Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why is there NO gay pages?

• 08-10-2001 7:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭

hi

im new to the boards, and i just noticed that there are no "GAY/HOMOSEXUAL" boards?

litte narrowminded dont ye's think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

It's not narrow-minded. It's down to lack of interest shown. In over a year and a half using this site, yours is the first suggestion of its kind I've seen.

If there was sufficient demand for such a board, it would probably already have been created. The fact seems to be that there isn't such demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭havok*

You will also notice there is no boards that deal with strictly "Adult" issues. Boards.ie is read by all ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

If you feel that you have things to discuss of gay interest, why not post them in humanities? (as long as they are not adult in theme), i'm sure that the mods here are mature enough to make sure that they are not spammed by idiots.

Muppetry is simply not tolerated, and so it should be.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

If you want a Gay forum then just ask.If the request get a large enough response then its yours and the perk of being the guy who asks, is that you will be the MOD of that board (assuming that).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Originally posted by lazer
    litte narrowminded dont ye's think
    I am so glad the PC brigade has shown up to give their stamp of approval to our little community :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

1.Doesnt seem to be any demand
    2. ya just know some muppet is gonna flame it constantly posting "j00 F4gz" :(

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I wouldnt have a problem with this, except I dont see much reason for it tbh. I dont see a hetrosexual board here... *shrug*

We do run a board for everyone so anything adult is for somewhere else, what is left is lifestyle and culture but I listen to the same music gay people do, eat the same food, use the same tech... why should we ghetto-ise being gay? We've had gay threads before on topics here before.

DeVore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

if it goes up it goes up if it dosent it dosent . thats all i can think of saying on this matter becides im sure that some ppl in this site are surely gay kings of the land .... na thats a lame joke anyways maby you should have a poll just asking if you are gay or not if there is a large ammount of ppl on the site that are maby they would like one . dono wont infulence me anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

Hrm,

I think it would probably be a good idea. It would not be just a forum for gay people, but a forum to discuss all aspects of gay/lesbian life. The board that most closely parallels that at present is indeed the humanities board, but perhaps the advent of a gay board might encourage some of the more fearful members of the community to be more open with their sexuality.

That said, however, I don't see a huge demand for it on boards.ie If the reason for putting it up is solely to appear to be PC, then I would say don't bother. The absence of such a board to date doesn't reflect, IMO, narrow mindedness or homophobia.

Nevertheless:
    I heartily endorse this product and/or service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭beaver

Lazer,

I honestly can't see how anyone could consider that narrow-minded. Do you see a heterosexual board?

Do you request homosexual fora in every discussion place, solely to make it PC? AFAIK adult themes are not allowed on the boards, so I don't see why anything regarding homosexuality couldn't find a place on one of the existing boards - most likely Humanities or perhaps After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 unsane

Question:

im new to the boards, and i just noticed that there are no "GAY/HOMOSEXUAL" boards?

Answer:
    Cos all the other boards are inhabited by gays anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by unsane
    Question:

Answer:

Oh your incisive wit has upset me so much. You are very mature.

Twat

Originally posted by Dr. Loon

Oh your incisive with has upset me so much. You are very mature.

Twat

Man if you cant spell **** proper first time, dont go tryin to cover your tracks.

YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Post on the Quake board (if you like CS) otherwise post on the CS board.

You want a board request one in the admin forum. TBH I think your the first person to ask for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

paisley.jpg

DeVore: I wouldnt have a problem with this, except I dont see much reason for it tbh. I dont see a hetrosexual board here... *shrug*

Never a truer word spoken ,im not homophobic or anything but "gay" people are always standing up for "gay" rights wanting to be treated the same as everybody else yet they want to segrigate themselves with everybody else by having Gay marches ,gay football teams, gay pubs,gay boards ect.... Bit hypocritical dont you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Man if you cant spell **** proper first time, dont go tryin to cover your tracks.

YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN.

There's little or nothing wrong with making typos/spelling errors and correcting them... - there is, however, something wrong with belittling other people over THEIR typos or spelling errors.

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN.

