Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(!!!ROCKERS BEWARE!!!)New Rap Albums , But Just Who's Best?

• 30-10-2001 1:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭

Has anyone heard that new albums out there,

were spoilt for choice this year , We got:

DMX - The great Depression
    Ja Rule - Rule 3 36
    Jay Z - The blueprint
    D12 - Devils Night
    RZA - Digital Bullet
    Redman - Malpractice

like look at these Phat albums but who in your opinion makes the best rap album. Like i'm talkin overall with the producing & lyrics. At present I think Jay Z has it just right.

DMX is good and if Tupac was around they would be twins (both actors, both ripped, both have good beats)

so who's the best ?

BTW

If your looking for a good song to get the DMX,Ice Cube, RZA, Eminem remix of prdigy - firestarter. Its the ****.Or chill to the tupac remix of phil collins - feelit in the air tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 1-Scrappy-1

i noticed that, everyone is releasing their albums at the same time!!
    i was going to buy Ja Rules new album, but then decided to just get all the mp3s, then i was going to buy DMXs and Jay Zs, but just got the mp3s, i have D12s, wouldn't buy Redmans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭Son of Blam

DMX, Jay Z and D12 are weak crappy bum commercial MTV friendly pop-hop. Espically that DMX fellow, holy jesus.

I haven't heard the new RZA album, but he's a pretty decent producer so he's on the "alright list".

Roots Manuva's album "Run Come Save Me" on Big Dada was one of the best hip-hop albums I've heard this year.

Also, Prefuse 73's new album "Vocal Studies and Uprock Narratives" on Warp Records was excellent, less vocal and more cut up intrumental.

-Son of Blam

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Wow! thats totally wiggertastic. It really is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Some are comercial, D12 are a bit there like dido they just pick up on eminems success.

DMX , Jay Z are pretty big,hot property now (thats why there on MTV) and remember pop music is short for popular music but if you listen to the old old stuff you'll see they didn't start out commercial, they each have about 4-5 albums ands alot of good duets.

Red + Meth are pretty good some ****ty ass songs though.

GZA (genius) is phat.

roots manuva album is good.

wiggertastic!! thats a good one

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Borrowing from something I read elsewhere recently (but can't remember where):

Do you ever wonder if there's a gang of black lads somewhere in South Central LA who wear Celtic jerseys, drink Stonehouse and generally pretend to be northsiders?

Perhaps it would bring balance to the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Sticky Fingaz album is good too and theres a new Ruff Ryders album coing out in a couple of weeks, along with a new Ludacris one, oh and a new GhostFace one, should all be tight

Originally posted by Robbo
    Borrowing from something I read elsewhere recently (but can't remember where):

Do you ever wonder if there's a gang of black lads somewhere in South Central LA who wear Celtic jerseys, drink Stonehouse and generally pretend to be northsiders?

Perhaps it would bring balance to the world.
    Well ****ing said!

"It is better to be hated for who you are than to be loved for someone you are not" - Some wise mother****er.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Dearie me, if you dislike the music don't comment on it. Certainly don't stereotype the listeners of it.

At least the stereotypical HipHop listeners wash and groom themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭alb

Well, perhaps i've lost touch with the black man within me and my rap roots :) but.... I think most of all the new rap stuff is pretty crap in comparison with the mid 90's stuff like anything i've heard in the last few years hasn't been a patch on....

Ice Cube - Death Certificate
    Wu Tang - Enter The 36 Chambers
    Snoop Dogg - Doggystyle
    MC Ren - Kizz my black A**
    Dre - Da Chronic (to a lesser extent)
    Gza - Liquid Swords

Still... most of the wu-tang still know how to kick it, but nothing is as raw and dirty as their debut. Perhaps Puff daddy has destroyed rap forever :) Hip-hop is where its at now, with J5 the roots, guru etc all quality.

anyone agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

I really like D12's album, particularly "aint nothing but music"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by yellum
    Dearie me, if you dislike the music don't comment on it. Certainly don't stereotype the listeners of it.

Excuse me whilst I piss myself laughing. Does anyone else spot the contradiction in that post??

*sigh*

Yes. Maybe I was being too clever. I'd say more but theres sage advice in your sig.

*sigh*

Yes. Maybe I was being too clever. I'd say more but theres sage advice in your sig.

