Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Hate Celtic

• 30-10-2001 12:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21

Ok most people will probably just label me an "English Proddy" for this post but I'm neither, I live on Dublins Northside and I'm in a Catholic Family.

I've been thinking about this for a while but the series of "Dream Team" did a show of them playing Shelbourne in a UEFA cup tie and this really set me off.

I go to Shelbourne matches most weeks and theres usually a lack of atmosphere unless theres a Dublin Derby on or some other big game, this is common at all League of Ireland games.

Then yesterday I was watching Dream Team, and Tolka Park,(Shelbournes Stadium) is full, not with Shelbourne fans but with Scangers in Celtic Jerseys who cheer when Harchester score\win, what bothers me about this is that people turn up for a team that doesn't exist, wearing Scottish Jerseys but probably had never heard of Tolka Park in their lives beforehand.

So why do you people support Celtic? I saw an Irish flag with a Celtic crest on it, which i thought ridiculous, a Celtic flag belongs more on a Union Jack flag as they are in fact in a British League. If you were to attend a few League of Ireland game you would realise how much better a game is when you can watch it, feel the atmosphere and sing with the crowd.

Another thing i find common is that people bearing Celtic jerseys are the most likely to attack you on the streets, so is supporting Celtic just a thing Scangers do or do people do it in thinking it will show how Irish they are which as I have pointed out earlier is not in fact true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

I think your just full of it.

You have a point about people not turning up for league of Ireland games. But many people dont go, because the play is dire (in the majority of matches), the facilities are dire, and the whole thing is poorly marketed.
    Even if things have changed since I stopped attanding Shels matches, the public perception has not, and the League will have to tackle that before any inroads can be made.
    Perhaps if we stopped our players from playing abroad till they were 21, aka norway, we would be watching Robbie Keanes, and Damian Duffs, John O'shea's lift the standard of the Irish league each week. (Just 1 idea).

But you're drivel of attacking people for wearing celtic jerseys, (while ignoring all the united jerseys) is crap.
    Funny you would be critising the very supporters who fill the Shels and others coffers in the lucrative sold out pre season friendlys against these same Celtic and United(s) and other 'British' teams.

First of all, Celtic are a brand. They have a Product, an Image and a pedigree.(European Cup Champions).
    Their product is a polished brand of soccer (recently very successful), their Image, that of a celtic team

Main Entry: 1Celt·ic
    Pronunciation: 'kel-tik, 'sel-
    Function: adjective
    Date: 1590
    : of, relating to, or characteristic of the Celts or their languages

Is it hard to understand why Irish people might find this attractive?

I hope the LOI takes a look at the success,a nd learns a lesson.

What makes you think that soemone is a 'skanger''cause the were the jersey? I'm sure thete are skangers who wear the celtic jersey, as there are in all walks of life, but your foolish attempt to tar them all , seems based on the fact that
    1. they dont attend LOI matches, which is understandable
    2. You feel they might attack you, but then if you called me a skanger, i would be most tempted to smash your head in too.

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Originally posted by Xterminator
    I think your just full of it. {yes he/she is}

First of all, Celtic are a brand. They have a Product, an Image and a pedigree.(European Cup Champions).
    Their product is a polished brand of soccer (recently very successful), their Image, that of a celtic team { this would also seem to be true}

if you called me a skanger, i would be most tempted to smash your head in too. { ye bleedin skanger.......hahaha :p }

I see his name suits his argument very much as this is what he needs for even attempting to put down celtic

Chair + Face = him....GRRRRRRRRRRR :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

He does have a point though.

Some Irish people only follow Celtic(Catholic) so they have a legit reason to hate Rangers(Protestant).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Death Sentence

I see his name suits his argument very much as this is what he needs for even attempting to put down celtic

Chair + Face = him....GRRRRRRRRRRR :mad:

thats such a cute little argument in a debate....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Legion

I wonder did Shelbourne FC (or the board) get a handsome few quid for allowing it to be recorded in Tolka Park? Or was it some Charity thing that was taking place on the night as well.

I remember my boss said something about it,and he's a big Shelbourne fan,and AFAIK he was there that night.So would not more of Shelbourne fans have attended even if it was to support
    a fictitious Shelbourne?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Lets get real for a moment eh?

