Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scobies

• 04-11-2005 8:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭

What on Earth is a Scobie. Heard the phrase on televison last night, some guy being interview along with Glenda Golsern [ Skanky Ho] Kept mentioing them. He was being interview by some chick who kept speaking out the side of her face. I think the show was called the cafe. This chick seemed to know exactly what a scobie is

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Im not 100% sure but I think its just another name for a nacker or a scumbag... Dont quote me on that tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

'scooby' is a subaru impreza

subaru_impreza.jpg

ando wrote:
    'scooby' is a subaru impreza

subaru_impreza.jpg

He asked what a scobie is.. not a scooby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Misumi

Scobies are multicoloured plastic strings

Misumi wrote:
    So this woman on the tele was cheekily referring to her fello panel member as a multi coloured plastic string?? that explains that so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Highlander

xzanti wrote:
    Im not 100% sure but I think its just another name for a nacker or a scumbag... Dont quote me on that tho

Correct, a skanger, knacker, sucmbag,take your pick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

A "skobie" is just another term for a scumbag. It's used alot in munster (heard it in cork and limerick).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

A lot of the time it is used before other terms like
    scobie scumbag, scobie knacker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭ccd

This chick talks out the side of her mouth

http://www.rte.ie/tv/ttv/thecafe/presenter2.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

its used in cork. and its scobe...not scobie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

yeah, it means Knacker or scumbag

anyone wearing 2 grands worth of tracksuits+burberry tbh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

its used in cork. and its scobe...not scobie

scobe is the noun
    scobie is the ?? not up on my english but is the description
    scobie knacker, scobie looking tracksuit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

ccd wrote:
    This chick talks out the side of her mouth

http://www.rte.ie/tv/ttv/thecafe/presenter2.html

yeah, nice rack though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Someone (from Louth, living in Lucan) used that very word in conversation last night, wtf, there's enough words to define a scanger, why do we need more!

It is what it's.

rubadub wrote:
    scobie is the ?? not up on my english but is the description

adjective.

also. when i said "its scobe not scobie" i was referring to CCD's words not yours.
    ccd wrote:
    This chick seemed to know exactly what a scobie is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

another word for scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Misumi wrote:

correct,its the new fad for children,my nephew made me one the other week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

The word is "scobe" and it comes from Limerick. Its another word for a scumbag/knacker/sham.

Used in context in Limerick: Look at the tackies on that scobe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

http://www.anzacs.org/jpeg/Scobie.jpg
    Thats Lieutenant Colonel Robert Scobie to you

Damn no IMG tags in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

county wrote:
    correct,its the new fad for children,my nephew made me one the other week

They are scoobie strings, as in the ghost hunting dog, not scobie which has correctly been identified as a scanger.

Could have also been talking about the program 'Pure Mule' where one of the main characters was called scobie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

i stand corrected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭kurisu

ive often heard people whom if youve met them you could call them posh refer to people wed calll scumbags as scobies its used by the ''upper classes''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭kurisu

yes scoobys are those bracelet things but scobies are another word for scumbags a word which i have often heard used by ''upper classed'' people

i just posted bassically the same thing twice there sorry about that i coulnt find my origianl post and thought it didnt get through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

According to some other post from some other thread -

Scobie is our word for Chavs. You know, blacked out 2 door '93 316is with 4" exhausts, rubber bands for tires, lowered seats and suspension, "Lexus" lights and a front splitter that also doubles as a parmesan grater. Generally, a scobie has a predilection for white tracksuits, baseball caps, waaay too much aftershave and hair gel. They tend to communicate in a series of one or two word sentences "Story?" "Happening?" "Dedly" "Rapeh" and so on. House music emanates loudly from gaudy woofers. They have a very strong sense of community, but are generally feared and loathed in equal measure by the rest of the motoring public.

Check out the pics:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

dahooligan wrote:
    According to some other post from some other thread -

Scobie is our word for Chavs. You know, blacked out 2 door '93 316is with 4" exhausts, rubber bands for tires, lowered seats and suspension, "Lexus" lights and a front splitter that also doubles as a parmesan grater. Generally, a scobie has a predilection for white tracksuits, baseball caps, waaay too much aftershave and hair gel. They tend to communicate in a series of one or two word sentences "Story?" "Happening?" "Dedly" "Rapeh" and so on. House music emanates loudly from gaudy woofers. They have a very strong sense of community, but are generally feared and loathed in equal measure by the rest of the motoring public.

Check out the pics:D

Those pics are f*cking hilarious. I salute you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Nedermeyer

Reminds me of the Dance Tent at oxegen.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

going back to the OP, was that 'the panel' you saw it on?
    the guy who played the character called 'scobie' in Pure Mule
    was on, hence the calling him scobie..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭skye

A scobie is a new craze up north... kids are making them from plastic strings which are woven together in box shapes - they are worn around the wrist like a bracelet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

scobie???
    In galway we say scobes
    dont know how that 'i' got in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Pic 2: Im sure she was worth it.

The wheelchair though! Now thats funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Ha ha, type skangers into google and the first 2 results you get are from boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DawnMc

In Cork, a 'scob' is a knacker.
    Never heard of 'scobie' tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

finlma wrote:
    The word is "scobe" and it comes from Limerick. Its another word for a scumbag/knacker/sham.

Used in context in Limerick: Look at the tackies on that scobe.

I'd argue that it's more from Munster than any specific city. I've heard it in Limerick, Cork and Kerry for most of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Scoobys are those plastic coloured strings that are woven together to make bracelets/keychains. They're been arounf for ages, much like knitting, and are just getting popular again now. It's the new fad. Great fad I think, getting kids to be creative and have something to show for it.

Scobe/Scobie/Skobie/Skobe are all words that mean scumbag/knacker/skanger/undesirable person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

The guy on the Cafe along side Glenda Gilson was Paul Howard, the author of the Ross O'Carroll-Kelly books.
    As said above, skobie = knacker/skanger etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

scoobies are plastic coloured strings that are made into bracelets. last year every girl in the yard had em and my sis has some in her room