Aren't we a charming person today ;) But who said anything about arguing ;) I just found the contradiction funny in a "hehehehe" way, not a "oh my god" way.

ANyway, its late, I'm ranting, I'm offski!!

Heh, if u ask whats wrong with me I'm going to go into a huff and say "nothings wrong with me"

Anyway, to get back on track I think Jay-Z is very pop sounding but still ain't bad at all. I'll have a listen. I didn't like much of Ja Rules new stuff.

Don't you hate it though with all these guys collabroating with so many different people ? Kinda waters down their own talent or else its propping them up.

Heh, if u ask whats wrong with me I'm going to go into a huff and say "nothings wrong with me"

What's wrong ? ;) teeheeheeeee

Don't you hate it though with all these guys collabroating with so many different people ? Kinda waters down their own talent or else its propping them up.

OK, not referring to rap or any of the bands in this forum since they're just not my taste, I have to agree with you on the collaboration thingy. It's a double-edged sword. I think so many bands are doing it now JUST as a gimmick rather than to actually write something really cool like, say, U2 & BB.King "When love comes to town".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

1) You don't have to be black to appreciate and enjoy music made by black people just as you don't have be white to enjoy music made by white people. Phil Lynnot was black, he played heavy rock, you probably like his music Pornapster.

2) Pornapster's "wiggertastic" comment and general attitude to hip-hip borders on racism.

3) If you don't like hip-hop and can't appreciate it at least respect those who do and can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Monkey
    1) You don't have to be black to appreciate and enjoy music made by black people just as you don't have be white to enjoy music made by white people. Phil Lynnot was black, he played heavy rock, you probably like his music Pornapster.

2) Pornapster's "wiggertastic" comment and general attitude to hip-hip borders on racism.

3) If you don't like hip-hop and can't appreciate it at least respect those who do and can

I do agree that Pornapster is a bit out of line, what with the commenting on the stuff that doesn't concern him, and all.
    I myself usualy don't comment at all in threads about music I don't like... (Unless it was something like that "What sort of music do you hate?" Thread... At which point I'll blow my mouth off!)
    I do usualy, read everything. Mostly out of boredom.
    And I have to say... RASCISM???
    Thats blowing things a bit out of proportion... A lot, actualy...
    I don't see anyone shouting "Rascist" at Robbo's comment, do you?

Yeah, I said it borders on racism

The general insulting of (presumed) white people who like hip-hop is like saying we should all keep to music made by people who are the same colour as us. We are all people and its all music, colour of skin shouldn't really be an issue, I don't have a problem with people who don't like hip-hop but that sort of comment isn't really on.

Yeah, I said it borders on racism

The general insulting of (presumed) white people who like hip-hop is like saying we should all keep to music made by people who are the same colour as us. We are all people and its all music, colour of skin shouldn't really be an issue, I don't have a problem with people who don't like hip-hop but that sort of comment isn't really on.

I'm not saying he was right here.
    Far from it.
    But what you're saying he's implying is just ridiculous.
    You can tell he's only having a pop at it, and nothing serious.

But, like I said...
    Robbo's comments then, from that viewpoint are equaly rascist, if not more.

I never said he was racist just to clarify I said I thought it was bordering on racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

dmx - filled with murder, God, barks, growls and WHATS is just another mediocre album from him. he sings about safe sex and his grandmother, what kind of a role model is that ?? i much liked "its dark and hell is hot" out of the lot.

jay-z - i liked this one very much. fo' shizzle

ja rule - what?? that album is poo. go and listen Venni
    Vetti Vecci

RZA - havent heard it yet :( but im already looking forward to Wu Tang new album. go find "Pinky Ring" the song for a taste.

D12 - really, no comment. that is so ****.

Redman - if i had a car i would buy this cd cause its great for driving. i heard redman's blood is green these days?? otherwise no.

go get the Roots Manuva album, listen to more southern hip hop from Bubba Sparxxx and stop flaming posts :)

adnans

I never said he was racist just to clarify I said I thought it was bordering on racism.

Oh come on...
    Saying that it borders on rascism implies a rascist agenda behind the comments.
    Which you've said yourself about what he's implying with the comments.

Just stop being so ****ing PC about it!
    He's only having a little stab at rap music, and getting worked up about it isn't going to prove a thing.