The vast majority of Irishmen who support Celtic do so for
    sectarian reasons...even if they perhapes don't always
    realise that.

The same logic applies to those in Norn Iron
    who follow Rangers. Its certainly got nothing to do with good football, but now I've said that they'll proberly beat Juve!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Ok most people will probably just label me an "English Proddy" for this post but I'm neither, I live on Dublins Northside and I'm in a Catholic Family.

You're right, i wud label u an English Proddy, but i won't. I support as do most of my cousins and my brother. We are Irish and don't watch the Irish Lrague cause it's dire. Longford and Waterford, ooohhh how exciting, about as exciting as a wet Sunday.
    We support Celtic cause they're a great side. Their players are class, i.e. Larsson, Moravcik, Petta. The Scottish League is not the top league in the world i'll be the first to admit dat, but then they shud b allowed to play in the Premiership.
    If those people who wear foreign teams jerseys only supported Irish teams, of course there wud b more interest in the soccer, although maybe not. They might become more interested in the G.A.A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Chairface

Re: Xterminator

Ok I agree about what you were saying about criticising Celtic Jerseys whilst ignoring people wearing United ones, but I'm not a LOI fanatic I was just using that to make a point about people supporting Celtic because they're "Irish", even though every team in the LOI is truely Irish.

Most people who wear Celtic jerseys ARE Scangers, I don't mean to sound like a complete snob saying this but Celtic Jerseys are a lot more common on Henry street than Grafton street as are Track Suits, Hoop Earings and Baseball Caps pointed towards the sky at 45 Degrees.

Also I dont call these people " Scanger" to their faces, I have more sense, it's just they decide to take it upon themselves to show off how big and clever they are by demanding smokes off me, claiming I beat up their little brothers etc and using this as an excuse to start fights with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 -VL-Eight-Ball

I have no problem with Celtic, or its honest supporters.
    I do however have a problem with its sham supporters, people who have only recently hoped on the bandwagon because of their recent success, or for image related reasons.
    Alot of the people buying Celtic jerseys and other celtic products know very little about the club apart from They are doing well and
    they are traditionally Catholic.

Celtic may be a good side, but so many of its supporters are goddamn morons and we all know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by Chairface
    Baseball Caps pointed towards the sky at 45 Degrees.

It's more of a 90° angle these days.

Originally posted by Mossin

You're right, i wud label u an English Proddy, but i won't. I support as do most of my cousins and my brother. We are Irish and don't watch the Irish Lrague cause it's dire. Longford and Waterford, ooohhh how exciting, about as exciting as a wet Sunday.
    We support Celtic cause they're a great side. Their players are class, i.e. Larsson, Moravcik, Petta. The Scottish League is not the top league in the world i'll be the first to admit dat, but then they shud b allowed to play in the Premiership.
    If those people who wear foreign teams jerseys only supported Irish teams, of course there wud b more interest in the soccer, although maybe not. They might become more interested in the G.A.A.

surely no real celtic supporter would want them in an english league.
    after all, its a well known fact that the english are all scum, proddys, eat their children and hate irish people.

i dont think wearing a different shirt will entice them to watch more GAA either.

i like wet sundays.

...Most people who wear Celtic jerseys ARE Scangers,

I take it this is based on your scientific survey, conducted impartially .. etc... .

Balls. You may have met some scangers, and they might have been wearing celtic jerseys, even you should be able to figure out, that as they are hugely popular at the moment, even for non-footie people, this means nothing, except that lots of people are wearing them.

I don't mean to sound like a complete snob saying this but Celtic Jerseys are a lot more common on Henry street than Grafton street as are Track Suits, Hoop Earings and Baseball Caps pointed towards the sky at 45 Degrees.[/QUOTE]

Well if you dont think its sounds snobbish, perhaps you and I dont understand snobbish to have the same meaning?

You seem to think that what people wear=what people are?
    Does that mean that if you put on a Celtic Jersey, you would transmute froma snob to a skanger? Bloody miraculous !

Your comments infer that if you shop on Henry St. you are more likely to be a skanger.
    It's not the clothes that maketh the man, nor is it his bank balance, nor even you postal address.

