Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Posh pitamacs? I thought kebabs were hooligan fodder

• 04-11-2005 9:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭

What are these marketing guys in mc donalds smoking? Trying to make out that kebabs are posh... Whenever I hear the word kebab I think of english football hooligans jammed in a small takeaway hurling abuse at some poor ethnic owner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

rubadub wrote:
    Whenever I hear the word kebab I think of english football hooligans jammed in a small takeaway hurling abuse at some poor ethnic owner.

which is the most obvious f*cking reason why McDonalds didnt change the posh idea to "omfg your a pikey...get yer greasy kebab".

sort of a no brainer really. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Thats the point, they are trying so blatantly hard to deny it. It'd be like guinness having ads with women in ballroom gowns sipping guinness from champagne glasses.

I think if they were up front about it they could have had a genuinely humourous ad. Or maybe the whole posh thing is meant to be tounge in cheek saying it really is scumbag food, I dont think so though.

i think they are attaching this whole (humerous??) posh idea because thats not what people expect from McDonalds...

It has nothing to do with the food i would have thought...its people image of McDonalds they were messing with...not the crap they serve. So basically Mcdonalds isnt only burgers and sh!te...its now got terribly posh pitamacs...

One good thing to come from it though...at least its not those "im lovin it" multidenominational happy ads which depicted all races and genders getting along because McDonalds brought them together type thing.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Has anyone actually tried one yet??? I might go and have one for lunch.. HHmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

xzanti wrote:
    Has anyone actually tried one yet???
    Yes, I had the chicken one and it is like synthesised dog food wrapped in a wet newspaper. Avoid.

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Sputnik

I love a good kebab. Emphasis on the GOOD part. I will not be trying the pitamac.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Yes, I had the chicken one and it is like synthesised dog food wrapped in a wet newspaper. Avoid.

'cptr

Sounds like the rest of their menu.... Yet Im still strangely drawn to those yellow arches... HHmmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Yes, I had the chicken one and it is like synthesised dog food wrapped in a wet newspaper.

Oh that sounds delicious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Sputnik wrote:
    I love a good kebab. Emphasis on the GOOD part. I will not be trying the pitamac.

Same here. Good kebabs can be hard to find though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Hate the fcukers. I work in the place (more for the craic and the tiny bit of extra cash than anything, I get one and a half times better pay in my second job for work that is way less difficult, but the laugh you have working in mackers is unreal, mad bunch of fcukers workin there)

Anyway, sometimes Im expected to make these things despite never having been shown how to. Any cry of "im not trained on it" is met with "read the poster above the preparation table", a rather hard task for me seeing as I cant read small print thats more than a few feet away (I have glasses, but they are purely for emergency use, me and glasses just dont go together, Id say I dont wear them more than 6 times a year)

Flatbreads were so much easier to make........

The grilled chicken though, fcuk me it is delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭thebookofbob

Tried on one the weekend.. dog ****e!!! -

really a kebab should pass a few tests

1) The Chilli Sauce should still be hot as F*ck after 10 pints
    2) The Meat should go white with Saturated fat if left to go cold
    3) The pitta bread should turn to hot soggy garlic mush instantly
    4) Your should hear crys coming from the jacks next day

Ah f*ck now I'm hungry as well as thirsty...!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

I had a chicken one the other day!!.. I was like a big child heading off down to mac Donalds to get me toy with me happy meal!!.. Anyway ... I am usually the type that would eat anything!!!... Serious...I could be eating something that is gone off for 10 years and i wouldnt know!!.. But this thing was brutal!!!!... I was fierce dissapointed!!.. Dont buy one!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭celticwarriorjb

I thought the adverts on tele for them were funny actually, am I the only one who thought that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Mock ye not the noble kebab. For did not Our Lord Jesus Christ find nourishment in meat chunks stuffed in pita bread with spicy sauces after the miracle of Turning Water Into Wine And Then Drinking Most Of It? Did not Moses vex Pharaoh in Egypt with afflictions of the bowel sent by GOD in the form of meaty goodness sold by shady foreign shopkeepers? Did not the Lamb of God lay down His life for men, by being cut into strips and cooked over a slow heat until pub closing time?

I say unto you, SACRED IS THE KEBAB.