Now, don't get me wrong, I amn't agreing with Pornapster here.
    But... In future, if he starts slagging off your music, slag off his. THAT SIMPLE.

Now, he's gonna ****ing flip at this, but...
    If he starts getting bitchy:
    Flash him this pic to REALLY piss him off.

pantera2.jpg

This, BTW is pre "Cowboys From Hell" Pantera. When they were a GLAM ROCK band. Just like Poison, and Cinderella!
    That'll shut his mouth.

Now, shut your mouth also! Mmmkay?

OK...
    1) Thin Lizzy bordered on Blues (eg. Gary Moore) which was indeed a black genre plus they were from Ireland (NOT South Central LA.) . And yes I do enjoy listening to Thin Lizzy.

2) That was not even slightly racist. It's all these ****ing white homos going around acting like theyr'e black. I don't have anything against black people. I actually think theyre quite cool. But white people wearing "Fubu" gear is stupid. Do black people dress like white people? Hell no! They stick to their tradition. Which is what we should do.

3) I didn't recall saying anything about hip hop.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

2) That was not even slightly racist. It's all these ****ing white homos going around acting like theyr'e black. I don't have anything against black people. I actually think theyre quite cool. But white people wearing "Fubu" gear is stupid. Do black people dress like white people? Hell no! They stick to their tradition. Which is what we should do.

Don't be a ****ing hipocrite man! Where the **** would metal be today without Jimi Hendrix?
    If people *DID* stick to their "Traditions" you'd be the ****ing Wigger! LMAO!!! :D
    Gotta love the irony of that!

Originally posted by AngelWhore

Now, he's gonna ****ing flip at this, but...
    If he starts getting bitchy:
    Flash him this pic to REALLY piss him off.

pantera2.jpg

This, BTW is pre "Cowboys From Hell" Pantera. When they were a GLAM ROCK band. Just like Poison, and Cinderella!
    That'll shut his mouth.
    Gah! you could have at least let him find it himself!

Don't be a ****ing hipocrite man! Where the **** would metal be today without Jimi Hendrix?
    If people *DID* stick to their "Traditions" you'd be the ****ing Wigger! LMAO!!! :D
    Gotta love the irony of that!
    Ahhh! me wigger!?! noo!!

GOD DAMN youre alert today!

BTW... the only reason I came into this topic is because it said "Rockers Beware". So I had to sort out a few things.

*cleans hands*

I didn't say anything about the music itself... it's the white people going around wearing Fubu that bothers me. It just annoys me. Once again just for the record I have no problem with black people. I think they are quite cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

BTW... the only reason I came into this topic is because it said "Rockers Beware". So I had to sort out a few things.

the only reason you came into the topic was to defend your status as a rocker and by saying "Wow! thats totally wiggertastic. It really is."

i thought the topic name suggested a friendly dig at the music/radio boards cause the majority of users posting to it like rock/<insert> metal music.

even a slight change of music styles sees the stereotypical comparisons being dragged out of the book and painted on the boards. keep to the topic and be nice.
    *cleans hands*
    who says that rock/metal fans dont groom themselves? :)

adnans

Originally posted by adnans

who says that rock/metal fans dont groom themselves? :)

adnans

Not Pantera anyway! :D
    They're all nice and clean, just look at them?
    All spick and span, and full of hairspray!

They're all nice and clean, just look at them?
    All spick and span, and full of hairspray!
    <goes all psycho and ****> THAT PICTURE WAS OBVIOUSLY DOCTORED! JUST LOOK AT IT!! PHIL HAS A BEER IN HIS HAND!! CINDERELLA DOESN'T DRINK!! </calms down>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭stu_69

just for the record I have no problem with black people. I think they are quite cool.

What kind of Statement is that "I think they are cool". Why?
    Because they are black? Why do you think you have to let us know that you think black people are cool? How old are you? 12/13? When you grow up do you want to be black and cool? I'm nopt going to mention the word racism because you are probably to stupid to be aware of the concept but I think that may be one of the stoopidest comments I have ever read on these boards.