Also I dont call these people " Scanger" to their faces, I have more sense, it's just they decide to take it upon themselves to show off how big and clever they are by demanding smokes off me, claiming I beat up their little brothers etc and using this as an excuse to start fights with me. [/QUOTE]

I'll do you a favour here.!!
    If a scumbag walks up 2 you in the street, you look them in the eyes and you stand up to them.
    Show fear, and yes they will decide you stated on their brother etc. , but like any bully they feed on fear.

This often makes them back down, especially if they dont outnumber you, and your mates.

Sometimes it gets physical. Be prepared to defend yourself. Decide now, that if someone intimidates you, you will not back down. Then when it happens act decisively.

They dont expect a fight, they only pick on people they reckon will back down. If there is more that 1 bully, always go for the 1 with the biggest mouth. Dont rule out a first strike, and if they are bigger, try to disable then run. (eg groin strike or eye).

Even if you dont come out on top, as long as you fight back, you have achieved your primary objective. The bully must realise, if he starts a fight,he will get 1.

If you dont feel you can defend yourself satifactorly, go to the martial arts board, and find a club near you. They not only teach you to defend youself, but how to behave so that you often wont have 2.

A last point, intimidation takes many forms. Snobbery is one of its guises. I dont care what you wear, your no better (or worse) than the average celtic jersey wearer.

X

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 reb

A few points from a National League (not called LOI anymore) supporter & someone who follows football throughout europe....

- Definitely a decent percentage of the Glasgow Celtic support is bigotted anti-prody in nature. Just cos Glasgow Rangers "supporters" do it too doesn't make it right.

- Supporting Glasgow Celtic is just like Liverpool or Merchandiser Utd. Celtics irish links are tedious at best.

- I won't accept criticism of the National League from anyone who has never attended a game. Facilities & the standard of play has improved a lot lately & an average irish team is definitely on a par with the english 2nd division at least. IMO a lot of SPL teams would have serious problems in the english 1st division.

- The National League facilities obviously can't compare with Old Trafford or Celtic Park but do they have to? The Spanish League is the best in Europe but do british peolpe prefer to watch that over their own?

- I don't mind if people support a foreign team or don't want to go to a local game but what I hate is people who look down on their own league when they see it on tv playing in european competition & hope they lose!!! Why would anyone want to do that.

Finally to any bar stool sports fans out there. You can't beat live sport & sure some games are dire but this happens on tv too! Shelbourne are a bad example as Tolka park has one of the worst atmospheres in the league.

Your comments infer that if you shop on Henry St. you are more likely to be a skanger.

Really I wasn't trying to say this, I was just trying to make a point about what sort of people support Celtic.

I think you know as well as I do that the majority of Celtic "supporters" are just doing it for image reasons, I think your getting off the point of this argument.

What I'm really just annoyed about is these football "fans" going down to match for a team that doesn't exist tarnishing the name of our nation wearing the Celtic jersey and as "Pie" pointed out it's just a reason for Catholics to show their feelings against Protestants.

If you talk to any English people you will realise that they don't have any problem with the Irish and that we're begrudging them for something they didn't do, they're not proud of what their ancestors did to our country and cockneys don't stroll about London wearing Rangers jerseys, they support their local club be it Chelsea, Aresenal or Reading which I think is something we can learn from them.

I think you know as well as I do that the majority of Celtic "supporters" are just doing it for image reasons

ahahahahahaha.
    remind me never to get fashion advice from a celtic supporter then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭DrunkLeprachaun

Xterminator, you should read what he wrote more carefullly.
    Firstly, I don't think "non-footie" people should wear any jerseys. Secondly, If a person supports celtic i.e. tries to see as many matches as possible, and go to the odd one aswell, I see no reason why they shouldn't wear a jersey. But if they wear it for political(hah) reasons, or to look cool in front of their scumbag freinds they are a loser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by mike65
    Lets get real for a moment eh?
    Its certainly got nothing to do with good football, but now I've said that they'll proberly beat Juve!

Mike.

Celtic 4, Juventus 3

Typical!

Mike

Originally posted by DrunkLeprachaun
    Xterminator, you should read what he wrote more carefullly.
    Firstly, I don't think "non-footie" people should wear any jerseys. Secondly, If a person supports celtic i.e. tries to see as many matches as possible, and go to the odd one aswell, I see no reason why they shouldn't wear a jersey. But if they wear it for political(hah) reasons, or to look cool in front of their scumbag freinds they are a loser.

