Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a theory...

Options
  • 08-10-2001 8:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,571 ✭✭✭✭

Firstly, I'm not a scientist - and have little knowledge in this.

In the 4 demension thread, someone mentioned about alternate realites - where every decision created a new reality got me thinking...

Can we actually make choices?

Lets presume there are two of me (I know, a wonderful thought), faced with the same choice in the same circumstances. Shouldn't we both react the same? ie. If I was faced with a choice - could I actually choose? Or would it be predestined (by my personality etc) that I choose one answer?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

We'll, if it was the exact same circumstances, and you were faced with the exact same choice...you would react the exact same.

But the whole point of alternate realitys is not necessarily the choices you make...but the changes the enviroment takes. And those changes,no matter how small, will effect you choice in some way or another. e.g. You could be just about to make a very important choice, when all of a sudden you inhale a piece of dust that wasn't present in another reality, which causes you to sneeze, which momentarily sets your mind of its original track and you end up making a totally different choice.

And also, not forgetting the actual changes that could take place at birth. Any slight chemical change in the brain might effect the way you think later in life.