Also, :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Sarky wrote:
    Mock ye not the noble kebab. For did not Our Lord Jesus Christ find nourishment in meat chunks stuffed in pita bread with spicy sauces after the miracle of Turning Water Into Wine And Then Drinking Most Of It? Did not Moses vex Pharaoh in Egypt with afflictions of the bowel sent by GOD in the form of meaty goodness sold by shady foreign shopkeepers? Did not the Lamb of God lay down His life for men, by being cut into strips and cooked over a slow heat until pub closing time?

best post read this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

rubadub wrote:
    What are these marketing guys in mc donalds smoking? Trying to make out that kebabs are posh... Whenever I hear the word kebab I think of english football hooligans jammed in a small takeaway hurling abuse at some poor ethnic owner.

Food stereotypes?! I've seen it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

i really want a kebab now............

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Never eat kebabs - those big lumps of meat in dodgy chippers that they literally scrape turned me off them for life.
    But what amazes me about all these McDonalds "healthy"/"alternative" options is that they actually think theyll attract anti-Donalds folk in. Im just speaking for myself here, but if i want a nice wrap, salad or whatever, im going down to the local deli rather than the local MaccyDs. People do go there for burgers after all. Salad / kebabs and McDonalds just dont mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

nesf wrote:
    Same here. Good kebabs can be hard to find though.

Have you tried the Ege Kebab down by the college gates. Yummy yum yum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

dudara wrote:
    Have you tried the Ege Kebab down by the college gates. Yummy yum yum.

Since I live just down the road, yes, yes I have. :D

Fantastic place. Great for when I'm too lazy to cook anything and better food than the main tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Saw that ad - it's so badly executed it's hard to make out what the message is supposed to be.

Weird to see somebody actually wearing a fabled Abercrombie top!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

McDonald's are probably being spiteful and facetious: they're saying "Yeah fine, if you don't want greasy 'cheez-buhrguhrs and fo0kin' chipz', then have some 'pitta bread with smoked salmon and dijonnaise roysh', you pretentious fcuks"

Also, my theory works because by re-branding "kebabs" (which are purely toe-rag grub) as "pittamacs", they're taking the piss out of the generation Y health obsession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

rubadub wrote:
    Thats the point, they are trying so blatantly hard to deny it. It'd be like guinness having ads with women in ballroom gowns sipping guinness from champagne glasses.

I remember seeing a t-shirt about 14 years ago with GUINESS - it turns your s'hit black and puts hairs on your bollocks.

Dunno whether it was genuine or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I would happily murder you all for a Zaytoon chicken shish right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

WHoever had a go at MacDonalds advertising techniques(I couldn't have spelled that worse) aren't living in the real world. MacDonalds have improved thier sales with every add campaign theve brought out in the last 20 years. This is despite thier food tastes like nothing and has no nutritional value, if ever any1 deserved the title geniuses its the MacDonalds addvertising crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

The Kebab is King

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Who'd have thunk it? Now the local corpulent blimp can park his glutemus maximus in McDonald's fine dining emporium and endulge in one of Turkey's most exquisite oriental delights.

http://www.ananova.com/images/web/416945.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Mossy Monk wrote:
    best post read this week

Most sycophantic post read this week. :v:

Anyone who likes a nice kebab could do worse than to check out Athena on Dame street. They do a mean lamb shish.. open 24 hours too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Sarky wrote:

i second the motion for best post of the week.

Salad / kebabs and McDonalds just dont mix.

I would say McDonalds profits for the last 2 years as a result of the above would disagree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

lafortezza wrote:
    I would happily murder you all for a Zaytoon chicken shish right now.

he speaks the truth! though i prefare the truth in lamb donor format

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Giblet wrote:
    Food stereotypes?! I've seen it all!
    dats right. kebabs for hooligans, caviar for the top-hat and monocle brigade.

Now if it was the McCaviar they may get away with it.

not just food stereotypes, what about lager-louts, ye never hear of chardonnay-chavs
    or the ultimate stereotype drink, cider, which bulmers tried to drag out of the fields by spending a fortune on adverts (yet still too scabby to pay for the original artists songs)
    bumlers aka
    pikey sauce
    tinker juice
    fighting piss
    knacker wine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Pitseleh

I haven't been to McDonald's or Burger King for a few years now and despite the range of Salads, Baguettes and Bagels available the fact that it's the McSalad, McBaguette and McBagel kinda put me off it - I guess I'm prejudiced. Anyhoo I think if the McCafe shut up in Grafton Street's McDonalds shut, moved a few shops up and changed it's name it'd enjoy greater success. "Let's go to McDonald's for a Grande (Mc)Mocha and a McCroissant" doesn't seem right.

Oh and kebabs are vile. It's the bits left of the leetle lambs scraped off the floor in the lamb's equivalent of Bovine University.