Have you selective short-term memory Leprachaun?
    Here is what annoyed me.
    Perhaps if you took the time to read his comments and mine.
    I hate Celtic

Thats balanced isn't it.
    what bothers me about this is that people turn up for a team that doesn't exist, wearing Scottish Jerseys but probably had never heard of Tolka Park in their lives beforehand.
    So why do you people support Celtic? I saw an Irish flag with a Celtic crest on it, which i thought ridiculous, a Celtic flag belongs more on a Union Jack flag as they are in fact in a British League.

Why do you people support Celtic.
    Not why do non footie supporters wear jerseys. Here he knocks the support of a non LOI team, 'cause there inna 'nother country.
    Another thing i find common is that people bearing Celtic jerseys are the most likely to attack you on the streets, so is supporting Celtic just a thing Scangers do or do people do it in thinking it will show how Irish they are which as I have pointed out earlier is not in fact true.

Now if you wear a Celtic jersey you are a thug and a scanger, and are not a true patriot, like LOI supporters. Full of SHlTE eh?

X

Xterminator I dont think you get what i'm saying, the point I'm trying to make is that people think they're showing how Irish they are by wearing a Celtic jersey and this is ridiculous as Celtic are a British team

hes got a point.....

anyway, celtic are a mediocre team in a crap league.
    and theyre scottish.
    and all their supporters are scangers as well.

i think everyone should support barnet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

There already is a Celtic in the British leagues anyway...Stalybridge Celtic of the Vauxhall Conference !! if they win promotion to the football league this year, will that make you all happy ? Go on the boys !!

Originally posted by plastic membrane
    Go on the boys !!

shouldnt that be bhoys?

celtic supporters are not weel known for their intelligence after all....

Oi ! Thats it, your going on The List...:)

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan

shouldnt that be bhoys?

celtic supporters are not weel known for their intelligence after all....

oh the irony of making apseeling mistake in a post about spelling mistakes.....

D'OH!

i sea wat you meen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by WhitewashMan

its a well known fact that the english are all scum, proddys, eat their children and hate irish people.

and theyre scottish

What the Fúck is this???

Religious Biggotry???

I seem to 'member YOU lamblasting me for something less...

Blatant trollery

Not all English are orange.
    some are English Catholics
    Not all English h8 the Irish

Are you looking to get kicked to death???

What the Fúck is this???

Religious Biggotry???

Blatant trollery

Hehe calm down mate I think he was being sarcastic and demonstrating the mindset of the average Irish Celtic supporter

Originally posted by Kaimera

What the Fúck is this???

Religious Biggotry???

Blatant trollery

oh dear.
    you arent very bright are you?
    not up on the wit known as sarcasm i take it?
    you should try and read a sentence and see the context. try to read the quote if there is one, or the post before to see a reference, or should i make pointers just so that you can see how it is all linked together?
    shall i also start to use small words?
    maybe if i have to use a word thats over two syl-a-bles, i will type it fo-net-ic-ly?
    plank.

yep, thats about what id expect from a celtic supporter....

as for looking to be kicked to death, well mate, im sure you wouldnt kick your way out of a wet paper bag.
    go and play with the traffic girl scout...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

First of all I want to say how sorry i am for the $hell$ suporter who has the misfortune of following a club of sell outs from their deal with merchendice united to the dream team joke.

My main point is boca juinors are as "Irish" as celtic they were both started by irish priests but how many irishmen support boca
    secondly linfeild are more irish than celtic look at an atles i think someone who follows linfeild is more of a fan to irish football than any celtic or merchendice united fan

First of all I want to say how sorry i am for the $hell$ suporter who has the misfortune of following a club of sell outs from their deal with merchendice united to the dream team joke.

All they did was make a deal, screwed Man U out of a bita cash, which a lot of went towards the youth system,in return for virtually nothing, doesn't make them sellouts.

P.S i agree with resta stuff u said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    not up on the wit known as sarcasm i take it?

Well if thats sarcasm it's bollix.

You think you can justify your comments by using sarcam???
    Idiot.

two syl-a-bles

twit....couldn't even spell that right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

gandalflock.jpg

As this is decending into a slagging match I am locking this thread !

Gandalf.