with baseball (the cheers, hot-dogs, etc) that makes a game really enjoyable. Unless theres a guy that I personally know on the team, i'm not too bothered with the match itself, but i usually just relax and wait for a home run. its a bit like fishing :)

all i can say is 'bah' :)
    I missed the last few games, so i have no idea whether they deserved it or not, but i still think its probably a good thin for the game. Its a bit like Wimbledon winning the FA cup, The romance of a team only 4 years old beating the best team in baseball to win the world series will do a lot for the game (which is ailing a little as far as i can tell). It might stop the overpaid idiots striking for a season anyway :)

I want to know what John Rocker had to say about it all :)

No, i mean Softball. can you read?
    Were you around 11 years ago when the country stopped to watch Ireland play Italy in the World Cup quarter final?
    Yes.
    Again, im not going to bother with your political arseology. Save it for the common room please.
    What can one expect from an Irish Arsenal fan? I would have more time for somebody from Plymouth who loyally supports Plymouth Argylle than I would for some jumped up pretentious prat from Ireland who thinks that just because he's bought the replica shirt and has a pin up of Patrick Viera's shiny legs on his bedroom wall ( Go on. Talk to me about big sweaty men's arses) that he's part of the overall Arsenal family and can refer to them as 'we'. No way baby.
    Were YOU around 22 years ago when Arsenal beat Manchester United in the last 10 minutes of the best FA cup ever? When they did it with a team featuring 6 or 7 Irishmen? Were you watching sport on television and not seeing Irish games, only English games and thinking that Arsenal were an Irish team in the english league? (hey, i was 7, i thought a lot of things then :) ). FYI I am a shamrock rovers fan too and i attended most of their home games before they moved from Milltown (were you around for that Mr "Where were you").
    That argument negates any argument you may have about sport. If you dont understand that most soccer fans have absolutly no choice about who they are 'stuck' supporting, then you dont understand much. If you take an interest in a team at a young age, it is almost impossible to let go of that interest.

John Lennon said it nearly 30 years ago.

'Keep you doped with religion, sex and TV
    And you think you're so clever and classless and free
    But you're still f***ing peasanst as far as I can see.'
    Working Class Hero

Substitute football for sex and that's you that is.

It seems that earth has suddenly developed an erratic orbit, caused by Mr Lennon spinning in his grave.

Stay in college mate, your not going to like he real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

You say that you cant get out of suporting a team you support from a young age but I unfortunatly used to support Merchendise united until onday after supporting pats for a few years I asked mysely why and i didnt care about them after that i just concentrated on pats after that you say that aresnal had an irish team cause they had 7 irishmen on the team what about all the great FAI cup finals such as when non league st. francis got to the final when there were more irishmen playing.

P.s. i cant wait till rovers move to talaght partly because it will be good for the league partly becaue it will get them out richmond

Were YOU around 22 years ago when Arsenal beat Manchester United in the last 10 minutes of the best FA cup ever? When they did it with a team featuring 6 or 7 Irishmen? ? (hey, i was 7, i thought a lot of things then :) ).

I certainly was. Except that I'm a lot older than you, and therefore entitled to be a curmudgeonly old git.

Do you remember Liam Brady being interviewed in the dressing room after his man of the match performance, where he was asked to talk us through the winning goal which he created?

'Well, we were two up, and then they pulled two goals back, and I could see the game going into extra time, and I didn't want that coz I was knackered.'

Legend has it that the very stiff upper lipped Sunday Telegraph reported this as: 'Mr Brady said afterwards that he had not been looking forward to extra time, as he was all in.'

FYI I am a shamrock rovers fan too

Good man yerself. Now tell me. How would you feel if some git from, say Iceland, or the US came over festooned in Shelbourne or St Pats colours and started slagging you off with choruses of 'You're SH** and you know you are' followed by a rousing version of 'You're supposed to, you're supposed to, you're supposed to have a home' ? (Bohs man, me)

Would you think he was a little strange? How do you think fans of Bolton and Leicester take to dickheads with DART accents slagging them off for not being 'Unoited' fans?

and i attended most of their home games before they moved from Milltown (were you around for that Mr "Where were you").

[

Actually the dire economic situation of the 1980s had forced me to emigrate. But I vaguely remember reading about the KRAM movement.

'Well, we were two up, and then they pulled two goals back, and I could see the game going into extra time, and I didn't want that coz I was knackered.'

Legend has it that the very stiff upper lipped Sunday Telegraph reported this as: 'Mr Brady said afterwards that he had not been looking forward to extra time, as he was all in.'

roflmao, never heard that.

As to the rest of the stuff, this thread is not about Domestic Vs English soccer, so lets not take it off topic (g'wan, create a thread, we can keep ourselves entertained for minutes on end)
    oh, one last thing...
    'You're supposed to, you're supposed to, you're supposed to have a home'"
    "Whos that top of the taaaaaaaaable, whos that top of the league?" etc :)