Ha Ha... :) You're obviously another one of those funny people who are better than everyone else. I'm not even gonna start arguing with ye, so there's no need to reply to me again, I'm not even gonna stoop down to a mind numbingly stupid level to argue with a mind numbingly stupid person. I've got no problems admitting I (while typing quite fast) made a typing mistake. So... to conclude.... fúck off.

You're hilarious. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

unsane has but 5 posts
    if he gets to 50 without being kicked, ill eat my cat......i mean hat [typo ;]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by DeVore
    but I listen to the same music gay people do, eat the same food

You eat babies and listen to YMCA non-stop?! ;)

Actually I could such a forum becoming invite only rather quick.

Originally posted by Gone Shootin
    unsane has but 5 posts
    if he gets to 50 without being kicked, ill eat my cat......i mean hat [typo ;]

man if i make it to 10 I'LL eat your hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Originally posted by Dre as in Dray
    Never a truer word spoken ,im not homophobic or anything but "gay" people are always standing up for "gay" rights wanting to be treated the same as everybody else yet they want to segrigate themselves with everybody else by having Gay marches ,gay football teams, gay pubs,gay boards ect.... Bit hypocritical dont you think.

To go slightly off-topic, one of the things that really pisses me off is reverse discrimination: along the lines of "women-only" bookshops etc (I've never in my life seen a "men-only" bookshop and don't even think about bringing prawn-shops into it, you know what I mean).

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

How about a community board? That way it's restricted access and won't become a target for muppets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I'd have to agree with most people on this one.

Unless there is a large enough volume of interest to warrant putting an extra board it wouldn't be provided.

Anyway, if you want to discuss gay/homosexual issues just start a topic on one of the other boards (choosing an appropriate one of course) and that should suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭lazer

well, i c that i caused quiet some excitment on the boards? im impressed, i wouldnt get that mutch attention in the george on a good nite...

well i c that some of you have evolved but as always there are alot of so called "boyz" who i think are repressed homosexuals, but guys, as i said in my other thread on suggestions, i am here to stay, i dont bite, well only if asked... , i play soccer, drink beer, wear normal cloths.....

and i would like to mod a gay board, as a nice person suggested, but im not online alot, but hey..(sorry, i cant rem anyones name yet, im still newbie ;-) )

and guys, yeah go on march,whats stopping a straight day? its fun to be yourself and not to be ashamed of who u are?

c everyone around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I'm of two minds here:

(a) boards.ie should accept any identifiable group that requests a board, provided the boards isn't brought into disrepute (i.e. no muppetry).

(b) having a separate gay board may just end up creating a ghetto attitude and / or be the target of muppetry. Alternatively, it creates a citadel attitude. Either could be potentially decisive, which I don't think anyone wants.

Before making anyone Mod, what if there is already someone on boards.ie that might be interested in being Mod (come on there has to be someone)

As as regards having a 'straight parades', by 'real' men (lol). In most towns up and down the country it happens at closing time every night. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

OK, desparately trying not to spam / troll here, but there is NO FARMING BOARD or BEASTIALITY BOARD or BOTH ... TOGETHER ;)

OK, I have to go now and relax. Deeep breaths .. in ... out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah I would think that sexuality issues belong on the Humanities board, considering that chemistry, physics, maths, etc belong on the science board. Besides, that's the board that Trojan and Hobbes frequent the most, so any muppet flamers would be feckin stupid to even consider fookin about with the topics there ;)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

and guys, yeah go on march,whats stopping a straight day?

We're comfortable with our sexuality.

(YES! I've alllllways wanted to say that to a gay person I've had it said to me by gay people so often :D )

DeVore.

ps: I think Unsane was saying that with 5,000 people on boards.ie the likelyhood is that 3-500 of them are gay. at least thats the way I read it. otherwise he's just a troll...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

To be honest now, lazer is doing a good job of attention seeking.

why is their no black only boards?...bit racist isn't it?. I also have some jewish friends...where's the jewish board?...I also know a man that collects stamps...where is the stamp collecting board?.I like pizza, where's he pizza board?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

It does seem like a somewhat pointless proposition. I can't think of anything that could be discussed on a "gay" board that can't be discussed on the currently existing forums.
    We're comfortable with our sexuality.

Lies. I've seen the way you look at Regi...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Have to agree with Dev. on this.