Back on topic I got Rakim's the Master in a second hand shop the other day and I reckon it is one of the coolest cds I have ever purchased

Originally posted by stu_69
    What kind of Statement is that "I think they are cool". Why?
    Because they are black? Why do you think you have to let us know that you think black people are cool? How old are you? 12/13? When you grow up do you want to be black and cool? .
    Funny = cool (e.g. The Wayans brothers (*spelling)).

And I am 17
    I'm nopt going to mention the word racism because you are probably to stupid to be aware of the concept but I think that may be one of the stoopidest comments I have ever read on these boards
    hahahaha..... the feeling is mutual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭stu_69

Funny = cool (e.g. The Wayans brothers (*spelling)).

And I am 17
    So what you are now saying is that you like black people because they are funny. Hmm interesting outlook you have there!!!

I think at this point I rest my case

Originally posted by adnans

i thought the topic name suggested a friendly dig at the music/radio boards cause the majority of users posting to it like rock/<insert> metal music.

adnans

Majority???

Just have to say this...

But, as far as I can see, there is only a handfull of metal fans here.
    And even less that actualy post regularly.

Other than myself, Pornapster would probably be the only one who frequents this forum regularly.
    Nerb666 & BlackWizard usualy pop in now and again.
    Other than that, it's only the odd time someone would pop in to say "Howdy, I like Metal."

And there's a massive flood of TWO topics on the first page dealing with "Metal"... Namely the Korn & Fear Factory threads.
    Why, yes... Those two little topics are really pushing out all the other topics, aren't they?

Anyway... It's late... I'm bored... Shup Pornapster... I felt like posting this little rant... Ignore me...

Originally posted by stu_69

So what you are now saying is that you like black people because they are funny. Hmm interesting outlook you have there!!!

I think at this point I rest my case

Yeah thats right! You rest your case... :rolleyes:

heh... what a dumbass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You see, you're all going 'I LIKE ROCK/METAL!!!!' and 'I LIKE DANCE', but music genres barely exist anymore. Limp Bizkit (bad example) were nominated for 'Best Rock'. When 'Three Dollar Bill Y'all' came out, they would have been called Hip-Hop metal. Now people call them pop rock, but they essentially haven't changed (bit softer only). Iron Maiden were Heavy Metal in their heyday but are now soft rock or 70's metal. Most bands these days are hard to classify - what are incubus? Nu-Metal(according to HMV)? Rock? Hip-Hop Metal? Easy-Listening Metal:)? The possible combinations of old genres is neverending.

Unless something is that pop ****e I reckon we should just listen to it and then decide, not ignore something because it sounds 'Rappish'. Me personally has a mental CD collection. Ranging from Iron Maiden to Korn to Oasis to Snoop Dog to GNR to.......all over the shop. The only people I know who ignore music according to genre are old-style metallers (pornapster strikes me as one) and filthy junkies who love to hate people so they can get into fights.:)

And that's my 7 cents :)

Naw Seamus, Maiden would be 80's. :)

But yeah, I totaly agree.
    There is a lot of elitism in the whole metal scene.

So, while I am a mad fan of the whole Black Metal scene. A lot of the black metal fans are ****ing arseholes, I find.
    You could have every black metal CD ever released, but if you listen to say... Sisters Of Mercy...? "What? You fag! You're a ****ing poser! You're not TRUE Black Metal!"

Which is why I prefer to go with the whole Goth crowd.
    They don't really care that much about the music... Well, actualy they do, but they're not anywhere near as elitist.
    Besides...
    I really llike stuff like Rammstein, Fields Of The Nephilim, Switchblade Symphony, and all that goth stuff.

I got Type O Negative in my sig, so... :)

EAT ME! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭drane2

Originally posted by Son of Blam

Also, Prefuse 73's new album "Vocal Studies and Uprock Narratives" on Warp Records was excellent, less vocal and more cut up intrumental.

That and Anti Pop Consortium is where hip-hop is at these days. Anyone see Anti-Pop Consortium support Radiohead in Belfast? Damn they rocked, amazing vocal skills. They have a new EP out on Warp Records in the next couple of weeks "The Ends Against The Middle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Ok, can the rock/metal/goth - i.e. non Rap fans stop hijacking this thread?

That includes me I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

to get back onto track:

for those not into the gangster **** (or dmx or any of that crap):

ugly duckling - journey to anywhere
    solesides - greatest bumps
    quannum - spectrum

are the best hiphop lps ive picked up recently...