Personally I think many minority groups can be a bit selfish in the whole "I want to be accepted and treated just like everyone else BUT I also want everyone to agree that I am in a minority and so deserve special treatment/mention".

I donºt think you can have it both ways (no pun on sexuality there), a person is either different, and so treated different, or equal, and so treated just like everyone else. IMHO, the second way is the best.

I have *nothing* against african american, black, jewish, homosexual, bisexual. I treat them all as I would treat anyone I meet, if they´re gits, they´re gits, and that´s not a reflection on their lifestyle, just their personality.

Best way to handle this particular topic is, no porblem using the same board, Humanities should cover any issues that might pop up under itºs subject umbrella. Same for books, films, after hours, sci-fi etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Originally posted by Victor
    I'm of two minds here:

(a) boards.ie should accept any identifiable group that requests a board, provided the boards isn't brought into disrepute (i.e. no muppetry).

But thats the thing boards.ie has no boards for any particular groups (except smarty linux men). Its just a set of boards with headings that let you discuss certain topics related to that heading. I mean if you were to create a board specifically to discuss gay matters, you should put it under sexuality and not homosexuality, that way everyone is included, and the same with yer man asking for a pizza board its under food/drink, and if you want your jewish friend to have a board, may I suggest religion as a heading.

The thing is the more general we make the heading, the better chance there is to include everybody, and obviously on the flip side the more specific a board title is the more likely it will exclude people, and thats not desired on the boards not what they were set up to do at all.

I was about to say "thats not to say i have a problem with a gay board... blah blah blah" but the fact is I do, its exclusive, you should have a sexuality board if anything, and thats not exclusive.

whoo thats more than I set out to write.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Question:

Answer:

Don't know about anyone else but I found this quite funny indeed

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

Originally posted by swiss
    but perhaps the advent of a gay board might encourage some of the more fearful members of the community to be more open with their sexuality.
    It's still a public board.. hence, muppetry. There will probably only be two types of people their: gay people and bigots looking to flame.

As DeVore says, we shouldn't ghettoise gays. We also don't have black, hispanic or asian boards. Why? Guess what... we're all people. If anyone wants to differentiate themselves from the normally accepted norm (and not my definition of normality, which includes everyone on the planet besides me -- ownage!!!) at least do it with something that matters.

Humanities has been suggested. It's the best idea. If you want to discuss gay topics, do so there, in the light of day. 'Hiding' such topics away only benefits those who wish to claim that there's something to be ashamed of. If you think there is, that's your problem.

Why isn't there a hetrosexual board? There's nothing we'd talk about that isn't covered by the other boards. Same reasoning applies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Like everyone said, there's no demand for it!

Also I don't really see the point either. What can you have to discuss there (of a non-adult nature, it is an all-ages-board) that you can't post on the humanities board, like someone else suggested. An empty board is no good.

Or do you *want* to isolate yourself from everyone else? I want to be different, yet the same?' I assume you want to be accepted and treated like everyone else, as you should be, but I don't see why you'd need a completely seperate board from everyone else to do that, kinda defeats the purpose....

And turning this into a "You're just a closet gay! You want a gay board too! You're gay haha!" thread is just plain muppetry. Stop calling people repressed homosexuals just cos they don't agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

and guys, yeah go on march,whats stopping a straight day? its fun to be yourself and not to be ashamed of who u are?
    Unless "being yourself" equates to "march down a road like an eejit", then by not marching we are being ourselves. Most of us, anyway. If you want to march down the road like an eejit, be prepared to be mocked.

Gay pride marches equate all gays with eejits. I honestly think if all pride marches where to stop, gays would get treated better.

I mean, what have you to be proud of? Your sexuality? Jeez. That's pathetic. I'm not proud to be straight, I just am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Actually on that subject, I think pride marches are totally counter-productive. The last time I saw one in Dublin City, everyone who was waching it, stood at the side laughing at this freakshow, which is obviously not having the 'I deserve to be treated normal' effect that is intended. They dress up in Mardi Gras style outfits, which obviously (nearly) none of them would ever wear, which completely alienates their target audience, IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Im putting an end to this topic once and for all.

Question was answered, theres no demand for it.